We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
Ranked #236 of 606 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Was greeted by a gigantic Christmas tree in the middle of the lobby, can't believe anyone is still celebrating Christmas in March. Got a room on the 25th floor. The room was average, decor looks a little old, but bed was comfy. There are limited English TV channels, internet connection was okay. Breakfast was average, your usual spread other than a section serving Korean food. It's not near town, roughly a 20-30 minutes taxi ride to the Old Quarters.

The staff's command of English is not too good, so go very slow when speaking to them. For those who needs to satisfy their carving for Pho, you can try asking for directions to Pho 10 Ly Quoc Su. That was one of the nicest Pho I've ever tried IMHO, within a 10-15 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlsmqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is without doubt a classy hotel and has an impressive range of function rooms ideal for Buisness and other functions, in fact the week I was there the hotel hosted the launch of the Samsung Galaxy S4 mobile phone.

This hotel has one of the best gyms I have ever come across with a very good range top quality equipment and even a 30metre running track in the gym itself. The swimming pool is also excellent.

This is a top class hotel with 5 restaurants serving Japanese, Chinese, Korean, European and Vietnamese food.
Rooms are spacious and well appointed with both a bath and a seperate shower.

I was a little dissapointed with the variety on the menu of the Vietnamese restaurant, I was expecting it to showcase the finest of Vietnamese food but it fell well short.
One other niggle was the lack of power points in the room only 1 on the desk and 1 on the wall away from the bed. I need to charge my phone each night (yes I know its my fault for having a Blackberry) and it serves as my alarm clock. And with a Laptop, tablet PC, sports watch, electric tooth brush all needing charging, 2 sockets were just not enough. This lack of sockets was also evident in the lobby seating area with only 2 sockets in the whole area which seats over 100 and I saw several people with laptops hunting in vain for a socket.

So the trick is to go accross the road to the BigC supermarket and spend $2.50 on an extension lead with multiple sockets. And while you are in the BigC go to the top floor and have some authentic Vietnamese food for a tenth of the cost in the Hotel.

Would I stay here again - Yes without any problem its a good hotel.

Room Tip: Obviously the higher the room the better the view. Standard Guest rooms range from the 5th to the 28...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Im-away-again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I was wery satisfied. Room was large, fully equiped,as well as bathroom. Many warious meals was offered for breakfast. Supermarket Big C is on the oposit corner, bars, restaurants, shops are on the road to downtonw.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This is an "okay" hotel. The room is very spacious with impressive toilet and bath. But overall, the decoration is dated, the carpet is musty, and the smell is reminiscent of cigarette smoke that obstinately clings to the floor, walls and curtains (although I am staying in a non-smoking room). I am surprised to read that this is a fairly new hotel because it looks old.

The gym and pool are great. Spa services are also good at reasonable prices. However, the lady masseuse was quite indiscreet, openly asking for more tip even when I already gave her more than 10% of the spa services I received (I had two-hour massage with facial). She said, "oohhh, too small! You do not receive salary while you are here?" I thought that was rude. The breakfast buffet is okay with international choices; albeit there is very limited selection on each cuisine. The noodles do not seem fresh, strongly reminding me of instant noodles.

The function rooms are large but sound system not so good. I hated that smoking is allowed and the designated smoking area is by the elevators!

Overall, the hotel deserves an average rating. The positive factors are thefriendly staff, spacious rooms, lobby,and function rooms. Negative factors are dated look, musty smell, and mediocre food.

Room Tip: I had the 22nd floor and didn't hear any of the noise from the club in the basement that some tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJChiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This is a new hotel not in the downtown area but very good value. Breakfast at the hotel is a full buffet with both local and international food with very wide selection. There is a new shopping mall connected to the hotel with entrance about 50 meters from the hotel. On the second floor of the mall there is a small convenient store. On the 3rd floor there is a food court. I understand that there is a superstore, Big "C", within walking distance, but I did not go.

Room Tip: Hgh level rooms are very quiet. Deluxe room is equipped with a small kitchen with microwave and ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edatmpaBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

this hotel is large, expensive and lacking of trees. However, the room is nice, services are good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrchidNgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Other 5* hotel in downtown Hanoi cost more than $200, Grand just $100, it's take 30 minutes taxi $7 from hotel to downtown. I stay here 2 nights, love this hotel, will stay again. Room size very big with hardwood floor, comfortable bed, sofa, nice view......etc. Bath room with separate tube shower, marble decor wall and floor. Buffet breakfast provide many kind of food for choice, I spent one and half hours to enjoy breakfast each day. Do your best to try all kind of the food in breakfast, all are very tasty. 2 indoor swimming pools, one with 3 different strong massage jet to ease your muscle , water bicycle, and other water exercise tool are fashion for everyone to try. Huge gym room (really huge). Hot tube, steam room, golf practice screen room. Free wi-fi in lobby only.
The major guests source of this hotel are from Asia group tours. All staff are very friendly, every staff try to do their best to serve you, but someone may lack of smile face.
Overall this hotel is much worth of the money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamChuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza West Hanoi
Crowne Plaza West Hanoi
#89 of 606 in Hanoi
477 reviews
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
4 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#80 of 606 in Hanoi
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pullman Hanoi
Pullman Hanoi
#102 of 606 in Hanoi
693 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
3.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#77 of 606 in Hanoi
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel

Address: Tran Duy Hung Street, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 606 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £74 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing