We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Diamond Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanoi Diamond Hotel
Ranked #289 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommend! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. The staff were the most welcoming staff we've met and went out of their way for anything we asked. We originally had one night booked, but ended up staying 3. Breakfast was amazing! Highly recommend the hotel for guests who would like a luxury hotel with a budget in mind

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Prudence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at the Hanoi Holiday Diamond for 1 night and highly recommend the hotel and its friendly, accommodating staff. The hotel kindly allowed us a *very* early check in after we arrived in Hanoi off the night train from Sapa (I requested this at the last minute with Nancy via email and everything was organsied perfectly).The bell boys were there to unlock to hotel doors and we were checked in and asleep in our bed within 10 minutes of arrival. Later that morning we met Nancy; she remembered me from email and was quick to check if everything had gone okay. The room was great - clean, modern, spacious and with a large comfortable bed. Our room didn't contain a window, which was fine for 1 night but if you're staying longer you might want to request a window! The bathroom was clean and spacious, with fresh flowers on the vanity. We felt very welcomed. The only thing that might have let the room down was the computer station which could do with some updating - or was probably not necessary and could be replaced with a bench to stow your bags. Breakfast at the hotel was lovely and made hot and fresh to order. One of the lovely receptionists asked us our plans for the day and highlighted the popular options on a map including some food recommendations (which proved themselves later!) The hotel is situated in the old quarter amidst all the action and a great starting point for exploring the town on foot or cyclo. Every staff member we encountered throughout our stay was extremely friendly, happy and attentive and this went a long way to making our short stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: Our room didn't contain a window, which was fine for the one night that we were there, but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus_F_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel based on good reviews. But the location was far from the main shopping areas like hang Bac, hang gai, very inconvenient if you like to do shopping around. The rooms were very clean even decorated with flowers on bed to welcome your arrivals. But I could not sleep for the few nights I stayed there as the beds was so small (only 1m?), once you turn, you could either fall from bed or touched the cold wall next to the bed. The room was so small that aircond was blowing directly on my face, I needed to cover my face with blanket to avoid getting numbness from air-cond. However, the hotel service was really five star service, from housekeeping to frontdesk to restaurant staff, all service with a smile and they greet you everyday. The breakfast provided had very limited choice, we ended up eating the same boring food everyday. They don't even serve the French loaf/vietnamese bread or rice rolls. They only served vietnamese noodles and some pancake, fried eggs, fruits. The freshly made fruit juice was very good.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with window and away from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xiamen, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

For a 12$ room in Hanoi, you would expect most things to be all right.
After trying to charge us 15$ for their room with "internet", which we bargained down at 12$, we found out internet was not working. They pretended to not know about it. Then they promised continous very hot water, while we only could get 10 mins just warm water at a time while taking a shower. Barely any airflow in the bathroom so it stays wet all the time in winter.
They forgot to put clean towels in the room, and when asked, the staff answered "no more clean towels for tonight" (9pm). That was a first for us to hear that !!! Had to insist more to eventually get clean towels that magically appeared in a closet.
The room was kind of nice, but with two large windows on the street, it was cold (no a/c) and noisy.
While checking out and paying in vietnamese Dong, staff raised up the dollar value and tried to charge a few thousand more dong.
The good: not so expensive when you bargain hard.
The worst: Unfriendly, dishonest staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guiyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Before going there, we sent email to the hotel to double check whether the room is available (although already confirmed by booking.com) and the reply from hotel was YES! However, when we arrived the hotel at late night, the staff told us our booking room was under renovation and need transfer to another hotel. We can only accept because of that we were very tired, time is LATE and we need to get up early for Ha Long trip on the following day. That is the start of NIGHTMARE! The room we stayed in that temporary hotel is very smelly, dirty and noisy! we can not sleep at all for whole night!!

We came back to this hotel on the following day and found the facilities were also poor, the water heater can not work, no table in the room and the platform in washroom is broken. The breakfast is also not good.

To be honest, the location of this hotel is good. And the staff is Ok except lying for room availability and admitted their fault after we complained when checked out.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Hong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

No frill room but very nice and in the heart of the old town! Construction outside but no real bother. Last day we got moved to another hotel because the construction site would be working all night. Very good service by the hotel. Can only recommend!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longleggeddwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed at the Hanoi Diamond Hotel after reading good reviews on tripadvisor. Our first stay was in room 205, and was fairly quiet in the evening. We paid $12 including breakfast (baguette and jam and tea/coffee) for a nice ensuite room, which had a very comfortable bed and apart from a leaky bathroom was excellent value. Construction at the building site next door stopped. At around 7 and didn't start till after 6 the next morning.

When we returned to Hanoi we stayed again, but unfortunately this time it wasn't so great. We were put in room 306 which had a horrible smell and the tv did not work properly. After we requested another room, after some debate, they agreed to put us in a more expensive room ($15), number 306. Unfortunately this one fronts on to not one but two construction sites next door. We may as well have asked to sleep there as the noise was incredible, all through the including driving piles which shook the building. Not much sleep to be had here - at least in the street facing room (and perhaps during the week assuming the builders stop at night on the weekend).

When the construction is finished this will be a quiet, restful hotel. However unless you are a superhuman sleeper I recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholaslaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.0 mi away
Prince 1 Hotel Hanoi
Prince 1 Hotel Hanoi
#308 of 578 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Elite Hotel
Hanoi Elite Hotel
#5 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Diamond Hotel

Property: Hanoi Diamond Hotel
Address: N0 9 hai tuong-Ta Hien, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Number of rooms: 42

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing