We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pictures are fake, also known as Minh Toan Hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Wing Hotel

Hanoi Wing Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanoi Wing Hotel
Ranked #328 of 571 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“pictures are fake, also known as Minh Toan Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We ended up in this hotel because while we were waiting for our bus in our hotel in Hue a guy asked us if we had somewhere to stay and we didn't. He gave us a brochure which looked ok and the price was ok so he told us there was free pick us up at the bus in Hanoi to bring us here. Getting off our bus into the rain after 14hours to find our bags just thrown off the into puddles of water it was nice to know someone was picking us up to take us to our hotel. Our pick up was there holding up our name so off we went with him to flag down a taxi....! In the early morning rain it took ages for him to get us a taxi and took me standing out in the road myself to get one. The guy went off on his bike and told the taxi where to take us. After having to pay for our free pick up we were happy to just be at our hotel so we could go to sleep. A man ran out to help bring in our bags. He showed us a room which wasn't great. It was small with an internal window but we didn't care at that stage we just said yeah so we could get to sleep. He told us to come straight down to check in and have breakfast. Then even though we said numerous times how tired we were he proceeded to go on about all the trips they do and how they have the best price for their customers.He told us about how people promise so much but then you get terrible trips so we were better booking with them. Finally after saying we would book with him later he let us have a quick breakfast so we could go to bed. After finding it strange and annoying how pushy he was we decided to have a look online to see what other people said before we went to sleep and found all these terrible reviews. Of course then we couldn't sleep because we were worried about if these were true. We decided not to chance it and my boyfriend went out to find another hotel. We made our excuses saying that we met friends and were going to stay with them and would probably come back to book with them so we would have no problems leaving. We paid for one night and had no problems getting our passports back or no hassle leaving. Having been there only 3 hours, paying for our 'free pick up', almost being forced into booking trips we got out as fast as we could because with that many bad reviews we weren't willing to find out if these reviews were all true. The pictures on TA are nothing like the actual hotel I'm not sure why they think its a good idea to have them up here. I can't say the staff were unfriendly but that guy at reception was so pushy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    5
    8
    25
See reviews for
1
16
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

My girlfriend and I arrived into Hanoi in a bit of a situation, both our passports were left behind in our hotel in Hue. While trying to figure out the best way to retrieve them we were approached by a friendly man offering us accommodation for a reasonable price. We explained our situation and he offered to have someone pick our passports up and transport them via the next overnight bus for delivery the following morning. We had limited options so we agreed.

On arrival to the hotel we negotiated a price and were shown to our room. They were very pushy trying to sell us a boat tour also but we held off for the time being. The rooms look nothing like the pictures advertised, but we got what we expected for $5 per night. The room was fairly clean, working t.v, a rather hard mattress with clean sheets, a spacious bathroom and working air-conditioning.

We eventually booked a two day Ha-Long Bay tour with the manager. We didn't think to check this hotel out on Tripadvisor until everything had been booked and were both very concerned after reading the reviews. We decided to call the tour company to be sure and we were both confirmed to be picked up the following morning and were on the correct boat. The boat trip was great by the way. Just don't expect everything from the brochure he shows you. I mean the boat was nice but well out dated, however the food that we were served was delicious on both days and staff were very friendly.

Overall we had no issues staying at this hotel. All the staff were friendly and delivered on what was agreed, including our passports the following morning. From reading all the reviews a majority of people have had bad experiences if they do not book tours. If you do book a tour else where I would suggest keeping it quiet from the manager.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savage17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Was first quoted one price then in the middle of the afternoon they came to our room demanding more money. One person said they wanted $10 while the other $15. I wanted to speak to the manager but he was 'unable to reach' .. Yeah right! Next they said they would throw in breakfast for free.. Although we were first told it was included all along. So again they lied. After reading all the other experiences on tripadviser I would definitely not stay here.
Much better and less expensive hotels/hostels in area

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peace_N_Happiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Roedovre, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

When we first got to the hotel it was great, the staff was friendly, the room was great and it was very cheap!
The first day we stayed here we booked 2 trips, one for sapa and one for ha long Bay. - both excellent trips by the way!!
The service was great and the two people in the reception made us a great deal, they told us when we came back they would make sure they had the same room available for us, even though we came at 6 in the morning..
Only when we got back, it was the boss sitting behind the reception, and he told ud he gave our room to someone else who wanted to pay more. Then he started yelling at us, and he was very aggressive..
We got a room 8 hours later, not as good, but at least he gave us a cheaper price!
Later we saw the boss actually trying to hit someone with a broom, because they didn't book a tour with him..
It is so sad, that the boss is such a jerk, because the rest of the staff o really friendly, and the hotel is great, and you definetely can't complain about the location..
Oh, and by the way - the hotel looks nothing like the pictures!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BulleMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

They steal from rooms, do not believe any of their brochures for tours as no matter what you pay you get the lowest standard in Ha Long, 'no happy no pay' as they like to say is a blatant lie, been travelling for 3 months so far and it's the worst place we've been to, do not stay here

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oñate, Pais Vasco, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

The worst hotel in the last 4 months travelling. This morning the staff of the MINH TOÁN hotel in Hanoi stole us money while we were having breakfast. In this 15 minutes they entry to the room and stole all the money from our wallet. The boss of the hotel a really bad guy spoke to as in an agresive way when we were explaining what happened, he tried to hit my boyfriend. Be carefull with this man because he is crazy! A really bad experience! Go away!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoazenMundura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We got talked into staying here when we caught the bus from Hue. At first it wasn't so bad, the rooms were cramped but ok. The staff immediately started pushing their Halong bay tour and continued every chance they got.

We ended up booking elsewhere. Then the staff got suspicious, rude and angry. They were childish, they woke us up before 7 a.m. and lied about the tour time changing.

When we went to check out the manager tried to make us pay a higher price than we had agreed on. He was angry and cursing at us and I had to ask several times before he would return my passport, even after we paid.

We went outside to wait for our bus, but he followed us and continued yelling abuse at us. He then went inside and returned to throw buckets of dirty mop water at us. He also attacked one traveler with a mop.

He followed us across the street and threatened to kill us several times before he had enough and left.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
#57 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Wing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Wing Hotel

Property: Hanoi Wing Hotel
Address: 23 Hang Non str | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HANOI WING CAFE Hotel, one of the best middle-range hotels in town, conveniently situated in the heart of Hanoi - in walking distance to many famous tourist sites such as Hoan Kiem Lake, Hanoi Opera House, Thang Long Water Puppet Theatre, Hanoi Old Quarter, Catholic Church… All the rooms in Hanoi civility hotel are equipped with air-conditioner, cable flat screen TV, Wireless internet laptop, mini bar. They also have en-suite spacious bathroom with bathtub, hair dryer and other amenities. Outstanding service is at the core of our business philosophy and you will surely be pleasantly surprised with the experience of staying with Hanoi Wing Cafe Hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing