We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value 5* service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #33 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value 5* service”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Stayed at the hotel for four nights in September whilst visiting Hanoi for Business. I was a little nervous as previously in Vietnam have only every stayed in chain corporate hotels hilton etc. but decided to give this hotel a try and very glad that I did. The service was excellent, very friendly helpful staff. I had a problem with a lost package that i needed for a presentation and the hotel staff were very helpful, looking for contact details for customs etc. I was upgraded from a junior suite to a huge room on my second night and this had a balcony that overlooked the main street. The room came with a free bottle of wine and fruit was replaced daily. The prices for the mini bar were cheaper than on the street (£0.30!) for a large bottle of water/ beer. The internet connection was excellent (better than at the 5* Traders hotel in KL where I had stayed the night before) and the PC in the room was very helpful.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a suite- well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tortoisetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,215
    216
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
369
1,013
223
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I picked Chaming 2 Hotel based on the reviews in TA and stayed there for 1 night, from 24-25 September. The hotel was just as what the reviewers said - impeccable service (a bit over friendly at times), clean rooms with all the amenities of a 5-star hotel (including bath robes and in-room computer!), located in the Old Quarter and was within walking distance of most sights, abundance of eateries nearby, plus many more ....

We stayed in room 202 which only has a small window opening on to the light-well. For us, this was a blessing in disguise as we were spared the noise from the traffic on busy Hang Ga Road.

I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CafeTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This was our first hotel in Vietnam and it was great. We arrived really early off the Bangkok plane and instead of just being told the room wasn't ready, go away, the receptionist immediately asked if we'd had breakfast and then took us downstairs for a super feed!
The room was v clean and had a safe deposit box. There was also a computer in our room which was v useful plus free wifi for our phones.
It's right in the old quarter too - which was manic - but close enough to walk to several of the sights.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oz
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

we arrived here on the 22 Sept 2011, we were greeted with a fantastic welcome by all the front of house staff and a wonderfull cool refreshing drink, from the start they have all been very helpfull, even with their advice on where to head to shop and eat, Highway 4 restaurant was a great recomendation, this was our first night of 3 spread over the next week between traverling to Sapa and Halong bay, they are also keeping some of our luggage in storage between trips as from reading previus reviews from Trip advisor this was one of the reasons for staying here, and so far have been very impressed.

Room Tip: we are a family of 4 and there was no problem with them putting an extra bed in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank swampyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for four nights and found it a great experience from the moment the staff welcomed us into the hotel. Check-in was friendly and smooth and they also managed to allow us to extend our stay, despite the hotel being very full, without us having to move rooms.

The room itself was very pleasant, clean, surprisingly quiet given the location in Hanoi's old town and had a balcony with a fantastic view over the street and rooftops. We were also delighted with the hospitality tray which included a free bottle of local wine, fresh fruit each day and complimentary water. The mini-bar was extremely cheap and the hotel also did our laundry at street prices. Paricularly susprising and useful was the free internet access at our own terminal in the room.

The hotel staff were very helpful in arranging a very reasonably priced trip for us to Ha Long Bay and recommended local bars and restaurants. On our last day we had a very early check-out and the staff went out of their way - without being asked - to provide a full take-out breakfast for us.

Overall we found the hotel great value and would unhesitatingly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Thank goodness for Trip Advisor when you rock up in a place you have never been (or the likes of it), and want a hotel that acts as a haven when you want to leave the bustle behind.
Charming 2 offers exactly this. With a computer and free WiFi in your room, its very traveler-friendly.
The staff can suggest anything from restaurants, to attractions, to Ha long Bay tours (They recommended IndoChina - which were brilliant).
The decor is not the most modern, but the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, and the staff do make you feel like you are in a 5-star restaurant When they waved us off to the airport in our taxi (all 4 of them), we really felt sad to be leaving!
The breakfast is a bit odd with chopped up croissants but we ate well every day. It adds to the character of this place, which is situated right next to a fascinating shop selling bamboo and bamboo ladders, a fantastic sight.
A great place to stay, and my partner and I would both recommend Charming 2. Perfect for those who have just laded and don't have a clue where to go or what to do. You're in safe hands here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RM_London2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Details in a moment, but due to the couple of less than positive recent reviews, firstly a quick general comment: I try to rate hotels on the overall experience, taking into account the price paid. I have stayed in many hotels throughout Europe and Asia and my partner has travelled extensively throughout Asia, Australasia, North America and Europe. We both felt that overall, this was the best hotel experience we had ever had, predominantly because of the excellent, friendly service received despite (what we considered) a very modest price paid. I would highly and unhesitatingly recommend this hotel and I am happy for anyone to contact me for further information.

So, that said:

We stayed here twice during our time in Hanoi in September 2011, firstly for two nights when we just arrived, and secondly after we returned from a fantastic trip to Sapa (including a two day hike up Mt Fansipan) - which, by the way, was all sorted for us by Charming 2.

We paid just under GBP40 (around $60 USD) per night for our first room, which was a junior twin suite with a street view. It was spotlessly clean, large and well equipped (including air con). The beds were very comfortable (although we do like firm beds - something to get used to in Asia generally if you don't!). Complimentary water and fruit were provided as well as a free bottle of red wine. The bathroom was a good size with an excellent hot shower (powerful) and plentiful towels and toiletries. There was a computer in the room with 24 hour free internet. If we needed to print, the staff were happy for us to log on at reception and print there.

Our second room was slightly smaller - although the bathroom was bigger. It didn't have a view (it was an inner room), but only cost GBP30 (around $45USD) and aside from no free wine was pretty much exactly the same as described above, so still very good especially for the reduced price. If you don't like to hear street noise, this might be a better room to go for, as the street view rooms can get a bit noisy with the sounds of people outside.

Both rooms were very similar to the pictures on the website and we really enjoyed our time in them.

Both rooms included breakfast. We enjoyed the breakfast - it's a good mix of Asian and Western food and the hot food was kept warm (this was an issue in other places). It's not a massive breakfast buffet by some standards but there were two types of cereal, around 6 hot options, boiled eggs, juice, tea and coffee, fruit, toast, pastries and cakes.

We used the laundry service which was excellent, fast and cheap - $2 USD per kilo.

For the price paid, we didn't feel there was anything lacking about the rooms at all. In addition, the location was perfect for us, right in the middle of the old quarter and easy walking distance to all the highlights of that area.

The real value in this hotel is, as mentioned, the amazing level of service. From the moment you arrive you are treated as a member of the family, but not in a too "in your face" way, just in a very relaxed and good humoured manner. Essentially, you feel like you're staying with friends who really want you to have the best possible experience in their town. Apologies in advance, but I'm now going to wax lyrical with a few examples:

1. We got ripped off by a taxi driver on the way back from Ho Hoan Kien lake (he had a dodgy meter). Two of the ladies from reception came out and skillfully negotiated a 50% reduction.

2. All of the staff were fantastic but Lana from the travel desk really stood out for her exceptional service. She basically single handedly (at our request) organised our week in the North including our trip to Sapa and our Halong Bay excursion and took a lot of time helping us select the best options for us. As far as we could tell there really wasn't much (if anything) added to the price for her input. She also booked our hotel in our next destination.

3. The transfering / behind the scenes service was great. For our Sapa trip, one of the bell boys came with us in the taxi and took us right to our train carriage to make sure we got the right one. When we returned, another was waiting for us in the pouring rain, at 5am, to collect us, even though our train had been rearranged and we had arrived much earlier than expected. We hadn't even let them know we were going to be early! After our Halong Bay cruise we wanted to return to Charming2 but they were fully booked. Instead, they organised for us to stay at an excellent value sister hotel which they sorted out for us, including transfering our bags there free of charge while we were away - all totally seamless.

4. When we got to the hotel after returning from Sapa (around 530am) they had a room waiting for us (which was most unexpected) and gave us complimentary breakfast that morning. Bearing in mind we weren't supposed to check in til after 2pm we were really touched by that.

As another recent reviewer has already stated, if you are expecting five star luxury this is not the place to go for. It doesn't have all the facilities that you might expect at the Ritz. Neither, however, does it sell itself on that basis and it certainly isn't in their price bracket! BUT it does provide over 5-star service which was above and beyond, which, combined with perfectly good rooms & facilities and its great location, makes it a winner in my book.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you might like to choose a room without the street view - the Old Quarte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#39 of 591 in Hanoi
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#118 of 591 in Hanoi
1,311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#26 of 591 in Hanoi
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel Trendy
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing