We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Hotel with Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #33 of 606 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This little hotel is well located in the old quarter - easy access to all amenities including the beautiful Hanoi lake. Lana and her cheerful and extremely friendly team of staff Rose, Sophie, etc, etc... go beyond their call of duty. They recommended great places to go and eat, organized transportation and tours for us. They really make you feel right at home. The charming rooms are clean and tastefully decorated with free internet and a computer, too. Fresh fruits are served every day and their breakfast buffet is a sumptuous feast. The price of room was right and for a 3-star hotel, it is well worth it. We enjoyed our stay very much. We definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,854 - 1,860 of 2,461 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

I recently stayed here with my husband and another couple. My husband and I arrived the day before our friends, and since they were arriving on one of their birthdays, we asked the staff for ideas on how to celebrate. Before we knew it, they had taken the celebration into their own hands - they had decorated their room with balloons, flowers, 'happy birthday' sign, and a personalized birthday cake upon their arrival. The staff were waiting in the room with hats and horns to surprise our friend. To say that Lana and her staff were excited is an understatement - they made us feel like they were celebrating with their own friends and family.

Aside from going above and beyond for the birthday, the staff were always super-friendly and helpful, and always greeted us by name. They were more than happy to run out and exchange money for us with no fee, and they kept our luggage for us while we spent one night in Halong Bay.

The rooms are clean and spacious, though the beds are quite firm. That seems to be the norm throughout Vietnam though, so I would not count this against the hotel at all. We stayed in 3 different rooms during our stay, and I actually preferred the smaller rooms without windows, as it makes for a quieter night, and the layout of the bathroom was better. We stayed in room 302.

The breakfast is quite good and includes several choices. The pho is made on the spot and is great. The location is very good - about 5 minutes' walk to the lake. The hotel also provides transportation from the airport which is helpful. We had read so many warnings on the taxi scams that we were hyper-vigilant, so when we saw a handmade sign we were suspicious, but it was fine.

Room Tip: The rooms run from Floor 2 - 7 or 8, and are 3 per floor: 201, 202, 203, 301, etc. The -01 rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We are a family with 2 kids 9 & 11, and the hotel put us up in the room that had double bed + 01 single bed + 01 extra bed. Though it was facing the street on the 2nd floor it was very quiet in the mornings. The hotel is located near many restaurants and within walking distance to the Hoan Kiem lake. The only down point was the safe in the room was a portable safe, which means someone could carry it with them if they were inclined to do so.

We have a few tips for those visiting Hanoi:

1) if you want to see the water puppet show which is interesting but it is recommended you buy tickets ahead by half a day so as to get your preferred timing.
2) Great places to eat is Quan An Ngon which has a great selection of food, but come early as they close early around 9:30.
3) A very good pho restaurant is nearby, but don't eat there, eat in the cafe next to it, which will just go next door and order it. The staff can direct you, and the Pho was delicious.
3) Halong Bay, recommend you do the 2-day one night trip as you get to experience more and appreciate this amazing place.
4) Tam Coc will provide a visit some of Vietnam's oldest emperor's temples and a unique rowing experience to the caves which all of us enjoyed.

I would like to make a special mention of the staff at the hotel who were helpful enough to organise our day trips to Halong Bay and Cuc Tom. All was taken care of and met our expectations for interesting days off.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daddy-0h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I have fallen in love with Vietnam, thanks to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel. I stayed here for a week and wish I stayed for 3. You won't find staff like this anywhere else. So warm and inviting, it really puts you at ease. When we arrived they sat us down and asked us about our trip, gave us a map and highlighted all the places we need to check out. Our Ha Long Bay trip was organised for us and we were glad we took their recommendations. We were never disappointed throughout the week we spent there. The location is fantastic, right in the Old Quarter. Breakfast every morning was a treat, too. The room was great; computer with internet, complimentary fruit and wine, bathroom with bath, comfortable bed and AC. The highlight of the hotel really is the staff, we were sad to leave (my friend actually cried when it was time to say goodbye). All the girls on reception were fantastic, as well as the security boys on the door. I never got used to having the door always opened for me and my bags carried. Special mention has to go to Smiley Rose. I've found a friend in you and will be back for a visit soon!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

definitely stay here. Staff are very helpful. Great breakfast. Great location

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PandaCatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

The hotel facilities & location are great. What made this hotel a standout were Sophie, Lana & all the staff. Their service was by far the best I have experienced in all my travels around the world - professional, friendly & helpful. They even had concierge escort us to the train station (for free) to help us with our tickets. Thank you girls for making our stay in Hanoi easy and enjoyable!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beccabooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Charming 2 Hotel. We were very good taken care of in every way.The staff found solutions to all our questions. We stayed at the hotel for one week and it felt like home from the first day thanks to the fantastic behaviour of the whole staff. If we return to Hanoi we would certainly choose this hotel once more.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#30 of 606 in Hanoi
962 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#67 of 606 in Hanoi
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maison d'Orient
Maison d'Orient
#58 of 606 in Hanoi
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#34 of 606 in Hanoi
579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Emerald Hotel
Holiday Emerald Hotel
#4 of 606 in Hanoi
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 606 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £25 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing