We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic start to our trip”
Review of Hanoi Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi Hostel
Ranked #36 of 371 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic start to our trip”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Just spent 5 nights in hanoi hostel 2 in two private rooms, as we had halong bay trip in between. I found this hostel through the positive reviews here on tripadvisor and I was not disappointed.
Every member of staff I encountered was friendly, knowledgeable and beyond helpful without being in your face. They organised taxis to and from the airport and our halong bay tour for a great price, (go with imperial cruise).
Private double/triple rooms were a good size with great aircon which is a must! Location is about 10 mins walk to the bars nd great restaurants on ma may street. Only had breakfast once which was fine.
Overall I cannot fault this hostel for great value, rooms and customer service. It really meant a hassle free and enjoyable start to our trip, thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missq87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    62
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
44
112
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I think what made my stay most memorable was the service that the hostel staff rendered. They were very helpful and went out of their way to make me feel welcomed. The A/C was a bit warm, especially in the dorm room.
Location was good because it was near the weekend market but it made for a busy and noisy street, at times, making it difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atebillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

had been travelling around cambodia, vietnam and laos. this was the one with the best value. stayed 2 nights in hanoi hostel 2. air-conditioned female dorm for 5usd including breakie and welcome drink. booked one day trip to halong bay here which appeared to be 5usd cheaper than the others in the same trip. staffs are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hyin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My wife and I stayed in a clean, simple room with en suite bathroom.

Breakfast and free evening (fresh) beer is included for all visitors.

What sets this place apart is their excellent service. We stayed for one night only, booking tours to Halong Bay and Sapa with Hoian as base. The hostel provided good recommendations and made all arrangements - perfectly!

Furthermore, as we touched base between Sapa and Halong Bay and Halong Bay and Hoi An, they offered us to lend a shower and have breakfast free of charge.

We could not be more happy with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OK82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Great hostel! We states in the 4 person family room - good value. The reception staff were lovely and very helpful! Nice breakfast, efficient laundry service, tours, airconditioned rooms and a great location in the old city!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rikkehj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Hanoi Hostel was our first stop after exiting the arrival gates of Hanoi International Airport. It’s a short 10minutes walk from the Bus Interchange (we took a 5000VND public bus 17, which starts at the interchange right opposite the airport, and it takes you directly from the airport to the heart of Hanoi).

Prior to our trip, we had our bookings done online, and the manager of the Hostel, Candy, immediately added us on Whatsapp, making sure we knew our way to the Hostel. She even entertained whatever questions we had about our planning! Their customer service is really top-notched!

The location of the hostel, though slightly away from the main tourist hangout, is very cozy and relatively well furnished for 5USD a night. It has all the necessary amenities you’d need as a traveler - a Hostel lobby with 3 desktops (with internet connection), WIFI connection inside the Hostel, clean rooms and beds, an attached toilet to a room of 6, air-conditioning facilities, proper dining area with daily breakfast served with coffee/tea, Baggage storage area. For 5USD, it’s really hard to believe that it’s NOT a run-down decrepit building.

One thing, however, that was a little “turn-off”, was how the streets surrounding the Hostel at night were a little too quiet for my liking. When we were heading out, the hostel staff was kind enough to remind us to not head back after 11pm. Well, let’s just say that they do not wish for anything untoward from happening to their clients. Besides, the streets of Hanoi generally start to shut down around 10+pm, so there’s no reason to be hanging out till late unless you’re heading for the pubs.

If you were to head to Halong Bay, this Hostel also offers one of the better few packages at a really decent price. We initially wanted to go on a Christina Cruise for 55USD (2D1N), but they recommended us against it, offering a much better Dragon Cruise for 68USD (2D1N). You may think that it’s a scam, like how they always say online that they’ll recommend you to take the more expensive package around. But to me, I felt that they were being very honest with what they were selling, and Christina Cruise didn’t have air-conditioned rooms so that was a major no-no for my friends and I. Though having to pay more, I pretty much enjoyed my time with Dragon Cruise. I felt that it was very worth the price I was paying. The tour guide was really humorous and caring (which tour guide will actually request to sing to the tourists HAHA!), the transport to and from Halong Bay was really comfortable (they don’t over-pack their busses and the busses are relatively new), the rooms on board the cruise were clean and the toilets are really shockingly very well furnished! Price wise, even though 68 compared to 55 is a huge leap, there are many other places offering Halong Bay tours for up to 90USD! So I’d say that for 68USD, it was already really quite a bargain.

Room Tip: Maybe choose a room that's nearer to ground floor as there's no lift in this Hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloYeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 4 or 5 nights. Really enjoyed our stay. Room large with double and single bed, large bathroom. Rooms were very clean. Breakfast included. All staff were very helpful and have great English. Mike helped us a great deal, checking weather updates when we were waiting to go to halong bay. The girls on reception were great too. Would definitely recommend Hanoi hostel. We went to the other hostel for the free beer a couple of times!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillo102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#188 of 588 in Hanoi
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bluebell
Hotel Bluebell
#50 of 371 in Hanoi
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#10 of 604 in Hanoi
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#13 of 371 in Hanoi
1,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
0.1 mi away
Happy Moon Guesthouse
Happy Moon Guesthouse
#20 of 371 in Hanoi
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Hostel

Property: Hanoi Hostel
Address: 91C Hang Ma Street | Hoan kiem dist, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 371 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are HANOI HOSTEL 91C HANG MA STR. The best hostel in hanoi. We get CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENT IN 2012, 2013, 2014. You will have:• Free breakfast• Free Wireless internet connection• Free Hanoi city Maps & advice• Free Coffee & Tea all day• Free Luggage storage• Free individual lockers & locks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hanoi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing