We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Incredible Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #33 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“An Incredible Stay”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was the best hotel stay we have ever had, and it was all down to how all of the staff constantly went out of their way to make you feel welcome and assist you in any way possible.

We arrived at a quarter to nine in the morning - very early to be checking in - and were greeted by staff members who insisted that we needn't worry about our baggage and immediately brought us welcome drinks and cool face flannels - so thoughtful of them, and perfect after an overnight long-haul flight.
They asked us each our names and greeted us, and happily informed us that luckily the guests before us had left very early in the morning and so they were able to offer us early check-in on both of our rooms for free, even though we were hours early. We had booked a triple room and a superior with an extra bed between the 6 of us, but the staff upgraded us to 2 triple rooms - which were spacious and well-equipped. We weren't expecting anything luxurious - this isn't the Hilton and you don't pay Hilton prices. If I wanted to be picky I could find little flaws - like how the bathtub/shower is a strange design, such that water often gets on the floor even with the curtain shut. But really, things like this couldn't even begin to impact on how wonderful our stay was, just because of the wonderful staff, who by the time we descended from our rooms that first morning were able to greet all 6 of us by name! :) Special mention to the wonderful Mary, but also all the other staff who were also great, but I can't name them all - unfortunately I'm not as amazing as them.
I could go on and on, but basically it's enough to say that they did everything they could to make our stay in Hanoi brilliant, and went beyond good service to being very friendly and happy to play and joke around with the crazy kids in our party.

Thank you so much Charming 2!!!!


A few other notes:
- I've seen a few people commented on hard beds in the reviews? I certainly didn't notice that.
- The location was great, very central for the old quarter.
- Highway 4 and Little Black Duck are both good places to eat and nice and close by.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiley_Wanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,215
    216
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
369
1,013
223
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Booked this hotel before we left Australia. Airport pickup was fantastic as we had never been to Vietnam before and this made it easy for us. Hotel staff greeted us in the street out the front and from that moment always made us feel welcome and they were so lovely and friendly. One staff member took me on his bike to buy a mobile phone and helped me get it all set up. They really went over and above there duty. Our room was nice, air con worked well, the staff helped turn on the computer and make sure it was working. We were able to leave our luggage there while we went to Halong Bay and checked back in when we returned. Breakfast was included and they had a good choice and was lovely. The french breads on the menu were lovely. I made a mistake one time with the money and thought they had not given me enough when changing it. I called the staff member up to our room to show him, he was very polite and said don't worry we have cameras we can check it are you sure you havn't put the money somewhere else. I did find the money shortly after he left and apologised profusely and they were most gracious. While some hotels may be in a slightly better location to the lake or to restaurants we found this hotel to be simply "charming" and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balihopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

From the moment you walk into the lobby and the staff greets you like an old friend, inquires into your well being and hands you a welcome glass of fruit juice you know that this place takes it's customer service very seriously. The staff are truly amazing and even though I know that they are doing their jobs, I appreciate the care. After a weeks stay I truly felt like they were my trusted friends. The rooms as well are fantastic, especially considering the low cost. Soft comfortable and clean beds with soft pillows, clean bathrooms, laundry service, free fresh fruit and water every day. The in-house breakfasts have something for everybody and the food is delicious. The list goes one. I know there are many great places to stay in Hanoi, but I will always go back to the Charming 2 .....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is my first ever tripadvisor endorsement. Not because the fact that I rarely travel, but because the fact that I rarely stumble upon places quite like this. This is a true gem in the sometimes chaotic nature of Old Quarter.

I will have to restrain myself hardly, not to make this a 3 volume review of our stay.

Originally we only booked 3 nights including a free airport pickup. Our flight from China was slightly delayed and the luggage service was severly delayed, which resulted in almost one and a half our delay, and we were without a shred of doubt convinced that our driver had already departed and we would have to take a taxi into town. But no - our driver was still there, holding our sign faithfully and took us straight to the hotel. wow!

Upon arrival we were greeted like king and queen. Truly amazing, and ever since that there has not been a limit to the level of service! We booked a 3 days cruise to ha long bay and departed with the staff intending just to come back for one night and then head on in the rural area of Ha Noi, but instead we chose to extend our stay for 3 more nights until our flight to Laos, and not for a second did we regret this choice. We ended up staying 7 days in this lovely oasis.

On our last day (today, the 25th of January), the employees of the hotel had a pre-celebration of the forthcoming Lunar (tet), and we walked in on their festivities and were of course invited to join for toasting, chatting, shared plates of food and just amazing atmosphere. This has had to be one of the most authentic vietnamese experiences for us, and to that we owe a great thank you to the entire staff of Charming II.

On a general note they are always helpful with directions, phrasing in Vietnamese, booking rides (even though it has no economical advantage for them), ordering taxies, recommendations...and I could go on. Bottom line, you will never feel this much at home, so far from home.

Our best of wishes goes out to the dedicated staff of Charming II. Happy lunar new year to all of you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have just returned from a family holiday to Vietnam that exceeded our expectations. Our family, including 2 teenagers, recently stayed at Hanoi Charming 2 for a three nights and cannot speak highly enough of the staff and service. We ended up using the hotel as a base for our three week trip, returning to the hotel on two further occasions to collect or swap over luggage we'd left in their safe keeping. The hotel is well located in the old quarter and only a 10 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake and but just far enough out of the craziness of the tourist strip. We were happy to have listened to advice and waited to organise our trip once in Vietnam resulting in big savings. Hotel Charming staff helped us arrange our entire Vietnam itinerary including bookings for the train to Sapa, Halong Bay, internal flights south, airport and train transfers, taxis to local tourist spots too far to reach by foot, a walking food tour in Hanoi, water puppet as well as other local recommendations for restaurants, shopping and spa. The rooms were clean, spacious, and comfortable with TV and computer in each room. Bathrooms had plenty of daily supplies and hot water. It was very good value with breakfast included, complimentary fruit and water daily and smiles all round day and night from the friendly staff. It was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet but you will get to enjoy a view of activity on the street from fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The previous reviews pretty much reflect my experience here - this place was incredible! The staff were all incredibly friendly and accommodating (and there was a DVD player in the room which was amazing for winding down at nights) and everything else was great! We did a couple tours through the hotel as well, which were enjoyed by the both of us!

Also, despite our awful lack of organization they were incredibly patient with us when it came to sorting out train rides over to Sapa and helped us work it all out at a late hour. They didn't pressure us into doing anything and the breakfast here was great. Would come here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abeink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The charming hotel 2 is located in the old quarters close to most of the main attractions in Hanoi.

Our group was thoroughly impressed with the service levels and hospitality at the Charming Hotel 2. We stayed on two separate occasions and got upgraded to a nicer room they had one available. The rooms were also much nice than we had been expecting based on the price point.

Breakfast was complimentary and very good. They took special requests and even got us items not on the menu.

Finally the staff was just incredibly nice and accommodating. Couldn't have asked for anything more from them!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 361Caitlin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#45 of 591 in Hanoi
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#117 of 591 in Hanoi
1,311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#26 of 591 in Hanoi
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel Trendy
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing