We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #31 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a gem”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed here in September and were delighted to have found such a fantastic hotel. It has a great location,right in the Old Quarter but was very quiet. The accommodation was superb - spotless rooms, free internet, spacious, lots of hot water and the only hotel we stayed at in 2 weeks that provided a hair dryer - what a treat. As for the staff, they were tremendous and so helpful they really couldn't do enough for us - helped with a city tour, where to shop and recommended great places to eat. Fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HilsBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,215
    216
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
369
1,013
223
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Charming 2 was just such a great hotel. We arrived at about 11am after a dodgy flight and were welcomed with open arms by the friendliest and most hospitable staff. They couldn't do enough for us, allowing us to check in straight away, even offering us breakfast.

The hotel was super clean, just great room size and comfortable setting. The complimentary fruit was super and the in room computer was a real bonus.

The staff organised a day tour for us (for the morning after we arrived) and tickets to the water puppets - all for great prices and they just made everything so easy.

Breakfast was fantastic each morning with lots of choice, local Pho, fresh fruit, bacon, eggs the works!

This was one of the best places we stayed on our travels in Vietnam and I would highly recommend this as a great (cheap) place to stay in Hanoi (great location too in Hoan Kiem district Old Quarter).

My only concern (and it wasn't a big deal really) was that there was a bit of noise in the morning - probably solved by getting a room on a higher floor.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyGalbraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We loved our stay here in the center of the ‘Old Quarter’ of Hanoi, so convenient to stroll through the many interesting streets and an pleasant walk to the hub of Hanoi – Hoan Kiem lake. The service and friendliness of all the staff was the best we have experienced anywhere in the world! The hotel arranged a car to pick us up from the airport, well worth it and all went very smoothly. Charming is a small boutique type hotel, small enough for the staff to call you by name each time you walk by the desk, with genuine warmth and care. The rooms are lovely, modern, spotlessly clean with a computer and full size bath. We upgraded to a larger room with a balcony, with nice big open doors and a view over the street. The highlight of our stay would be how friendly the staff were at Charmin II. We had a late afternoon flight and they allowed us to shower and freshen up for no extra charge, incredible service. The staff all gave us a hug and waved us off when we left, lovely touch – they make you feel so important and you feel as though you have been staying with good friends. No wonder it is called Charming Hotel, it was fantastic, great value for money, highly recommended. booking@hanoicharminghotel.com

Room Tip: It's worthwhile paying a little bit extra for a room with a balcony overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank denbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Have just returned from 4 nights at Charming2 Hotel and will definitely stay here again. The staff are wonderful and welcoming. Rooms are large and spotlessly clean - free use of internet on a computer in our hotel room. Very central location, great breakfast. Thank you for all your kindness and friendship Rose, Sophie and all the staff at Charming2

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rickrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed a week in the Charming Hotel II in Hanoi. We picked it off the internet and were so glad with our choice, it really is top notch, especially for the price. We also used it as a base while we stayed overnight in Halong Bay. From the very first day, the staff were very friendly and so helpful. Always greeting you with a smile and welcoming you to breakfast, asking about your adventures each day, opening the door. They really made us feel at home. I would definately return to Charming on our return to Hanoi and would highly recommend a stay here. We stayed in room 503, which was large and modern. The fresh daily fruit was an unexpected treat. And it was great to have a computer and internet access in our room (as my partner was keen to get EPL and other sport updates, and didnt want to miss his fantasy teams). The location is good, a little walk to the food places and the centre of town, but the best restaurant we ate at was Highway 4, right around the corner, beautiful food and a selection of snake wines. Yum! If your considering this hotel, book it!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kelly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We spent 3 nights in this hotel.
The rooms are very clean.
All the staff was very friendly and helpful!
They helped us in different tasks as confirm a flight, print some stuff and other things!
They proposed us to use a non occupied room just before leaving to have a shower! Very nice before 12 hours flight!
It was my birthday during the last night, they saw that on my passport, and they offered me some flowers! Very nice :)
A nice adress in Hanoi!

Room Tip: Ask to be in an high floor to have window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 818lauref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We used thís as our home base while travelling in North Vietnam, it was our best decision. We were greeted by all the staff like we were their old friends. The rooms were clean and comfortable. nothing was a problem for them, from extra clean towels to booking tours guide, last minute water puppet show tickets and the extra delight for us was a 4.30 am pick up from the Sapa train which was readily accomodated. These people are wonderful, they definitely go above and beyond.

Fabulous location on the edge of the old quarter, walking distance to everywhere. Felt safe all the time with our children aged 12 and 15 years old.

Included breakfast was filling with good variety of Vietnamese and Western choices.

Faultless customer service. Felt like family yet professional all the time. Would highly recommend to all but especially for those with children who need a family room.

Room Tip: 501 has a larger balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacinta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#37 of 588 in Hanoi
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#118 of 588 in Hanoi
1,309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
#15 of 588 in Hanoi
1,088 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing