We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa(Hanoi)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (809)
Filter reviews
809 results
Traveller rating
301
319
132
35
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
319
132
35
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold quartergreat locationhoan kiem lakehalong bayrooftop poolhanoi visitfree wifiwater puppet theatrebuffet breakfasthotel is locatedtravel agentroom was largenight marketcomfortable roomstop floorbooked this hotelstayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
405 - 410 of 809 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were overwhelmed with options when it came to booking a place to stay in Hanoi for our city break and ended up at the May De Ville based on location and what we thought would be 'mid range' given the price. As per the title upon arrival at the glitzy entrance we were hopeful that our premium double..with balcony would be a peaceful retreat after busy days sightseeing..we were wrong. There was no natural light in our room and if balcony means being able to open the window to look into another room then I stand corrected. The room smelt damp and was tiny.
06:30 Saturday morning the drilling work next door started. Whilst we enjoy an early start this was not what we hoped for. Upon asking to move rooms we were told almost immediately this would be no problem..we returned from a day out to find not only were we still in the same room we were given a key to another room that was occupied by guests!
Don't get me wrong the staff were trying to be helpful but there is a real need for some staff training in order to improve the guest experience at a hotel that I can only summarise as disappointing and overpriced.sorry

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauraroscoe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

For a new hotel its terrible - slung together with the worst construction I have seen for some time.
The glassed bathroom - shows the back of the wardrobe and all the wiring - very nice the supposedly floor was like crazy paving all broken tiles. Discolored silicone sealer and lots of mold.

Some metal partition in the bathroom that looks like a blocked off window - with blind ??? and the towel hanger stuck on it- so the blind wont work. The sink if fixed by a few screws and will fall down - shower door nearly off its hinges - and was never straight - its rather pathetic- staff are nice though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maydevillehotel, General Manager at May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear alan b,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.com

The full details of your feedback was shared with our Executive Team and actions will be taken to improve the heating and the glassed bathrooms and bathroom facilities in the guest room.

We are regretful for the shortfall in our facilities as it is not what we aim to deliver to our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay. There is fantastic staff. Good breaky. Excellent value. Close to the fountain and lake. The 8th floor can only be accessed from the 7th floor. There is construction next door. We would go back there.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bulalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maydevillehotel, General Manager at May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Bulalisa,

I thank you very much for your positive feedback. It is always a pleasure for us to hear satisfied guests as we genuinely love to look after them.

We then look forward to welcoming you back soon.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Great location. Walking distance to Lake and a lot of shops and eateries. Very friendly staff who are helpful and speak English well.
Rooms were very adequate size with nicely renovated bathroom.
Only down side current renovations going on at the moment so construction noises but only during the day when we've been out and about anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrewstephg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maydevillehotel, General Manager at May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Andrewstephg,

We would like to thank you for sharing this wonderful review regarding your stay at the May De Ville Old Quarter.

It is an absolute pleasure to read your lovely words about our location, our guest room and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel offers excellent location and friendly staff. I came here with a friend and we felt safe and comfortable. We were able to walk everywhere although taxis were readily available if you wanted.

The only downfall of this hotel was the food. The buffet breakfast wasn't very nice.

I would recommend doing the cooking class across from the hotel (called 96 restaurant), it is an excellent way to experience another side of Vietnamese culture.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank youngexplorer92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maydevillehotel, General Manager at May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear youngexplorer92,

I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel during your trip in our country.

Your comment on the breakfast is well noted and we will have it reviewed with our team.

Again thank you for your constructive feedback and We hope that you will present us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews