We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanoi Legacy Hotel Hoan Kiem
Ranked #128 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
“Great location, great staff”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

When I came to this hotel I instantly loved it. The staff was incredibly friendly, the breakfast was excellent, and the rooms where also good. There is free wifi, but it didn't always work that well. It is close to the night market, souvenir shops, and there are TripAdvisor-approved restaurants nearby. When we left the hotel, I bought lots of minibags with M&M's that I gave to all the staff as a thank you for making me feel safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Berit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    166
    42
    17
    13
See reviews for
68
179
72
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights in total whilst visiting Hanoi.

Basics - room was clean, had A/C (not needed when we were there!), wifi, fridge and safe. Location was in the middle of the old quarter, if you haven't been before imagine lots and lots of tiny little streets with lots of people and lots of bikes! The staff are very helpful :)

- paid £11.50ish per night for a superior double which is very cheap, meant to be reduced from £45 - if I had paid that amount I would have felt a bit disappointed!

- room didn't have a window to outside, probably because windows are at a premium in Hanoi but made the room dark and wasn't clearly stated in room description

- we stayed on second floor which seemed to have a lot of noise from the corridor - when we mentioned to the staff we were offered a free upgrade with city views but we only had one night left and didn't want to pack to move (lazy I know!)

- staff are very friendly and can help book tours, offer laundry service and can book taxis (we booked a guide for a walking city tour with the hotel who was very good - would recommend)

- breakfast room was full on our first morning (I ended up eating toast on the lobby floor as we had to leave hotel by 7 for Halong Bay trip) on two further mornings around 9 the food seemed to have been used and not replenished, had to ask the staff to refill a number of things so we could have breakfast. Was a bit annoying as breakfast was meant to be served till 10?

Overall a good hotel if you can get at the reduced rate!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstyJosh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in four different hotels when in Hanoi over a period of 13 days. Here was definitely my favourite. The staff are really helpful, especially Jon who is usually working in the afternoon. The breakfast is fantastic and the rooms are great! This is also the best shower I have had in asia in 6 weeks. The location is a bit further from the lake than other accommodations but it actually is better as you are in a less touristy area. The wifi can also be a bit hit or miss. Definitely would recommend though.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank hughannak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in the Old Quarter, central to shopping, tourist locations and in easy walking distance. Great little corner bars and restaurants nearby. Hotel staff very friendly, rooms excellent and clean and comfortable. Breakfast average but standard at most hotels. Great value for money

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in room 701 which had a balcony which overlooked the old quarter - definitely the best room. Rosie organises any tours or tickets and was superb at getting the best rooms on the Halong bay trip and the best seats in the theatre! Stay here just for that!

Room Tip: Book room 701 and use Rosie for all your trips
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel is very comfortable - big spacious rooms, good wifi, nice breakfast but most important of all the staff are extremely helpful and will do everything they can to make your stay and visit to Hanoi the best it can be. We booked our Halong Bay trip with John and were very pleased with the trip he recommended. We also got picked up from the airport for a very reasonable fee - well worth it, a stress free trip to the door of the hotel. We also had our room upgraded free of charge which was a very nice touch. The staff were very helpful in providing directions and even phoning a restaurant we wanted to go to to ensure that it was open and had tables etc. Highly recommend staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadie262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We stay in this hotel 6 nights in the hotel and everything goes really well, the rooms are confortable and clean, the wifi works good, the breakfast is delicious, and the staff are so friendly and helpful, if you have a problem they are so happy to help you, they give us a map and a guide of slights of the city, laundry service is good and fast, and the tours and reservations that they manage for you are wonderful, we booked sapa and halong bay and was great, this is our last night in the hotel and I'm really satisfied with the service.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackyrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Legacy Hotel - Hang Bac
0.2 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hanoi L'Heritage Hotel
Hanoi L'Heritage Hotel
#156 of 588 in Hanoi
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxury Old Quarter Hotel
Luxury Old Quarter Hotel
#101 of 588 in Hanoi
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
#117 of 588 in Hanoi
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Legacy Hotel Hoan Kiem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Legacy Hotel Hoan Kiem

Property: Hanoi Legacy Hotel Hoan Kiem
Address: 01 Ngo Gach | Hoan Kiem- Distrist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly An Hung Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#57 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#63 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Legacy Hotel Hoan Kiem 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Old Quarter Hanoi, where is the heart of the city, Hanoi Legacy Hoan Kiem Hotel is unforgettable for people who have ever stayed in the hotel. Just few minutes walking from the hotel, visitors can visit the Sword Lake, Tortoise Tower, The Huc Bridge, and Ngoc Son Temple which are the most beautiful sightseeings of Hanoi. Visitors may have a walking to enjoy special traditional local food such as: Pho, banh cuon, bun cha…. Visitors are also convenient to go to banks, post office, and trade center of Hanoi where are only steps from hotel.Hanoi Legacy Hoan Kiem hotel is an international 3 stars standard, with 40 high quality rooms. The rooms are designed with original and luxury style, harmonious decoration. Tourists will feel very warm and comfortable when they are staying here. Equipped facilities, modern, including: air-conditioners , computers with high-speed Internet access (wifi), Satellite TV, TV LCD 32 ", tea and coffee making equipment, fridge, hot tubs Jacuzzi and standing shower, etc....Staffs in the hotel all have well-trained methodically, with professional and enthusiastic manner. When resting in Hanoi Legacy Hoan Kiem Hotel, guest will feel "A luxury space in the center of Old Quarter streets." The visitors will also have the satisfaction to work and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Legacy Hotel Hoan Kiem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a And Em Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing