We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Organised and efficient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi Hostel
Ranked #35 of 332 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Organised and efficient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We booked both a Sapa and halong bay trip here. Due to a national holiday the timings were quite difficult but the receptionist was very helpful and patient whilst we spent 45 mins trying to work out the logistics of it. We also stayed here after the trips, room was fine and inexpensive. Also got laundry and a taxi to the airport organised through here. Very good customer service

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    62
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
45
110
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I went here looking for a place to sleep after a tired day travelling. Just need a short stay before going back to Danang. The room is more comfortable than what I expected from a very cheap price. The bed was big and comfortable.

If you travel as a backpacker, its a good place to make friends and very wallet-friendly.
I will recommend my friend to stay here next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmaKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Hang Ma location has a great rooftop common area, delicious and filling breakfast and comfy, sturdy dorm bunks. Free tea and coffee all day and free bia hoi from 6-7pm and computers in the lobby. Lots of great amenities at a good price!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leelerbug0294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

They helped us for everythings during our 5 days trip in Hanoi, Sapa and Halong bay such as help to plan a trip, offer tour and train ticket with reasonable price and help us when we got some trouble during we stayed there.
Their service mind made us felt like we visit ous friends, very impressed!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thongchart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was my my 1st visit to hanoi n vietnam!!
Was introduced by my friend who stayed there twice.
Stayed at the private room (triple sharing) there for 3 nights (1 nite @ hang ma n 2 nites @ hang vai) + 1 night @ ha long bay. Was supposed to stay for 3 nites at hang vai but due to power supply disruption at hang vai, they put us in hang ma for the 1st night.
The 2 hostel located in the old quarters, within 10-15 mins walk to hoan kiem lake n 5 mins walk to the weekend night market.
The lady boss Candy arranged the airport transfers n halong bay cruise (2 days 1 night) for us and recommended the marvellous pho bo (vietnamese beef noodle soup) - a Big Thanks to her. In fact we found out that we paid lower for our halong bay trip compared to what the HK travellers have paid for the same trip ;)
The halong bay cruise was fantastic.... meals on board, wonderful time kayaking to inside a lagoon at halong bay n great company on the junk (other group of travellers from different countries)
Personally prefer the private room in hang vai - much bigger and spacious (taller ceilling) compared to hang ma (felt kinda claustrophobic due to the low ceilling)
For the price we paid, the cleanliness level was acceptable, could have been better - if room is cleaned daily (and if soap provided in hang ma); breakfast was ok plus the free bia hoi (local beer) during happy hour at hang ma and free wifi at both hostels!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SengJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This has to be the best hostel experience for me, well sort of since this is my first hostel I stayed in. Kudos to Mike and Candy and the rest of the staff. It felt like home, and the room and services was amazing! Definitely returning to this place! It is cheap and good! Met a lot of new friends here too and all was amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed in both of these hostels. I prefer the one on Hang Ma as it's the newer one and also less noisy. The dorms are great as you get your own locker, bedlight and powerpoint. the bathrooms are nice and clean. Great location, both of them. Breakfast is good at both even though you get mroe in the one on hang vai. all together, one of the best hostels I've stayed in!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#1 of 332 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#9 of 332 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#8 of 332 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Happy Moon Guesthouse
Happy Moon Guesthouse
#20 of 332 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hostel
Hanoi Rendezvous Hostel
#33 of 332 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Hostel

Property: Hanoi Hostel
Address: 91C Hang Ma Street | Hoan kiem dist, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 332 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are HANOI HOSTEL 91C HANG MA STR. The best hostel in hanoi. We get CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENT IN 2012, 2013, 2014. You will have:• Free breakfast• Free Wireless internet connection• Free Hanoi city Maps & advice• Free Coffee & Tea all day• Free Luggage storage• Free individual lockers & locks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hanoi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing