We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”
Review of Royal Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Gate Hotel
Ranked #472 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

i stayed here two nights in march. maybe it was the overall impression of the city that made me like the hotel... the window view perhaps.
my floor was 5th, and there are 11 total with a restaurant on top.

i asked to change my room three times, because of the cigarette smell it had. in the end it seems, the smell came from the lift hall, where it is allowed to smoke. yäk((

each room has a teapot and some decent tea. a hairdryer also.

there is a good restaurant nearby and a supermarket next street, named q mart or something...there is not much to see in the area except a catholic church, and nighttime is not at all safe, but it is not far from the lake.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Evgeniia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms Kate N, General Manager at Royal Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2015
Dear Evgeniia M,
Warmest greetings from Royalgate Hotel and thank you so much for your kind comments.
We will handle the things that you mentioned in your comments.

We look forward to having your stay again

Best regards,

Kevin Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    17
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
11
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The location of this hotel is deally suited for you to walk around sites like the lake, markets, museums, restaurants etc. The service is equally desired with capable staff. Staff's level of English might not be great but they do try and they understand better than they speak. It makes your stay in the city an enjoyable one when you feel safe once you reach the doors fo the hotel. Rooms are comfortable and faily clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debonnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed a few places in Vietnam during my travels in Nov. and Royal Gate Hotel stands out clearly as the best. We were recommended by our awesome tour guide in central Vietnam and it was a great find. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the breakfast on the 10+ floor gives you a great view and the breakfast was awesome with good selection. Most things to see or do are about a 10-20 minute walk away so that's a nice plus, and it's not on a noisy road with very comfy beds so you get a great sleep.
Above all the staff and especially my now good friend, Ha, operate at a 5 star caliber that I have experienced few times in my life. I wish I could give them a higher rating than 5/5. Should I ever be in Hanoi I will most definetly be back to Royal Gate Hotel. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John_Roch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The hotel is ideally located in the center of Hanoi. It is just a few steps away from Truc Back lake where you can find local markets, restaurants, museum at the same area. If you like strolling around, enjoying the lake view and the wind, this is the perfect place for you. The staffs there were very friendly and helpful. We booked Deluxe room but we were upgraded to Premium as special offer for our vacation. They gave generous range of food choice for breakfast. Would definitely come back again and highly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Very good value, spotlessly clean, well located. I stayed here on a work trip and was very happy with the room and service, and I had a nice view over West Lake. The staff were very helpful. It was a short walk to some major tourist sights.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hansie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms Kate N, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear my valued guest,

On behalf of my hotel, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for rating us on this website. Our hotel is always interested to hear the comments or feedback of our guests so that we can improve the service day by day . Beside that, it is also the big encourage to our whole staff's attitude.

Once again, thank you so much for your stay and looking forward to have other chances serving you.

Sincerely yours,
Ms Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

i've been in Royal gate hotel from July 20th to July 23rd, the hotel has got a good location, rooms were clean and nice. staffs were helpful and friendly, i was very happy there. many thanks to all staffs there, wish u do a good business.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dung235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajkot, India
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2012

royal gate.. hotel.. is quite good hotel... about their staff and hotel survives is nice..

Room Tip: corner suites are large ans sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jembrik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Tam Hotel
Tam Hotel
#224 of 588 in Hanoi
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hasu Hotel
Hasu Hotel
#372 of 588 in Hanoi
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moon View Hotel
Moon View Hotel
#218 of 588 in Hanoi
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sun Hotel
Sun Hotel
#428 of 588 in Hanoi
1 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Hotel
Santa Barbara Hotel
#263 of 588 in Hanoi
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
May de ville City Centre II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Gate Hotel

Property: Royal Gate Hotel
Address: 09 Nguyen Bieu Street | Ba Dinh District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #472 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Gate Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Gate Hotel - 09 Nguyen Bieu street, Ba Dinh district, Hanoi City, Vietnam- 3 starsHotel is designed with luxurious and modern style, woolen floor. All rooms are spacious and feature panoramic views over the West Lake & city. The hotel decor is contemporary throughout. 65 rooms and suites are well equipped with deeply comfortable beds, you will enjoy delicious breakfast served at restaurant on 11th floor. Hotel conference room served with over 80 people at 12th floor. Fitness Centre is in 2nd floor, serve all days, all time.The hotel is perfectly positioned for both the city and for enjoying Hanoi’s major attractions nearby. Just few steps away from Hoan Kiem district- Hanoi old quarter, convenient for any visit of this historic part of Hanoi• Hoan Kiem Lake and Opera House: 1km - 5 minutes by taxi, 10 minutes by walk• Dong Xuan Market: 0.5km - 10 by walk• West Lake: 01 minute by walk• Local Mart and mini mart: 0.1km - 2 minutes by walk• Giang Vo Exhibition center: 3km - 10 minutes by taxi• Noibai- International Airport: 35km – 35 minutes by taxi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing