We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #29 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very nice stay, excellent location”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed two nights and really enjoyed the location and the quiet of the rooms, which were big, well appointed and clean. Double windows block out the noise from the street and really made the difference. The added touches of flowers, toiletries, fruit and water were welcome. The computers in the rooms were a nice touch and although we didn’t think we’d need it as we travel with our iphone and ipad, but we did end up using it and it was great. I loved the flowers in the bathroom, in room safe and how spotlessly clean it was. Well done!

The staff are very friendly and although, as others have stated, a bit too much at times, the efforts are appreciated. My husband really enjoyed the added attention, me not so much as it could be a bit invasive at times. I heard similar comments from other travellers during our stay so suggest that the ‘help’ be dialed back a little, though some may enjoy the staff who seem fully genuine in their helpfulness if a bit overzealous. Other than that we have nothing negative to say and even with those comments we'd stay here again. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamisCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,215
    216
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
369
1,014
223
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

true to the other reviews, this place was great!!! very nice, clean, and great location! everyone on staff was super helpful and friendly. they definitely seem to go out of their way for their guests.

Room Tip: there was no spa or swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maleamonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

As first-timers to Hanoi, we arrived feeling a bit overwhelmed on arrival but the fantastic staff soon put us at ease, giving us a map and indicating a route to get used to negotiating the crazy streets. We booked onward travel and a Halong Bay tour with the hotel and it went extremely smoothly, even an escort to the railway station to install us in our sleeper carriage. Mary, Danny, Kate, Tracy and Sunny were all brilliant, warm hosts. A PC in our room and a good breakfast were bonuses. Thanks..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flagstaff8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was one of the best places we stayed on our month long trip to vietnam. The staff are amazing, they have the friendliest staff of anywhere we have stayed right from the emails I sent booking the hotel to when we left. It was my birthday while me and my partner were there, and I didn't realised he had contacted Kate and Mary in advance to organise a surprise. They did such a fantastic job of surprising me and organised some wonderful things. All of the staff right from the bell boys, receptionists to the cleaning staff went out of their way to make my birthday a memorable experience. But they were friendly every day we were there, and seemed genuinely interested in what we were up to when we left the hotel, and giving recommendations on where to go.

We also organised a 2 day Halong Bay boat tour with them with Indochina cruises. The organisation was brilliant, as we booked a package including an airport pick up (the guy was there on time waiting for us, which made it a lot easier to get to the hotel), 3 nights stay at the hotel with the trip in between and the hotel looked after our luggage while we went on the trip. The tour was fantastic, I would highly recommend it.

This hotel is such good value, it is clean and in a great location right in the heart of the old quarter and near some tasty restaurants and street food. Also we were pleasantly surprised to find free computers to use in the rooms! The breakfast was also nice, amazing really for the price you pay. You get a freshly cooked breakfast that you chose from a menu with fresh fruit and bread, smoothies and tea/coffee.

Thank you so much Hanoi Charming 2! We will definitely return if we are ever in Vietnam!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank emsb_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Lovely, friendly staff who were a pleasure to converse with. Helped us out immensely with local cuisine and areas of interest. Hotel was comfortable and clean, and very reasonably priced. Located centrally in the madness of the old quarter, we were very satisfied with all aspects of the hotel. Thanks to Danny, Mary, Sophie and the rest of the fabulous Charming 2 crew:)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Absolutely blown away! Staff were the most professional and lovely people I have had the honor of dealing with!
They were so knowledgeable and made our time in Hanio an absolute dream!

You pay for what you get in regards to rooms etc however the staff make the stay feel 5 star!
Thank you for having us guys..we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TroyMain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently with my brother. Stayed one night and liked so much that we decided to return there for two additional nights after taking our overnight tour of Halong Bay. We had a room with two twin beds. Beds were very comfortable by western standards. Shower head was a little too low for me and I'm 70 inches tall- still got the job done. WiFi free and strong throughout hotel. Fruit basket and bottled water complimentary. Noisy busy street outside the hotel but quiet in the rooms. Elevator is quick. Location is great - walking distance to many local attractions/markets/cafes/restaurants.
The staff here was most friendly and exceptionally accommodating. Service with a smile was the standard and they did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. Their travel desk gave us excellent advice and we decided to use them to book our Halong Bay cruise (they stored our unneeded suitcase/bags for us till we returned). They also advised us on other things to do and see and it was spot on advice for our interests. Breakfast was great and there was lots of variety - main dishes (eggs, fried rice or noodles, pho) was cooked to order by a great team in the rear of the restaurant. Great fresh juices were served as well. At the particular time we were there the hotel staff was celebrating the new year with a luncheon event in their restaurant. The staff all called for my brother and I to join them when we were walking back inside the hotel - we sat down, ate a few bites (we had just eaten) and joined them in a few toasts with local beer). They genuinely wanted our company and it was a really nice and welcome experience for us. Room had a safe but I believe we never needed to use it. This is a worry free hotel I'd rate as four star for this city and exceptional value for the money. Airport pickup was a breeze and made it easy to get to the hotel. They even comped my return trip to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#33 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#14 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#65 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#107 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing