We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience I've ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #29 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel experience I've ever had”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Charming II staff were by far the friendliest and most outgoing hotel staff I've ever seen. They accommodated all of our needs and did so with a smile. We were so impressed with their customer service. Linda was so friendly and helped us to book our overnight train to Sapa and even bartered down the price. Danny spent 10 minutes showing us where the best places were to eat around the hotel. Service was so good, great location in the old district, and the room/food was nice too. Highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,215
    216
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
369
1,014
223
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

From being greeted at the airport by a friendly driver to the end of our stay we enjoyed every minute of our experience at this hotel. It's not the Four Seasons, but at thirty dollars a night for a double, it was miles better than we ever imagined. We booked two rooms as we were traveling with our, now adult, daughter. The staff was so warm and helpful they made us feel at home right away. Maps, restaurant suggestions, places to see, tips to avoid the travel pitfalls of a teaming city were all appreciated as were the fruits and bottles of water in the rooms. We had a room with nothing but a view of an air shaft. Our daughters room was sunnier and from peaking in the other rooms some had pretty balconies. Never the less, our room was clean and quiet, a nice respite from the activity of the street.

Breakfasts which were also included in the room price ranged from western style offerings to the traditional Vietnamese fare of pho or other noodle dishes. The dining room is open and attractive on the ground floor.

Charming 2 is located in the heart of the old quarter which is then within walking distance of major attractions and a panoply of shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for the type of room you want, if a view is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHVPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I'm not sure what's up with Jessi0951 below, as her review is absolutely at odds with my experience of the Charming 2. I stayed three times at the Charming 2 in May, between trips to Halong Bay and Hoi An. I didn't see a single bug of any description in the spotless rooms and, having got back late a few times, nor do the staff sleep in the lobby. The night manager sits at the desk in the lobby, in his shirt and trousers, as you might expect.

Aaanyway, on to my review. Charming 2 is a great little hotel which I would highly recommend to anyone. We stayed in one of the suites at the front of the hotel, which was very clean, quiet, modern and spacious, with good airconditioning. The hotel is well located in Hanoi's bustling old quarter, a short walk to numerous bars and restaurants, and a short and inexpensive taxi ride to any of the other sights of Hanoi. The wifi works well, the minibar is reasonably priced, and you can get your laundry done for next-to-nothing (all firsts in my experience). But the nicest thing about the Charming 2 is the people who work there. All the staff are charming, gracious and extremely helpful - just one example, they arranged train sleeper tickets down to Da Nang for us, and even sent one of their guys along behind our taxi on a scooter to make sure we got on the right train and carriage. We had a great experience at the Charming 2, and won't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Suite 501 is nice, with a balcony where you can watch the world go past below. Not noisy either, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

While I will agree that the service is pretty great, I had an AWFUL experience at Hanoi Charming 2. On my birthday we flew from Ho Chi Minh to Hanoi, and had the hotel car pick us up. This was pretty convenient since the drive from the airport was fairly long.
My friend had contacted the hotel ahead of time to arrange something for my birthday, and when we arrived in the room it was nicely decorated, had a cake, flowers, and a bottle of red wine waiting for us. I had seen a few ants crawling on the table where the cake was sitting, I figured that was normal... so I moved the cake to the nightstand between the two beds. Exhausted from the day of travel we took a short nap and woke up to ants swarming the nightstand, all over the cake, and even a few on the beds! I called the front desk, asked for a new room, they obliged, and we moved our stuff. This is when the real fun started!

In the new room we saw a few bugs here and there but didn't think much about it, and headed out to find a place to eat. This proved harder than we thought because on a Wednesday night, nearly everything near this hotel closes down early! We arrived back (to get to the elevator we had to walk over the hotel staff who were sleeping in their boxers on a mattress on the lobby floor - RED FLAG number one!), showered, and got ready for bed. When we came back to the room we saw a few more bugs of various types and sizes and discussed the fact that we would get another hotel tomorrow. After shutting the lights off and crawling into bed I needed something from the nightstand. My friend reached over for the light and accidentally moved the phone and TONS of little bugs came crawling out - I'm almost positive they were BED BUGS! After getting everything up off the floor we went through our luggage and found TWO MORE bugs inside our suitcases! Large bugs kept appearing in the bathroom as well! It's about 4AM now, and even more exhausted from no sleep I decided to just deal with it and sleep on the bed with no blanket. I walked over to my suitcase to get my scarf out, and that's when I saw a giant cockroach on the wall! That was the final straw... we packed up our stuff and left!

We had to wake up the sleeping staff on the lobby floor and awkwardly wait as they put their clothes back on. The manager ended up refunding the money I paid for the room, but when we said we were going to write a review on TripAdvisor (because people have to know about this problem!) he specifically asked us not to because he refunded the money and then asked for the name of the hotel we were going to so he could come talk to us later! I said no, thank you and left as fast as I could!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jessi0951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MinhHanoi, Manager at Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Jessi0951
Thank you very much for your choosing out hotel to stay in Hanoi.
On your birthday occasion ,we just wanted to organize a small thing which make you happiest but unluckily and beyond our imagination that the ant came.We have never crossed this situation before and we also do not know from where they came.
We would like to send you our deep apology for what happpened and promise to check everything the most carefully to avoid the same thing happen
Once again, thank you very much for selecting our Charming 2 for your stay. We can assure you that our staff will continue on our mission to deliver the best service.
We look forward to seeing in the future.
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our experience here was an amazing one. My boyfriend and I enjoyed the comforts of the great air conditioned room with its clean facilities. Room was massive with a balcony. What we loved best was the great service they provided, the front reception staff mary and danny were great friendly people who helped us with booking tours taxis and giving us directions! they even upgraded us to a honeymoon suite!

Will definitely come back again very soon

Cheryl and Sungho

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed with my 12 years old son in this hotel for 4 nights.

It is well located in the old city. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

Service was fantastic. Each time we entered the hotel they greeted us warmly at the receptions and couple of times they even offered us free freshly squeezed juices.

When we returned from Sapa on the very early morning train they let us check in immediately to the room, at no extra charge.

Exceptional was Ms. Linda Nguyen, which helped us with every arrangement/question and is always full of positive energy.

An added bonus was the DVD player in the room - when it was too hot outside we simply bought some movies and stayed in the air conditioned room :)

Thank you hotel Charming 2!

Rami

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ramiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had 3 stays in this hotel and each time only got better.The staff at the hotel were exceedingly friendly, treating us as if we were members of their family. This applied to all staff members but especially the reception staff.They bent over backwards to assist us even making a room available to us gratis whilst we transited between the train station and airport. The hotel is well located with lots of good restaurants nearby. Rooms were very comfortable and allowed for a quiet nights sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. There is no pool so forget about the rating for the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rblosfelds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#33 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#14 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#65 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#107 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing