We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top-Notch Services.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi Hostel
Ranked #35 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Top-Notch Services.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Hanoi Hostel was our first stop after exiting the arrival gates of Hanoi International Airport. It’s a short 10minutes walk from the Bus Interchange (we took a 5000VND public bus 17, which starts at the interchange right opposite the airport, and it takes you directly from the airport to the heart of Hanoi).

Prior to our trip, we had our bookings done online, and the manager of the Hostel, Candy, immediately added us on Whatsapp, making sure we knew our way to the Hostel. She even entertained whatever questions we had about our planning! Their customer service is really top-notched!

The location of the hostel, though slightly away from the main tourist hangout, is very cozy and relatively well furnished for 5USD a night. It has all the necessary amenities you’d need as a traveler - a Hostel lobby with 3 desktops (with internet connection), WIFI connection inside the Hostel, clean rooms and beds, an attached toilet to a room of 6, air-conditioning facilities, proper dining area with daily breakfast served with coffee/tea, Baggage storage area. For 5USD, it’s really hard to believe that it’s NOT a run-down decrepit building.

One thing, however, that was a little “turn-off”, was how the streets surrounding the Hostel at night were a little too quiet for my liking. When we were heading out, the hostel staff was kind enough to remind us to not head back after 11pm. Well, let’s just say that they do not wish for anything untoward from happening to their clients. Besides, the streets of Hanoi generally start to shut down around 10+pm, so there’s no reason to be hanging out till late unless you’re heading for the pubs.

If you were to head to Halong Bay, this Hostel also offers one of the better few packages at a really decent price. We initially wanted to go on a Christina Cruise for 55USD (2D1N), but they recommended us against it, offering a much better Dragon Cruise for 68USD (2D1N). You may think that it’s a scam, like how they always say online that they’ll recommend you to take the more expensive package around. But to me, I felt that they were being very honest with what they were selling, and Christina Cruise didn’t have air-conditioned rooms so that was a major no-no for my friends and I. Though having to pay more, I pretty much enjoyed my time with Dragon Cruise. I felt that it was very worth the price I was paying. The tour guide was really humorous and caring (which tour guide will actually request to sing to the tourists HAHA!), the transport to and from Halong Bay was really comfortable (they don’t over-pack their busses and the busses are relatively new), the rooms on board the cruise were clean and the toilets are really shockingly very well furnished! Price wise, even though 68 compared to 55 is a huge leap, there are many other places offering Halong Bay tours for up to 90USD! So I’d say that for 68USD, it was already really quite a bargain.

Room Tip: Maybe choose a room that's nearer to ground floor as there's no lift in this Hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloYeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    62
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
45
110
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 4 or 5 nights. Really enjoyed our stay. Room large with double and single bed, large bathroom. Rooms were very clean. Breakfast included. All staff were very helpful and have great English. Mike helped us a great deal, checking weather updates when we were waiting to go to halong bay. The girls on reception were great too. Would definitely recommend Hanoi hostel. We went to the other hostel for the free beer a couple of times!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gillo102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

The Hanoi Hostel was an enjoyable place to stay in. It's a clean place and the best part of this hostel is the staff! I experienced the best customer service even before I reached Vietnam. Candy and Mike took time to answer my questions and make sure that I made it to the hostel safely. They also pointed out good places to eat, and gave me a general orientation of the area. Very helpful!

If you are going to Halong Bay, book tours with the Hanoi Hostel. They give some unbeatable rates. My friends and I went on a 2D1N Dragon Cruise and it satisfied our expectations! Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

My brother and I stayed here for 6 nights I think. We had to ask for help embarrassingly often because we had not researched how to do anything really but the staff there were very patient and friendly - they were probably the nicest people we met on our trip. Talking to them and learning about Vietnam from their stories was better than any museum in a way. Complementary beer and breakfast were greatly appreciated too. Oh, and they ensured we got good deals on tours and taxis. (Cafe across the road is very good too, especially the smoothies).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

This place was clean, centrally located, had a nice breakfast each day, A/C, fridge, TV, free tea/coffee...and the most helpful staff we've encountered in months of travel in Asia. Thanks Candy and Mike.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkBryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and I believe paid nine dollars per night for our own room and own bath. The place was huge. The beds were not very comfortable but we weren't expecting much for the price! The staff were all very friendly and were willing to explain directions 100 times if need be! It was really nice to stay somewhere that offered tours but we were not once even asked if we wanted to do anything. Everything was well posted and we we're never pressured to look or to buy, that was a refreshing change!!

The owner speaks really good English and French and I believe Chinese too! The staff all spoke excellent English too, no problem communicating! We were a three minute walk from Hoan Kim lake. This was a great place to stay! Thank you!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyindandelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

I stayed at the Hanoi Hostel for two nights. Located in the Old Quarter close to various shops, restaurants, and other amenities, it was an excellent bargain at $5 USD per night. Another positive aspect of staying here was that the owner/manager and staff were very personable and provided excellent customer service. The room, an 8-bed dorm, was a bit cramped and typical of the many (i.e., dozens) other hostel rooms I have stayed in. Thankfully, it had an air conditioner, as well as an in-suite bathroom. The room and bathroom were cleaned on a daily basis. Having hooks for towels in the bathroom would have been helpful. The hostel offers free computer use in the lobby, breakfast with very generous portions (i.e., coffee, juice, toast, eggs, and fruit), a large screen TV in the common area, transportation to and from the airport for a reasonable price, and a laundry service. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy6179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#1 of 334 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#9 of 334 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#8 of 334 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Happy Moon Guesthouse
Happy Moon Guesthouse
#20 of 334 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hostel
Hanoi Rendezvous Hostel
#31 of 334 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Hostel

Property: Hanoi Hostel
Address: 91C Hang Ma Street | Hoan kiem dist, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are HANOI HOSTEL 91C HANG MA STR. The best hostel in hanoi. We get CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENT IN 2012, 2013, 2014. You will have:• Free breakfast• Free Wireless internet connection• Free Hanoi city Maps & advice• Free Coffee & Tea all day• Free Luggage storage• Free individual lockers & locks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hanoi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing