We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely oasis in Hanoi's bustling old quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #36 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Wow what a place! The day i arrived the friendly staff welcomed me with open arms: "Mr Joseph come and join us and our new friends (some of the foreigners staying) on a karoke night". I replied a bit wearliy, "but I'd planned on the water puppet show tonight". "But no" they replied, "this is way more fun"... karoke was great fun! What an introduction to a fantastic experience at Charming 2 hotel. For around $30 a night (Agoda), lovely spaceous rooms, fast internet in the room, very quiet rooms and the most amazing breakfast of local and western fare. A big 11 out of 10 from me!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,081 - 2,087 of 2,462 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2011

Five stars for outstanding value and comfort for the money.

At least six stars for an incredibly friendly, pleasant, helpful, and good-looking :) staff. Seriously, I've stayed in some very high-end hotels, like Raffles, and never encountered a better staff. They're not attentive in a formal way, but a very friendly--and highly effective--way. Example: I was working in my room and wanted to find a soda and snack to keep me going. The doorman, instead of just pointing, walked me across the street, showed me the place, and hung around for a minute to make sure I got what I needed. And that's only ONE of many such stories...

I actually stayed in three different rooms, on two separate visits. They were all comfortable. Not gorgeous, but pleasant--like staying at my middle-class grandmother's house. Also very clean. Plenty of space. Free wifi. Free fruit plate. I like...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithDNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

The hotel is really nice, very central (in the Old Quartier, but actually absolutely not noisy), very clean.
The rooms (and I saw different rooms) are very well designed, the bathroom is new and very clean, air-conditioning, TV, DVD player and PC with Internet connection into the room.
Breakfast is very good, different possibilities... Vietnamies pho (noodle soup), fresh fruit, continental breakfast, very good vietnamies coffee. I am Italian, coffee is really important for me!
All the staff is very nice and helpful. I was very happy to stay in this hotel, and I hope to come back to visit them.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dllvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Great place! We had booked Charming 1 but they overbooked, got transferred to #2. nothing bad to say!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troyandkaylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We booked at one of the sister hotel but there was a problem w/toilet so they arranged to take us to charming 2 hotel. At first we were worried but they showed us our room and assured us that this was a better hotel. The room was nice, new and spacious. Plus: computer in our room. Initially it had a virus but we told them and they tried to fix it and in the end ended up giving us another computer. Only minor negative was the funky smell in the bathroom which I think was due to the water. No safe in room but there is one in the reception area which we used and trusted. The hotel was nice to store our luggage when we went on our Halong Bay tour even though we didn't book the tour through them. And like other reviewers the hotel staff were one of the nicest and helpful ppl. Another plus was that you can exchange USD for VND at the hotel. Their rate was even better than the bank we spotted.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

their staffs are very friendly. They talked to us to know our needs and gave good advice on transport, foods, etc...and offered extra service e.g. helping on post service.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jianan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My family and I recently stayed in this charming hotel. I cannot rate the staff highly enough, they are the most delightful and friendliest that I have ever had the pleasure to know. The smiles and welcome are genuine and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is situated in the Old Quarter and it is pretty much short walks to the lake and the three level market with all the main shopping streets in between. After two nights, we all went to Sapa and returned on the overnight train and I couldn't wait to get back to this hotel. They opened up very early for us,approx 5 a.m., and assisted us with our bags and rooms, which I wouldn't expect one would expect in too many other hotels. Again, the lovely manager and the staff at reception, and the porters, are wonderful and I recommend highly for excellent quality for lower price.. 5 STAR SERVICE.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniferBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#124 of 597 in Hanoi
1,315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#47 of 597 in Hanoi
524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Trendy Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
#13 of 597 in Hanoi
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £26 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing