We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three star hotel with five star service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #31 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
lostandwandering
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Three star hotel with five star service!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a great value hotel and we really enjoyed our stay. We had all the amenities you would expect from a three star hotel, but what really made our stay was the friendly and helpful staff. Such a difference from the downright indifference we experience when we stayed at a five star hotel in HCMC. Right from the first moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome and were treated like new friends rather than customers.

The location is perfect - close to all the major shopping areas, major attractions and good food. Would be very happy to stay here again if the occasion arose.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lostandwandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,215
    216
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
369
1,013
223
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel location is very good and hotel staff welcoming!

After arriving back from our trip to Halong Bay. We discovered a mysterious credit card transaction from a Hanoi based company called 'Holiday hotel' on our bill. The hotel staff was very helpful; they made some calls on our behalf and advised us to block the transaction.

Fortunately before we did this we traced the transaction back to the hotel we had stayed before in Hue, so we did not have to do this, but it was quite a scare! Always keep the credit card receipts!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBigTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Such a friendly welcome to Vietnam! Great location on 'Chicken Street' right in the heart of the old town and close to all main tourist sites. The rooms are good and the breakfast also very good - but the staff really make this place and are simply great. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We liked the reviews on Trip advisor and were not disappointed. The hotel is well located and the rooms were comfortable and the staff was wonderful. We are still talking about how they welcomed us on our arrival and provided our first impression of Vietnam! Mary organized our tours and we enjoyed many laughs with her during our 5 day stay. The breakfast was ordered from their menu and the many items we tried were all very tasty. We enjoyed our conversations with the staff at breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel - I cant imagine staying in a large chain hotel when you can experience Charming 2 Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillCCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

After travelling along the mekong from Huay Xai to Luang Prabang for 2 full days and one night stop over in Pak Being (which is awesome by the way, as long as you are prepared with food, drinks and early to grab a seat at the front!) and staying in really very basic accommodation, arriving to this was a very much needed blessing! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, without being too over the top and insistent of organizing every dying moment of your life, which is very much the way in Vietnam.
It is situated right in the old quarter, so while your room is wonderfully clean and tranquil, you step out right into the centre of the mental madness! It is walking distance from pretty much everything you want to see and do in Hanoi.
The inclusive breakfast is very nice - a good plate of fresh fruit, bread basket (mainly baguettes but that is Vietnam all over) and a choice of eggs & bacon, pancakes etc including a couple of asian choices. Although pancakes are not the American pancakes that northern thialand have got so right, they are more crepe like, sometimes a bit too omelette like for my liking.
All in all, I would happily recommend this hotel and stay there again when I go back to Hanoi.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shell_t84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed at the Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel in Jan. Upon arrival we were greeted with smiles and a welcome drink. Mary goes above and beyond with her happy out look and pleasantries. Soon after exploring the area and returning to the hotel we were informed by Mary that they thought i had left an envelope of money in the hotel car from the airport. I wasn't sure about this but after checking into my bag i soon realized that this was true. About $300 cdn of thai baht. That was exceptional honesty from the driver and the hotel.

The rooms are average size including a computer so wifi was never a problem. The safe was a bit tricky to use but after a lesson we figured it out. All door locks also tricky. Make sure to LOCK your patio door whenever you don't want visitors. There is a sign saying to do this when you go out but do it when you are asleep as well otherwise you might have a surprise even if you are on a high floor.

Breakfast was plentiful. Always served with a smile.

Kate the tour girl was excellent organizing our trip to Ha Long bay. The even stored our luggage over night.

The hotel is located in the old quarter, which is very busy but interesting. I had heard that crossing the road was tricky but it truly is. Mopeds everywhere. I was told that you look for an opening and then steadily walk across the street, one car rode over the back of my ankle because he misjudged my gait. Nothing serious but a rubber mark down my calf. Use caution!

A very pleasant hotel. Remember when you are traveling to always think of safety and check the locks no matter where you are.

Room Tip: Lock your doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travel624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff always offer a warm welcome and great advice for your stay in Hanoi. As I had stayed in their sister hotel in Hue, Serene Palace Hotel they upgraded my room to 401, with a balcony offering great street views.
There's a great breakfast, although staff could improve with being more intuitive with taking the used plates away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#37 of 588 in Hanoi
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#118 of 588 in Hanoi
1,309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
#15 of 588 in Hanoi
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing