We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming indeed...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #30 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming indeed...”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Okay, this hotel is perfectly situated in the old quarter of Hanoi, with all sightseeing within walking distance. It has big hotel qualities with service, cleanliness and rooms being of the highest quality, but it has the personality of a boutique hotel with the personal touch. The price is right and the breakfast is amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tors10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,215
    216
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
369
1,014
223
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I've been in Hanoi with my son, at Christmas. We stayed in two different hotel, but the better value for money has been surely for this one.
Most of all because personnel is very kind and efficient, and they have a very good breakfast: they have also "croissants" so good!!

Room is clean, and beside wi-fi, we had also a computer with internet access into the room.
We liked it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soldotna, Alaska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel was our home base for 5 nights as we wandered around northern Vietnam. It was such a welcome sight to see "our hotel" upon return. The staff is truly remarkable with their ever present smiles and willingness to meet your every need from "Kate" at the tour desk, Receptionists: Mr. Danny, Ms. Sophie, Ms. Mary, Mr. Johnny (the manager), to Tony the waiter in the breakfast room. All the employees we met did their part to make our stay comfortable. The location in the old quarter is ideal for walking with the marked and provided map. Sophie and Danny even helped me search and find a professional da nhi, a traditional Vietnamese fiddle, a request for my ailing cousin. After 7 weeks on the road I really appreciated the quality breakfast and fast service. It was a pleasure to see many choices: butter, cheese, croissants, omelets, among others and that wonderful plate of fresh fruit each morning. We stayed in three different rooms and all were very clean with attention to detail: flowers on the bed, a shower curtain, three towels each including a face towel, soap, shampoo, comb, sewing kit, bathroom fan. AC or Heat, and we used both, computer in the room, TV, frig, complimentary water, fruit, coffee/tea and a hot pot. The most comfortable bed in Vietnam! Yes, we will return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Spent 5 nights at this lovely place and felt like we were royalty. On arrival the first night, Johnny, the manager, personally brought us to our room. Overwhelmed by the warm, friendliness of the entire staff - from Danny, Mary, Sophia and all the others (Tony who serves meals and is studying part-time for his university degree). Our room was equipped with everything that you need, even a PC. Coming down for breakfast each day, we were spoilt for choice - western and/or vietnamese, as much as you can eat. Our only concern was that we would put on weight at the end of all this servings! The staff went to the extend of telling us to call them if we are outside and need help in communicating with the locals. Really touched by the professional and heartwarming service. Irene Lee

Room Tip: If I ever return to Hanoi, I would want to stay in a room with balcony, just to experience the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sockmei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A great hotel located in the middle of the busy streets of old quarter of Hanoi. Excellent value for money and the location makes it a great place to stay. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the restaurant food was delicious. The Breakfast is outstanding with a lot of fresh fruit and very friendly staff giving their best to make their guest feel comfortable. The Hotel staff at the reception are a fantastic team- who are not only friendly but also helpful with information and Taxis to and from the Airport and also in General on culture and local habits. The welcoming drinks and Snacks/fruit in the room, are great and the staff take good care of you.

Room Tip: Room on the higher floors were quiter and sunny. The rooms were good large and the badroom clean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosco Eduardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

This was our first stop in Vietnam and we couldn't be more impressed. This is an oasis in what is arguably the most hectic part of the Old Quarter - our burly 18 year old actually had to be helped across the road by 2 small Vietnamese staff! It's location is possibly the biggest challenge as it is definitely a shock to arrive into the busiest part of one of the busiest areas of a busy city. That said, it was also fabulous as we stepped around the corner and had fresh beer on the street corner with the locals, and Ban Bo Nam Bo down the road in another fabulous place recommended by Mr Danny. along with Christine and other staff, he helped make a fabulous impression for our first stay in Vietnam and they were always most enthusiastic and helpful. The rooms are wonderful and the breakfast fabulous - but leave yourself some time as it can be slow if there is a crowd. Also recommend the airport transfers as being essential when arriving in Vietnam.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Charming 2 is the perfect mix of luxury and personal service by a fantastic staff. From the pickup at the airport (important, since taxis are notorious for not only overcharging, but trying to take you to a different hotel!) to welcoming drinks and snacks in the room, they take care of you. The hotel is in the heart of the Old Quarter for shopping, dining and the high octane street scene and just a 5 minute taxi ride to the main museums. They can make arrangements for trips to Sapa or Halong Bay. Finding it difficult to decipher the best cruise on Halong Bay, we went with their recommendation of Galaxy Cruises (Premium) and were very happy with them. Although a little more expensive, you definitely get what you pay for.
Some reviewers said do not get a room facing the street because of the noise. I am a light sleeper, but we got a room street side. Charming 2 has double pane glass and it really reduces noise and you get to take in the cool street scene from your hotel balcony! The room was spotless w/ fruit and coffee and an elegant bathroom. Breakfast is included and was excellent with American style eggs and many other choices.
But the thing we will remember the most is Mary, Danny, Linda and the rest of the staff that did an exceptional job, including impromptu Vietnamese lessons! If you think you need to book with a big, world-wide hotel chain for 3 times the price that is not even in the Old Quarter, think again. The Charming 2 will be the highlight (and possibly the savior) of your Hanoi visit.

Room Tip: Get a street side room to observe the action, if you can be at least 5 floors up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#33 of 581 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#14 of 581 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,962 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#63 of 581 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#108 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing