We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard Sell”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hanoi Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi Hostel
Ranked #38 of 341 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hard Sell”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

All things were cool at the hostel during the length of my stay until one day when i told the girl who manned the reception desk that I'm checking out tomorrow, the tone of her voice started to change and began questioning me.

Girl : You're checking out tomorrow ? Where are you going?
Me: I'm going to Hue.
Girl: How (mode of transportation) ? Did you book your bus ticket already? Where did you book your ticket?
Me: Urm, i bought a open tour bus ticket from Sinh Tourist.
Girl: You need to go to their office to board the bus they won't pick you up, we also have open tour bus ticket service booking here ( finger pointing to the timetable chart ),including pick up, how much u paid ?
Me: (playing dumb) oh really i didn't know that, well i've already bought the ticket,so....im just tired im going to take a rest.

I won't said much, you be the judge.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChongYS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    62
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
45
110
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This is simply one of the best places we have stayed in all of Vietnam! We stayed at 32 hang vai!
The easiest thing for us to do is list good and bad:

Good:
Cheap and really good value!
Very Clean
Comfy beds, slept really well!
Excellent location, 5 mins from lake and 10 mins from bars
Free beer every day!
Excellent friendly fun staff
Fast wifi
Good environment (in dorms)
Really good tour booking (good value, excellent Ha Long bay tour 3D2N $125)
Only place we stayed with welcome drink
Mini Bar was fully stocked
Good Air con (in private room, dorm was intermittent!)
Towels included in privates which was a luxury at $6 each a night!
Good advice on what to do in Hanoi
Plenty of banter with lovely receptionists

Bad Points:
Woken up early by maid coming into dorm (8am)
Breakfast although free is very simple (makes sense as such low prices so not a proper complaint)
Air con in dorm wasn't really working!

Really enjoyed our stay! (Stayed for 7 nights!) would definitely go back!

Danke schön!

Tom and Callum


Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Tbirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed in the 8 bed female dorm for 3 nights and haven't a bad thing to say about this place. Each bed has its own light, plug socket and shelf (great for those little things you would otherwise lose) as well as ingenious massive lockers built underneath the beds. Beds are comfy and bed bug free, en-suite is nice. Free beer for an hour (all you can drink on the rooftop bar!), good wifi, nice brekkie included, nice staff, great tours (I did a 2 day / 1 night Halong Bay trip through them and was really nice) and cheap airport taxi. Met some lovely people here as it's sociable too.
Hanoi itself is nothing special...not much to do and you are constantly hassled by motorbike taxi drivers and scammers generally.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Small clean place to stay, well central located, easy to walk to many tourist attractions
A place to chill out & meet up others backpackers
Comfy bed with its own locker, light, table
Good tour with competitive prices
Helpful & friendly staffs
Highly recommend

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The dorm and bed is quite good, the locker is just underneath your bed. they did not have elevator and the stairs is very steep. Like the simple breakfast and is good enough with fruits, toasted bread with omelette. It is nearby to Dong Xuan Market and around 10 minutes walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. The water pressure is very low at up stairs. The wifi is also intermittent in the room. Due it is nearby to road, you may hear the noisy from people having their tea session nearby the hostel. the staff also is very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

our trip (8D7N) in Hanoi and northern areas especially Sapa were very nice, and we’d like to say again ‘THANK YOU’ for your good arrangements and helps throughout the trips.

I’d like to say that after getting back this trip brought up lots of good memories to our family especially wonderful mountain views and very fresh air in Sapa (my son like it a lots, even he’s still young but could walk until the trekking end;-), also my wife’s painful ankle (from a small acident) has been relieved by your balm/ointment that made her walk-able again for the rest of the trips (after her first slippery in Halong).

Last but not least Hanoi will definitely be the place we’d like to revisit again and for sure your excellent services would be a must for our family:-) also to be recommended to our friends who like to go there as well. Thanks again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winyu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I moved here after staying one night in a party hostel... What a relief! Friendly service, well priced tours, a better crowd of people and surprisingly comfortable beds. Yes it's basic and small but I enjoyed it. I did end up having a cold shower on one occasion which I wasn't too happy about.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catadvisor09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Nexy Hostel
Nexy Hostel
#13 of 341 in Hanoi
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Pho Hostel
Hanoi Pho Hostel
#6 of 341 in Hanoi
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#10 of 341 in Hanoi
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#1 of 341 in Hanoi
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
0.1 mi away
Happy Moon Guesthouse
Happy Moon Guesthouse
#21 of 341 in Hanoi
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Hostel

Property: Hanoi Hostel
Address: 91C Hang Ma Street | Hoan kiem dist, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 341 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are HANOI HOSTEL 91C HANG MA STR. The best hostel in hanoi. We get CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENT IN 2012, 2013, 2014. You will have:• Free breakfast• Free Wireless internet connection• Free Hanoi city Maps & advice• Free Coffee & Tea all day• Free Luggage storage• Free individual lockers & locks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hanoi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing