We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have nothing to complain”
Review of Hanoi Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi Hostel
Ranked #44 of 436 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I think people who complain about this place really has nothing else to say anymore because this place is good. Clean, quiet location yet walking distance to everything including the bus station, competitive tour pricing, nice and helpful staff, good vibes - people here are not into partying, free beers and a great breakfast. All for usd 5.5. Seriously? Thanks guys, keep up the good work. I hated Hanoi but this place made it easier

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielwongkaifai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

The room we stayed at (Hang Vai) was great. Two large beds and a nice bathroom. However, the reason for this review is the service was not so great.

First they gave us a terrible exchange rate (which is annoying), second they did not inform us when the room was booked until and knocked on our door, woke us up, and told us to leave. Avoid this confusion by making sure to tell them how many days you want to stay.

Breakfast is very basic and the free happy hour is beer from a large water bottle (no idea where they fill up the water bottle). Will probably not stay there again.

Room Tip: Private room is better if you are tow travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sdzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Candy who arrange my trips to hanoi, this hostel was great, helpfull, and comfortable. I will recomend for my friends this hostel. Free beakfast in the morning, welcome staff and humble, cheap trip here, sapa, halong bay, hoa lu tam coc, give me bnce room in second floor in first night, be romantic, Very helpfull and was great

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Zulhendri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed there got two nights; couldn't ask for a better place. Staff were extremely helpful and hospitable.

Upon arrival, I was greeted by name, by one of the staff. That was really heartwarming and it made me feel homely.

The dorm was decent. I had no problems getting a good night's rest. The only disturbance, especially if you are a light sleeper, would be the daily 6 a.m. public news announcement, which can be a quite audible from the hostel. There were also power ports by every bed so no problem charging my gadgets.

Tour packages were cheaply priced. I did the Sapa and tam coc hoa Lu tour and thoroughly enjoyed myself; moreover I realized I paid much lesser than most of the other tourists.

Thanks you making my stay in Hanoi a memorable one! Would definitely revisit this place during my next Hanoi trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ashleycad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I wound up here by accident. the location was great. They organized my tour to Halong bay which was good. The price was decent. The staff was very confused and typically gave incorrect information regarding food places, atm locations, the time everything closed etc. etc. It was quite frustrating. The breakfast was good - Toast, fried eggs, fruit coffee and tea. The bathroom and room could have been cleaner. Lockers were under the bed and quite large.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tadew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

I'll start with the good-
Cheap $14 per night for double room, aircon, fridge and proper durvets, comfy beds and hit shower.
Free tea and coffee all day.

Overall we were really happy with the room. The girl asked how long we would stay for and I asked if I could let her know tomorrow as my sister was yet to arrive and I wanted to make sure she liked it.

No one told us about the free breakfast and it wasn't even written anywhere that I could see, I heard of it through over reviews.

The place was dirty, dust caked the banisters and stairs, empty beer bottles about 15 of them stood around outside our door that the cleaning lady had obviously not bothered to carry downstairs after taking them out of another room, along with a dirty pile of linin.

There was a dead insect smooshed on the wall of the bathroom so obviously they did a rushed cleaning job.

At 7am my sister went and had breakfast. It's free so shouldn't complain but it's not nice and I definitely won't eat it again- even for free. Could get a nicer mean for 50 cents on the st. Just plain white bread and a plain over cooked omlet meh.

We went up showered and came down at 8.30am where the girl asked us when we would check out I said ok we would like to stay another night- she replied sorry, we've booked your room out.

Speechless? We had to go back and pack- check out time was at 12 and they obviously wanted us gone before then. But the really annoying thing is I told her I would let her know that day how long we would stay and she said that was fine! If I'd known it wasn't I would of come down later in the night to book but I honestly thought 8.30am would be as good a time as any. Seriously annoying. She should of been more specific. As we talked about what to do she suddenly decided to mention they have another room at the other hostel- why she left it so late to say I have no idea.
Poor customer service. Unhappy customers the end.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Violetgracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely little hostel and quite central in Hanoi! We stayed for 5 nights in a double room with an ensuite, TV, free wifi and breakfast included. The room is big and the beds are very comfy! The water is also warm, and the room has a fridge if you want to buy milk for cereal, fruit etc.

Make sure you ask them which one you're at before you arrive, as we ended up at their other place and it was a bit confusing for our tour operators too, who did the same thing!

Breakfast was fine- omelette, toast, watermelon, banana- but it's everyday. The same everyday- so if you don't mind then that's fine, because it is included after all!

Staff are friendly and helpful!

Like I said, lovely place to stay, would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Nexy Hostel
Nexy Hostel
#12 of 436 in Hanoi
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Happy Moon Guesthouse
Happy Moon Guesthouse
#19 of 436 in Hanoi
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BC Family Homestay - Hanoi's Heart
0.3 mi away
Old Quarter View Hanoi Hostel
0.5 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Hostel

Address: 91C Hang Ma Street | Hoan kiem dist, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 436 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range: £7 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are HANOI HOSTEL 91C HANG MA STR. The best hostel in hanoi. We get CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENT IN 2012, 2013, 2014. You will have:• Free breakfast• Free Wireless internet connection• Free Hanoi city Maps & advice• Free Coffee & Tea all day• Free Luggage storage• Free individual lockers & locks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hanoi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing