We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel to explore Old Quarter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
Ranked #107 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good hotel to explore Old Quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We found this hotel was the perfect place to base ourselves to explore the Old Quarter of Hanoi and was within easy walking distance from other major attractions. We would recommend the New Day restaurant if you wish to taste some of the best food in the Old Quarter, the staff will always be able to find you a spot at a table even if you have share with the locals and the price very reasonable.

Our hotel room was comfortable and well-appointed our room faced the main street every morning we enjoyed opening our window and watching the daily life of Hanoi unfolded below – bikes, street vendors and shop owners setting up for the day as well as listening to the the daily news of the day being broadcast from speakers in the Old Quarter.

The hotel was undergoing renovations which meant that some common areas in the hotel were not completed. The breakfast was very basic and choice was limited but adequate. There was no swimming pool which would have been a welcome reprieve at the end of a long hot day. We would stay at this hotel again the staff was always helpful which made our stay enjoyable and memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    236
    98
    29
    15
See reviews for
94
264
57
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent mid to high range accommodation in Hanoi. Good location, very comfortable and well air conditioned rooms.

Breakfast was fine.

All the staff were very warm and attentive. Particular thanks to Anh at the front desk was fantastic - lots of great suggestions.

Also got upgraded to the deluxe suite which was divine! Thanks for that.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ShannonKendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The best one can say is that the hotel is really well located for exploring the old quarter and is in easy walking distance to the lake and French quarter etc.
Staff were courteous and helpful and really tried to be welcoming.
The hotel is undergoing renovations and it's obviously a work in progress - rooms seemed to be partially complete, pool area & gym were unavailable. We had some amusing moments in 2 different rooms e.g. bathroom window in place but not properly fixed so you you could pull/push open from either side (we hoped being several floors up would make breaking in a bit tricky), king beds but only one bedside table/lamp etc (toss up for who can read!), room safe on wardrobe floor (not easy - almost have to lie down to see) & we discovered whilst you could surely lock your valuables away, you could also pick up the whole jolly thing and walk away with it as the anchor bolts were sitting inside their packet in the safe!
The breakfast was pretty basic but enough to sustain.
We probably wouldn't choose to stay there on a return trip to Hanoi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AandJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed 3 nights and then returned after a week trekking for another 2 nights. The location is perfect. The staff really helpful and service excellent. Rooms comfortable and clean. Wi-Fi works on all floors. Good variety for breakfast. Even had my favorite breakfast cereal!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannevirke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our first experience in Vietnam and it was a really good hotel - very nice room, very friendly and helpful staff. Very close to Ho Kiem Lake and in the midst of the hectic pace of Ha Noi. Very adequate breakfast. No complaints - good value, clean and tidy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B0nes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. Location is unbeatable. In the old quater, 100 meter from Ho Kiem lake. The rooms are nice, the breakfast is good, the staff is friendly, good and fast internet in the room. Nothing to complain!
Recommended!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank twofinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights, couldn't ask for a better hotel. The staff was great and very helpful with things to do & recommend. Got picked up from airport & dropped off. Located in the heart of Old Quarter, the hotel was close to the shop and restaurant. We had fun discovering Vietnamese culture. Booked the tour to Ha Long Bay and Sapa through the hotel staff and both were extremely good. Great place to stay at a reasonable cost. Highly recommend!!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MuscatLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#77 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#86 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Lotus Luxury Hotel
Golden Lotus Luxury Hotel
#134 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#83 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#63 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel

Property: May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
Address: 43 Gia Ngu St, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at one of the most crowded streets in the Old Quarter, within walking distance of the central business district and major local attractions, May de Ville Hotel experiences both the modern, high-speed urban lifestyle as well as the unique, charming and impeccable elegance of Hanoi. Features include nearly 96 well-appointed rooms with city view, IDD telephone, air-conditioning, LCD televisions, etc. Modern and cozy bathrooms with bathtubs or showers, hair-dryers and accessories are freely provided. For international travelers, May de Ville Hotel with the helpful and friendly staff is more than a luxury hotel - it's somewhere that will make you feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing