We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #29 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent value and superb service”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I can only echo all the reviews of praise already here. The hotel is lovely - modern and comfortable furnishings, extremely clean, and an amazing value for the money. The staff speaks excellent English and is incredibly helpful with anything you may need, from booking tours to buying a SIM card. Located in the northern part of the old quarter, you get the benefit of walking through the 36 streets without the hawking and tourist-trappings of some of the backpacking areas and hotels more in the center of the old quarter. As we walked away from that hustle and bustle I found it quite refreshing to come back to the Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel as it felt more "local" and home-y.

I've stayed at the Hanoi Elegance Sapphire which was similarly excellent. Granted, many hotels in Hanoi are renovating their properties and investing into great customer service, but you will definitely enjoy your stay at the Hanoi Charming 2.

Room Tip: The Executive rooms are a bit quieter in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heydana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,215
    216
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
369
1,014
223
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2012

After exiting the airport in Hanoi and having difficulty with our Visas and finding a trustworthy taxi, the reception at Charming 2 hotel was a breath of fresh air. The staff was so welcoming and we immediately felt like family. I have never posted any reviews on places I have stayed, but I felt compelled to do so with Charming 2 Hotel because of the staff. The rooms were pleasant, clean, and serviced daily. The staff at the front desk knew our names, suggested awesome places to eat, and even scheduled and purchased tickets for us to the water puppet show. All free of charge! We wouldn't stay anywhere else if/when we return to Hanoi.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koeniz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this excellent hotel several days and nights and made it our home while exploring the Northern part of Vietnam. The boys and girls did a very good job, very absolutely lovely and we feel like a big family. For 45$ we got a very clean double room (we even got a free upgrade) with yummy breakfast buffet, WiFi and your own PC in the room, locker, TV, fresh fruits, complimentary water a really nice staff. They warned us about the Hanoi taxi scam at the Airport, pick us up,organized tours, get us tickets for the water puppet show without surcharge, keep our big luggage while we were in Sapa or Ha Long Bay for free. They know the best restaurants, the cheapest beer and the nicest places to visit. Thank you for sharing your life with us! Best service you can ever get in Vietnam!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shams00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

These guys created a haven of fresh air in a city of chaos. we loved the city, but we loved returning to charming 2 even more! my usually shy kids were taken in by the charm of the reception staff to the point that they were able to get fully involved in conversations when we returned from our travels... this was a first for them.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was above average

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamescole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This was our second stay at Charming 2 Hotel following a trip to Halong Bay. We were a family of four and stayed two nights. The main asset of this hotel is the helpful and polite staff. The hotel is in the old quarter and close to all the attractions so it is a good base for exploring. Breakfast was included and was a good spread of local and western food. At our request, the hotel booked a restaurant and a spa for us but we were not hassled by anybody to book tours etc. Overall our stay was comfortable and enjoyable and we would recommend this hotel to any travellers who are looking for a basic hotel in a good location

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSR237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore,Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The staff at Charming 2 Hotel are a bunch of really helpful and friendly people (Johnny Kieu, Linda, Kate, Mr Vi etc)! Amid all the crazy traffic and incessant horning out in the streets, the hotel always serves to be a place of relief with all the happy faces of the staff, at any time of the day! The staff also gave us good advice on the appropriate cab fares to our destinations, and prices of certain stuff (ie.shirts, tees) to ensure that we don't get fleeced by some unscrupulous people.
I was pleasantly surprised to see that the rooms are very clean and well-maintained! Special mention has to go to the toilet, where it IS VERY VERY CLEAN! =) Nothing to complain here.
Special thanks goes to Charming's porter Mr Vi, who saw us at the Hanoi Train Station. My friends and I saw him running out from nowhere to direct us to our correct carriage for our train ride to Sapa! Super Porter!
I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family if they are going to Hanoi. Cheers!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyangkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Even though we saw all the good comments on tripadvisor, nothing beats experiencing it ourselves and we must say Charming 2 has really live up to its reputation. Right from the start, we took advantage of their promotion and booked 3 nights directly for one free airport transfer. Rooms were obviously clean and good. In the family suite, there was even free wine (which we were still checking with the front desk to see if its chargable - seems too good to be true). Hotel location was central to where are the action were old quarters. The staff offered daily tips on what we can do (if you are lazy like us that do on the day planning, rest assure you have some of the best advisors in top to help you). When we were trying to figure our way at Hanoi train station, Mr Vi a staff with Charming 2 Hotel saw us and ran towards us. He help us with our luggage and brought us all the way to our cabin... we were like Wow! where did he appeared from and this is what we say top notch service. After we return from Sapa, we went back to charming 2 at 6am and they gave us a free room to freshing up. We paid for a normal 4 seater airport transfer but were plesantly surprised yet again that we had an upgrade to a 9 seater (we don't assume this is part of the normal routine and we hope people don't always expect this from them) but what a way to end the holiday... The small hotel style really gave the personal touch that i don't think you will get at other places. Will definately go back again and recommend my own friends to this hotel. My advice, there is no need to pay for a more luxuriously hotel, this is really good enough and you will definately find this good enough, save your money for other stuff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmond_Lim_YX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#33 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#13 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#67 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#110 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing