We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #31 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We would like to thank all the staff at the Charming II Hotel for a truly wonderful stay.
The hotel is very comfortable and the breakfasts are amazing, but what sets this hotel apart from others is the service provided by all the staff. They really go out of their way to help you enjoy your stay. Many thanks to the whole team, Danny, Johnny, Mary, Tracy, Sophie, Kate, Diem, Thao, Manh, Tony, Vi, Trinh, Liem, Thinh. They really are amazing.
We stayed a total of 5 nights with 3 separate arrivals from tours. Each time we were warmly welcomed and made to feel special.
We can highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,215
    216
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
370
1,013
223
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Due to travel plans falling through, I was stranded in a village about 80km from Hanoi and was desperate to get back to the city. It was impossible for me to find a local taxi firm to transport me. I picked Charming 2 from the glowing reviews on TA and emailed to ask if they could accommodate me for 4 nights, and more importantly, if they could rescue me from my predicament. I had a very prompt email reply from Kate who confirmed all the arrangements, including a car to collect me the following morning at a very reasonable rate. All arrangements were made and confirmed very efficiently by email.

On arrival at the hotel, I was not disappointed. I had an Executive room which was very comfortable, and a good size, with a window for sunlight! I did not hear a peep of external noise throughout my 4 night stay.

Customer service was superb. All customer-facing staff speak very good English, and are always on hand to help with any enquiries, directions, etc. I must make special mention of both Mary and Danny, who are both outstanding ambassadors for this hotel. Mary was always ready with a cheery chat and a joke! On my second day, I succumbed to a bad tummy bug and had to spend the day in my room. I phoned down to Reception at 9pm that night to ask for extra pillows and another duvet as I was shivering from being ill. Danny was most concerned about my welfare as they had not seen me all day, and insisted on sending up a lovely juice to my room, as they knew I had not eaten all day.

It's these personal touches that make this hotel so great. You just don't get that kind of care in the big corporate chains.

My room rate was very reasonable and included breakfast, which was cooked to order from a small menu, and served with a smile.

I am giving Charming 2 a Very Good rating overall, simply because of the lack of a restaurant for evening meals. They do offer an extensive room service menu, which they collect from local restaurants. I tried this twice, and on both nights was very disappointed with my food, and most of it went uneaten. I noticed that it came from the same restaurant on both nights, so perhaps they could look into using another supplier...

However, for customer service, cleanliness, room amenities, and value for money, Charming 2 is a really excellent choice if you are looking to stay in the Old Quarter and I would be very happy to stay here again - I just suggest you eat out at dinner!

Room Tip: Go for an Executive room for a few pounds more, to get more space. Rooms at the back are really qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FizzM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambergris Caye, Belize
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I always loved visiting Asia, it never felt like i am away from home, staff is excellent and service, food are over the top. must say one of the best hotel in Asia i visited so far, Thanks for making my trip to Hanoi one of the best experience of my life time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElardPrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Myself and three other friends stayed at the Charming 2 Hotel for one night but also took up their offer to rest and shower in their rooms on two other occasions. Even though my stay was short, all I can say is that there facilities were clean and comfortable and that their service could not be faulted at all. From the very moment we arrived, we were greeted with big smiles and welcoming attitudes. Our luggage was swiftly taken to our room and the manager was there to explain all the details to us. It took us less than 5 mins between checking in and having a much needed shower. The greatest thing the hotel has to offer is the staff they employ. Every single person was extremely friendly and gave us their undivided attention when needed. Mary, in particular, was a life saver - helping us organise plane tickets when our original flights were delayed. Overall I would rate my experience at the Charming 2 Hotel 5/5 - this hotel is a gem.

Michael (Huy) Sy

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelSy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

The nicest hotel staff we came across in Vietnam and probably during our entire trip in Southeast Asia. The room was quite nice, comfortable, and was even equipped with a desktop computer. Breakfast was included and was incredible; SO BIG. Good location, waking distance from night market. Pretty much all you could ask for in a stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vegeta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for three nights total - the service from all the staff, from reception through to the restaurant was phenomenal. We were even able to leave our bags at the hotel during our trip to Ha Long Bay - on our return we found we had been upgraded to a better room at no cost! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - including providing us with breakfast at 4am before our early flight even though the kitchen was closed! Huge thanks to Johnny and his team, specifically Danny, Tony, Tracey and Vin for being so accommodating. We will be sharing our experience with our friends and family.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tazp88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great small hotel in the old Quarter of Hanoi. We had a front balcony room which l would recommend. Staff are Friendly and extremely helpful, tailors ,restaurants ,shops and site seeing spots were recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#34 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#15 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#97 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#102 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing