We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hotel of the trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #31 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Favorite hotel of the trip”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I loved everything about the Hotel Charming II. The rooms are clean, comfortable and up-to-date, the breakfasts are amazing, and as other reviews have mentioned, the staff is incredible. Mary helped me through a lost-luggage crisis and was unbelievably patient when my jet-lagged brain could not figure out the hotel safe. The entire staff was quick to help with trip details or hail a cab; at one point the doorman saw that I was having trouble crossing the street (so many motorbikes) and actually came to my aid. I felt very comfortable here as a solo female traveler. The location is also solid. The hotel is quiet and cool, but step out the door and you're in the middle of the old quarter and right around the corner from all the shops. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cailin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,215
    216
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
369
1,013
223
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The staff here made our stay incredibly comfortable, despite the worst circumstances! When my travelling buddy became ill and we had to cancel our trip to Ha Long Bay, the staff helped us to negotiate with the tour company to get a refund and provided us with translated instructions for the pharmacy! We needed to stay another night in Hanoi and although they were fully booked, they arranged a comparable room for us at their sister hotel, paid for taxis between the two and even sent one of their porters with us in the cab to ensure we got there ok. The staff at the sister hotel (Holidays Hotel) were great too. It was the best service we could have hoped for and meant that what could have ruined our holiday, didn't! We can't wait to stay here again when we reschedule our Ha Long Bay trip!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Charming II for a total of 3 nights either side of a trip to Halong Bay. My girlfriend and I have travelled extensively round this part of the world but rarely have we come across such brilliant hospitality, especially at this price. Linda, Johnny and the rest of the team are extremely accommodating and full of suggestions of where to go and what to do. Anything you have in mind they will arrange for you. The staff are genuinely interested in your opinion. Linda was brilliant at sorting out our trip to Halong bay and had a wide range of cost options for every budget. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped and the location of the hotel is close enough to the main action of the Old Quarter but still ensures a restful night's sleep. We stayed on the 5th and 6th floors and had absolutely no problem getting to sleep. We even received a free upgrade when we got back from Halong bay! The breakfast is great too. We couldn't have wished for more. Will definitely recommend to my friends and family. BRILLIANT!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oliver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We only stayed at Charming 2 for one night, but it was a really great experience and a nice respite from the chaos of Hanoi. The location of the hotel is great, and a taxi from the hotel to pretty much anywhere in the Old Quarter is less than 40,000 VND.

The rooms are small (= easier to air condition) but comfortable. Our bed was great and the aircon worked well. There was a good selection of DVDs if you're into that, and there was a computer in our room which was nice.

The staff are excellent. We primarily interacted with Mary, who was really friendly and attentive. Everyone on staff was enthusiastic about making our stay pleasant, even packing up a breakfast to-go when we had to leave for the airport at 5:30 AM.

I would definitely recommend Charming 2 Hotel to anyone in Hanoi; I'm sure we'll look them up if we ever find ourselves back in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amigobarba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I absolutely loved my stay at Charming 2 Hotel for many reasons.

First of all, the hotel is well located, basically in the old town, and a 10 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. There's plenty of good restaurants within a walking distance, such as Bun Bo Nam Bo, which is one of my favorite restaurants in Hanoi.

Secondly, the rooms are spacious and clean and the beds are comfy.

Furthermore, the breakfasts are quite tasty, particularly the omelets.

The best part about Charming 2, however, is its staff. Everyone tries their best to do anything you might possibly need, and they do it with great enthusiasm and smile on their faces, without ever being fake. They help me tremendously with my visa arrangements, with booking train tickets, and so much more... Mary showed me some great local eateries and shops and recommended great places to buy silk and lanterns.

I only have words of praise for Charming 2. Its 5-star service sets the bar very high. I will be back every time I will return to Hanoi.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemaitr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I've been to Hanoi many times and have stayed at different hotels ranging from very cheap to expensive ones. My last trip to Hanoi, I stayed at Charming Hotel II for 3 nights and my stay at this hotel was very different from the previous ones. What makes the difference at Charming Hotel II is all about the hotel staff, services and rooms. The hotel staffs are very nice and friendly. They all speak English very well and are ready to help. The room is very nice and clean though with no windows (the one I stayed), the bathroom is very clean. My overall impression with this hotel is very good. I'll certainly stay at this hotel again for my next trips to Hanoi.

Room Tip: Difficult to say but the room I stayed 602 is my ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C. I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have to share this even though I've already reviewed this hotel. When my wife and I were leaving for a trip in Halong Bay, I realized I lost a new camera card (at 7am). I mentioned it to the man at the front desk, who took it upon himself to summons someone to take my old card (which made me real nervous) and my money, go find the card, and meet us along the way as the van we were in moved from hotel to hotel picking up people. At the third hotel, a motorbike pulled up, a young man got off with my new card, my change and my receipt. I actually had to chase him down to give him the much deserved tip. This hotel is exceptional and they truly do everything within their power to make your stay as effortless as is possible. It's location is in the heart of the city, and the staff is absolutely amazing.

Room Tip: Our room was beautiful. One night we stayed on the street side and there was no issue sleeping. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#36 of 588 in Hanoi
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#115 of 588 in Hanoi
1,310 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#23 of 588 in Hanoi
909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing