We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pushy Staff, Think twice before booking online.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Wings II Hotel
Ranked #479 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pushy Staff, Think twice before booking online.”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We originally booked Golden Wings I through Agoda, however when we arrived we were ‘upgraded’ from our booked hotel to Golden Wings II. We were disappointed with the room as it wasn’t as nice as the room we booked in Golden Wings, and having 2 double beds was unnecessary for us. We felt that they put us in an inferior room so that they could keep the nicer rooms available. The staff are overly-friendly and this is all so that they can sell you a tour to Halong Bay or Sapa. The staff continually ask you what your plans are and even come and talk to you while you are trying to eat your breakfast. We actually booked the train from Hanoi to Hue through the hotel but feel as though we were ripped off after what we paid for a dirty seat on a dirty train. The other annoying thing is that checkout is at 12pm, yet the staff told us that ‘after breakfast we check out’ and then called at 11:30 and told us to ‘check out now’. If they don’t want people in the room till 12pm, they should change the checkout time. On the positive side breakfast is decent and the guy controlling the breakfast was really nice and helpful whenever you asked for something (eg coffee/tea refill), and the hotel did allow us to hang out in reception until our train at 7pm, even let us use some towels and have a shower.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottandManisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    30
    11
    9
    1
See reviews for
19
57
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

A very nice hotel located in the heart of the old quarter. The room which we stayed in was really nice and clean on the 5th floor with fantastic wifi connection. The bathrooms were spacious and included aircon. We paid only $15 for a room with two double beds but they initially asked for $30. We didnt have to do much for them to give us this offer at the discount price (seemed like they really wanted us to stay). The staff are very friendly here and the lady at reception was very helpful. They can provide a colour map which includes a nice walking route around the large lake nearby.
i
It was so good that we are now back at this place albeit a different room which is slightly a downgrade from what we first received (no window and slower wifi on the 2nd floor) but what the hell...we got a good price initially!

They have internet computers and laundry service but bit pricey ($2 per kilo).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason-ho-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed at the Golden Wings 2 Hotel (which is just opposite the main Golden Wings Hotel, (in the same Street and the same staff) for just 3 days in April 2012
A great location in the centre of the Old Quarter.
Hotel facilities all very good - typical standard.(a bargain for the dollars payed)
Arrived at a crazy time of 4.30 am - via local train - Dead of night - everything within the area so quiet -a bit early for check in - but greeted exceptionally well (that's so special - after waking up the staff) They were brilliant - they also helped arrange Halong Bay day tip and advised the best (I mean the best) restaurant in Hanoi (i think no 27 or 67 Ma May Street) - All within walking distance.
I'll stay again.

Room Tip: Its the old quarter - where else would you stay for a few days - crazy but great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2travellers2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We actually stayed at Golden Wings 2 Hotel (which is just opposite the original Golden Wings Hotel, (in the same Street and I believe they share the same staff). We were very pleased with our stay. We booked for a week, and during our stay became very friendly with all the members of staff. Steven in particular, helped us plan our side trips to Halong Bay and Sapa. The staff were always interested in how your day was when you came in at night, and asked if we slept well each morning at breakfast. It is in a fantastic location, in the old quarter, near all the best eats and markets. They recommended the "New Day" cafe across the road, where we ended up eating quite a number of times as it was so good, always jammed full of people, but they made room for everyone and the service and taste was fab. After reading someone elses review on tripadvisor we booked the top floor, which was quiet and gave us great views up and down the street. The breaky each day was always plentiful and varied and delicious, and accompanied by friendly chats from the staff. I would definately stay here again, and recommend it to anyone who wants to be treated like a friend in a busy city!!
PS: On our trip to Sapa, we met alot of people who didn't seem to get the same level of service from their hotel staff as we did, in all our connections to and from the train station etc....I think we did really well..Well done Golden Wings 2 staff!!

Room Tip: Request a high floor if possible, it's quieter, remember it is a very busy and bustling part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ish261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Great Staff at this hotel, and the delux room we had was big and quiet being at the back of the hotel. The breakfast was nice and the staff treated you like old friends, no problem recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for Delux at the back if you like to sleep or at the front with a Balcony if you like to watch th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This is the first hotel we stayed on our short trip to Hanoi and we found the location was really great! My impression with this hotel is what a friendly staff they have. From the very beginning when we arrive at the airport,we were picked by the hotel taxi as arranged. The manager was super helpful in giving us advice on where to go, what restaurant is nice, even gives the range of price and how to bargain on the market, a very nice heads up for us on our first day, so we really appreciate it. The other staff were not less friendly at all, everyone is ready to answer your question and assist you, so I am very grateful.

About the room and hotel facility, for the amount of price that I pay I wouldn't complain much. Our room is not so big but it's good enough for the two of us. But because it doesn't have window so it feels a little stuffy. Some of the facility on bathroom doesn't work nicely, but as long as the hot water running it's all good for us. Wifi connection is very good both on loby and our own room.

Overall it's a pleasant stay :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TisaMedinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I booked this hotel because it got good ratings in TA, and had nice photos both in TA and other hotel booking sites, and thought it was very good value for what it offered. I took the 23 dollar room -- quite cheap actually, but I should have known better. Have stayed elsewhere in Hanoi for a few dollars more and had excellent experience (unfortunately no rooms were available anymore for the late booking i made), so I thought it would be comparable. Wrong. And here are my photos to prove it. Service was okay, staff were friendly and accommodating. I liked the quiet in the room (aircon was surprisingly very quiet), room and bathroom were very clean, bed mattress and pillows were good (didn't have breakfast there, so could not comment). Nothing, however, to rave about as most reviews here seem to. Perhaps they have rooms indeed which were much better than mine, still there is some deception because they never show in any photo (in any booking site) the smaller, basic rooms with uneven floors and walls, horrible wardrobe, and the cramped bedroom/bathroom. It makes me wonder if those photos of nice, large, luxurious-looking bedrooms they show are in this hotel at all. Still, for a few hours of stay (which was my case), it is not bad overall.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CygniCygni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Luxury Hotel
Luxury Hotel
#74 of 586 in Hanoi
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tourist Hotel
The Tourist Hotel
#449 of 586 in Hanoi
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Splendid Jupiter Hotel
Splendid Jupiter Hotel
#136 of 586 in Hanoi
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Little Center Hotel
Hanoi Little Center Hotel
#193 of 586 in Hanoi
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gecko Hotel
Gecko Hotel
#470 of 586 in Hanoi
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Diamond Hotel
Green Diamond Hotel
#150 of 586 in Hanoi
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Wings II Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Wings II Hotel

Property: Golden Wings II Hotel
Address: 106A Ma May Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 84, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #479 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotels, located in the very heart center of Hanoi Old Quarter. Come and enjoy a memorable trip with us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Wings II Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing