We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is 2 Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #33 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

As with most hotels in Hanoi, you get great value for money here. We got a great deal on what Expedia listed as a suite, room 601. The room was rather large with a balcony. I wouldn’t categorize it as luxurious by any stretch and the bathroom was small for something called a suite. The room came with nice darker wood furniture, hardwood floors, free slow wifi(faster in lobby), safe, robes, slippers, computer, dvd player, comfortable king size bed, minibar. Free water(common in most 3 star and up hotels in Vietnam), free fruit basket, and free welcome bottle of Vietnamese wine. The staff is responsible for the rating I gave this hotel. The room was pretty average, but the staff is everything you’d expect from even a 5 star resort. The entire downstairs staff made it a point to call us by name every time they saw us. I commented to my wife that the staff was almost like the staff at Disney World and she said they were even friendlier than that. Everyone took pride in their work, always worn a smile, and went out of their way to make sure everything was to our liking. We actually got one employees info to keep in touch and the manager sent us a personal email asking us how our flight home was and thanking us for staying with them. I loved the location of this hotel, it’s on a busy street a little outside the most touristy part of the old quarter. Noise was not an issue for us and we faced the street. With the old quarter being so small your still relatively close to most sights. A little closer to Ho Chi Minh and Temple of literature and a little further from the Opera House and Prison. Location is also directly across the street from the premier place to get Banh Cuon in the city. Picky hotel goers might not like slow elevator, less than freezing A/C, and shower that is a little hard to get in and out of and is impossible to keep water from getting all over floor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHFT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

868 - 874 of 2,461 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were there late April 2014 for a week punctuated by 3 days when we went to Ha Long Bay. They initially gave us a free upgrade saying that it is the honeymoon suite. My wife mentioned in passing that it is not necessary as May 1st would be our 33rd wedding anniversary. Unbeknownst to us when we returned our room was filled with balloons. Bed decorated with flower petals. My wife was handed a huge bouquet of flowers, a cake with candles lit and a bottle of wine and two grinning staff.

This level of service is above and beyond, a rarity especially when smiles are from the heart. The rooms are wonderful and the inclusive breakfast is fabulous.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeeKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Lovely lovely staff, huge breakfast, big clean rooms with free tea, coffee, fruit and water, good location. Always remember your name. Good value for the quality of service and rooms. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheerynarration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We would like to thank all the staff at the Charming II Hotel for a truly wonderful stay.
The hotel is very comfortable and the breakfasts are amazing, but what sets this hotel apart from others is the service provided by all the staff. They really go out of their way to help you enjoy your stay. Many thanks to the whole team, Danny, Johnny, Mary, Tracy, Sophie, Kate, Diem, Thao, Manh, Tony, Vi, Trinh, Liem, Thinh. They really are amazing.
We stayed a total of 5 nights with 3 separate arrivals from tours. Each time we were warmly welcomed and made to feel special.
We can highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Due to travel plans falling through, I was stranded in a village about 80km from Hanoi and was desperate to get back to the city. It was impossible for me to find a local taxi firm to transport me. I picked Charming 2 from the glowing reviews on TA and emailed to ask if they could accommodate me for 4 nights, and more importantly, if they could rescue me from my predicament. I had a very prompt email reply from Kate who confirmed all the arrangements, including a car to collect me the following morning at a very reasonable rate. All arrangements were made and confirmed very efficiently by email.

On arrival at the hotel, I was not disappointed. I had an Executive room which was very comfortable, and a good size, with a window for sunlight! I did not hear a peep of external noise throughout my 4 night stay.

Customer service was superb. All customer-facing staff speak very good English, and are always on hand to help with any enquiries, directions, etc. I must make special mention of both Mary and Danny, who are both outstanding ambassadors for this hotel. Mary was always ready with a cheery chat and a joke! On my second day, I succumbed to a bad tummy bug and had to spend the day in my room. I phoned down to Reception at 9pm that night to ask for extra pillows and another duvet as I was shivering from being ill. Danny was most concerned about my welfare as they had not seen me all day, and insisted on sending up a lovely juice to my room, as they knew I had not eaten all day.

It's these personal touches that make this hotel so great. You just don't get that kind of care in the big corporate chains.

My room rate was very reasonable and included breakfast, which was cooked to order from a small menu, and served with a smile.

I am giving Charming 2 a Very Good rating overall, simply because of the lack of a restaurant for evening meals. They do offer an extensive room service menu, which they collect from local restaurants. I tried this twice, and on both nights was very disappointed with my food, and most of it went uneaten. I noticed that it came from the same restaurant on both nights, so perhaps they could look into using another supplier...

However, for customer service, cleanliness, room amenities, and value for money, Charming 2 is a really excellent choice if you are looking to stay in the Old Quarter and I would be very happy to stay here again - I just suggest you eat out at dinner!

Room Tip: Go for an Executive room for a few pounds more, to get more space. Rooms at the back are really qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FizzM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I always loved visiting Asia, it never felt like i am away from home, staff is excellent and service, food are over the top. must say one of the best hotel in Asia i visited so far, Thanks for making my trip to Hanoi one of the best experience of my life time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElardPrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Myself and three other friends stayed at the Charming 2 Hotel for one night but also took up their offer to rest and shower in their rooms on two other occasions. Even though my stay was short, all I can say is that there facilities were clean and comfortable and that their service could not be faulted at all. From the very moment we arrived, we were greeted with big smiles and welcoming attitudes. Our luggage was swiftly taken to our room and the manager was there to explain all the details to us. It took us less than 5 mins between checking in and having a much needed shower. The greatest thing the hotel has to offer is the staff they employ. Every single person was extremely friendly and gave us their undivided attention when needed. Mary, in particular, was a life saver - helping us organise plane tickets when our original flights were delayed. Overall I would rate my experience at the Charming 2 Hotel 5/5 - this hotel is a gem.

Michael (Huy) Sy

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelSy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#28 of 600 in Hanoi
955 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#130 of 600 in Hanoi
1,319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
#12 of 600 in Hanoi
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#49 of 600 in Hanoi
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calypso Suites Hotel
Calypso Suites Hotel
#47 of 600 in Hanoi
920 reviews
0 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £26 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing