We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, Fantastic Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rising Dragon Estate Hotel
Ranked #53 of 577 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
599 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Fantastic Staff”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We are in Hanoi for two nights and randomly select to stay at the Rising Dragon after booking it online at the Hanoi Airport.

Although bus service is available from the airport to a station near the hotel it is a long ride into the city. Since it is late in the evening our only reasonable option is a taxi for US$20.

Rising Dragon is located at the end of a dimly lit street which at first might make one suspect. However, entering the lobby of the hotel gives one a completely different perspective of the area.

The extremely friendly Front Desk staff is welcoming and speaks English which is great since we do not speak Vietnamese.

Shortly after checking into our room two glasses of chilled fruit juice (Welcome Drinks) along with two folded mini towels like the ones offered during First Class airline service are delivered to our room, a nice touch.

As we go out for the evening we arrange with the front desk transportation back to the airport and a day trip to Ha Long Bay. For our convenience, both of these items are simply added onto our hotel bill.

Another nice touch by the hotel staff is one of them goes along with my travel companion to a nearby nail saloon to be sure she is properly taken care of.

The Rising Dragon offers a nice complimentary breakfast that has a good selection of fresh fruits and one menu item I find interesting, a warm banana sandwich.

I would definitely stay here again and think you would not be disappointed if you chose a stay at Rising Dragon Estate Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    98
    28
    6
    10
See reviews for
41
157
71
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise ! The staff speak English very well and are super helpful.
The rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable...when you first walk in they even have rose petals on the bed.
The breakfast menu selection is very good and the food delicious. I cannot say anything bad about this place. Compared to other hotels I have stayed in through Vietnam and SE Asia, it is fantastic! I love it here!
Location is perfect as well!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dqkitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beppu-shi, Oita, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stayed there for five nights and liked it so much I stayed for another four days. What impressed me most was the friendly staff. Everyone, and I mean everyone, from the receptionists, to the bell-boy, to the cleaning staff, to the manager was very welcoming and polite. Also, the room was very comfortable and at only 20 USD a night when I stayed, a complete bargain. Plus, the freshly made breakfast was a great way to start every day. I will surely go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger_Beuckens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a few nights at a great price. The hotel is modern and clean. The staff are friendly. We arranged trips to Sapa and Halong Bay with them and even though it is possible to book these trips elsewhere at cheaper prices we felt more comfortable and secure doing it through the hotel. For the train to Sapa they would bring you to the train station, get the tickets and escort you to your berth. And also pick you up on return. We really enjoyed our stay and wandering the streets in the old quarter.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights - we had one of the top floor rooms(8th floor) and had the weather been more kind, a bit sunny and beautiful to us we would have been very happy to use the balcony it came with. The decoration was as sumptuous and over the top as we expected although the room itself was smaller than anticipated. Nevertheless we were very comfortable and the room/bathroom was immaculately clean and well-maintained as well as easy to use. One of the best aspects of our stay were the staff -the concierges were extremely helpful in all respects, he was so pro and helped us for great trip to Halong Bay, able to advise on transport, restaurants.

Room Tip: Eightth floor where you could have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

The Rising Dragon on Nguyen Van To epitomizes why tourists should be cautious while visiting Hanoi: Almost everyone is smiling and seems friendly, but you can't really trust them not to take advantage of you.

Our wariness of the employees - particularly the managers -- began the first day, when a male manager began putting on the pressure to book a Ha Long Bay cruise through him. He said the Indochina's Prince boat would cost $200 each plus an extra $30 each for the transfer from Hanoi to Ha Long Bay. Suspicious, we walked directly to the Indochina Junk office and learned the Prince trip actually costs $200 (with the transfer included) and that there were less expensive options available.

We had learned that a taxi to the Hanoi airport should cost about $12, but when we asked the hotel to help us book one, we were told it costs $17 for their personal car to drive us. We tried to book a reputable taxi ourselves but finally gave up and went with the more expensive hotel car. I guess we're just used to the hotel car being free or cheaper than public taxis. It's almost like this hotel charges more because they know how difficult it is to find an honest taxi in Hanoi.

This certainly wasn't a bad or unclean hotel. We stayed in two different rooms on the 9th floor (before and after our Halong trip) and both were clean. The windowless room was smaller and smelled a tad like smoke but it was quieter than the other. The breakfast options are great and included in the room price. We just didn't feel completely comfortable with the staff here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CompassWhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

As first time travelers to Vietnam and avid users of tripadvisor we booked this hotel in Hanoi and we found this the perfect stay for a couple of days to explorer the city. We had arranged via the Hotel Manager Mr. Son an airport pick up, which was well organized. The entire staff was extremely helpful und friendly. The rooms were nice and clean, the shower worked great, AC, TV and fridge in the room and of course wireless:)! Located in the heart of Hanoi in walking distance to all major sites. On our departure date we caught the night train to Hue and had time to kill until 10:00 PM, the hotel offered us to leave our luggage there all day, we used their facility to hang out, free coffee and tea, even a bathroom with a shower is available for the guests who want to freshen up. Breakfast was great too! All in all a great stay and great value for your money!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTunderway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
#112 of 578 in Hanoi
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
#126 of 578 in Hanoi
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thien Thai Hotel
Thien Thai Hotel
#132 of 578 in Hanoi
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Icon 36 Hotel
Icon 36 Hotel
#129 of 578 in Hanoi
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
#130 of 578 in Hanoi
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Hanoi Inn Hotel
Blue Hanoi Inn Hotel
#51 of 578 in Hanoi
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Dragon Estate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Estate Hotel

Property: Rising Dragon Estate Hotel
Address: 17 Nguyen Van To St. | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Queen Ann Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 577 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rising Dragon Estate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising Dragon Estate Hotel is Located in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter . Rising Dragon Estate Hotel is really a good choice for foreign tourists and business travelers. Next to Hang Da market, one of the most famous markets in Hanoi, it’s very easy to get some tourism destinations as Hoan Kiem Lake, Night market, the biggest church of Hanoi and many exciting activities as walking around the Old Quarter to feel the lifestyle and culture of Vietnamese. Around Rising Dragon Estate Hotel you will discover a variety of shops, restaurants, bars and cinemas. The area is also the centre of the capital’s cultural life with a host of displays, exhibitions, shows and musical events happening at any one time. Because of its ideal location – in the middle of where everything of importance happens – it is eminently suitable for all categories of visitors, be it businessmen, tourists or families with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rising Dragon Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Dragon Estate Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing