We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hanoi favourite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
Ranked #225 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

if your staying in hanoi, this is perfect....staff are wonderful, attentive,understanding, just lovely, at breakfast each morning I would order an omette with everything on it ...on the third day I walked up to order my omette and it was handed to me with a smile, he remembered.....all of the staff are great, you never hear of the resturant or kitchen staff......we done the food was delicious...we stayed here for a wedding ...held at the hotel, it too was fab and the door men, exceptional,,,,thankyou for making my stay and the wedding party from aussie a great one,,,others guest, young one talked of the niteclub attached to the hotel, comes with dancing biniki clad girls in cages,,,all above board, just quirky and fun,,,opens all hours...go there ,,,,enjoy ...we did....thankyou Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel...well done xxxx

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22jenny22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

Fine hotel for any business traveler in Hanoi . very spacious and clean rooms . Have stayed here 2-3 times always comfortable. Nice swimming pool , Jacuzzi . The staff was friendly . You also have a club in the basement playing good music with many people on friday nite...

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Sherry220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A perfectly fine hotel for business travelers or others visiting this area of Hanoi. Given that our meetings were very nearby, I found little to complain about during my visit. The staff was friendly. The rooms were spacious, clean, and well-equipped. The main restaurant offered a wide variety of high quality dishes. And the gym/health club was, like the rooms, spacious and outfitted with state-of-the-art equipment. Built by a Korean company (the first 2-3 channels on in-room TV are Korean-language) it's obvious that very little expense was spared in building and outfitting this hotel. Everything I like to see in a room wad provided for, right down to the shoe horn hanging in the closet.

What the hotel lacks is guests - at least, it did during my visit in Aug 2013. Perhaps it was off-season, and the tourists will appear by the bus-load when the heat abates, later in the year. Perhaps it was the relatively distant proximity to the city itself. Perhaps a bit of both.

Regardless, if you're a business traveler with meetings in that part of the city, you can do far worse for under $100. If you're a tourist traveling independently, try something closer to the city centre.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank ironrooster73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

On August 2, my team and I selected your hotel for our business trip to Hanoi for several reasons: 1) a five-star hotel assumed excellent and efficient services, 2) utilities such as internet service, etc… are reliable, 3)proximity to our vendor’s office. Although overall, the hotel met expectations, at check out, the hotel tried to charge us for 2 nights although we have only stayed for one night – the one night that is not happening yet. The hotel blamed booking.com for the paperwork error and refused to charge us fairly. When I requested Hien, the receptionist servicing us, to speak to a manager, she refused to address me and even said that she will not speak to me and will only address my employee. We were in a rush for our next meeting, the manager was never called although we repeatedly requested this, and we ended up paying for 2 nights.
To settle this quickly, we even offered to pay the commission that the hotel was paying booking.com in exchange for the one night that we did not stay in and the hotel refused. It seems that aside from the aggressive marketing that the hotel has spent, there were little booking that day and the receptionist was trying to trick us into paying what we did not spend. This is a behavior that I would see from mediocre hotels of 1 – 2 stars, where they are going through financial problems and trying to offset the expense regardless of ruining the customer experience, but I am very surprised to see this behavior from a junior staff working at a 5 star hotel.
When I told Hien that if she does not charge us fairly, we will post our experience on the social media channel, all travel sites, so that other customers do not have to deal with the same experience. Her response was – go ahead, do it.
I understand that this is a new establishment and it might take awhile to get the operation to operate in a 5-star manners. While other services such as Le Jardin restaurant offered excellent services, this horrible, sexist experience encountered was a big surprise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XuanHuong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This is a massive block of a hotel, huge and without any character. With an entrance lobby the size of a football pitch. The modern rooms though are large, comfortable and pleasant enough, and my room on the 26th floor had a good view over the suburbs of Hanoi. The bathroom was especially nice. The main purpose of the hotel seems to be to take in large tour groups from the region, but I was there on business and found the facilities in the room pretty good. the Wi-Fi was excellent. One of the worst things about the hotel was the dreadful, always empty restaurants. After the first night, you realise that you have to eat out. Next trip, I shall be looking for a hotel that better reflects the character of Hanoi.

Room Tip: The higher in the tower block, the better the view
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Was greeted by a gigantic Christmas tree in the middle of the lobby, can't believe anyone is still celebrating Christmas in March. Got a room on the 25th floor. The room was average, decor looks a little old, but bed was comfy. There are limited English TV channels, internet connection was okay. Breakfast was average, your usual spread other than a section serving Korean food. It's not near town, roughly a 20-30 minutes taxi ride to the Old Quarters.

The staff's command of English is not too good, so go very slow when speaking to them. For those who needs to satisfy their carving for Pho, you can try asking for directions to Pho 10 Ly Quoc Su. That was one of the nicest Pho I've ever tried IMHO, within a 10-15 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlsmqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is without doubt a classy hotel and has an impressive range of function rooms ideal for Buisness and other functions, in fact the week I was there the hotel hosted the launch of the Samsung Galaxy S4 mobile phone.

This hotel has one of the best gyms I have ever come across with a very good range top quality equipment and even a 30metre running track in the gym itself. The swimming pool is also excellent.

This is a top class hotel with 5 restaurants serving Japanese, Chinese, Korean, European and Vietnamese food.
Rooms are spacious and well appointed with both a bath and a seperate shower.

I was a little dissapointed with the variety on the menu of the Vietnamese restaurant, I was expecting it to showcase the finest of Vietnamese food but it fell well short.
One other niggle was the lack of power points in the room only 1 on the desk and 1 on the wall away from the bed. I need to charge my phone each night (yes I know its my fault for having a Blackberry) and it serves as my alarm clock. And with a Laptop, tablet PC, sports watch, electric tooth brush all needing charging, 2 sockets were just not enough. This lack of sockets was also evident in the lobby seating area with only 2 sockets in the whole area which seats over 100 and I saw several people with laptops hunting in vain for a socket.

So the trick is to go accross the road to the BigC supermarket and spend $2.50 on an extension lead with multiple sockets. And while you are in the BigC go to the top floor and have some authentic Vietnamese food for a tenth of the cost in the Hotel.

Would I stay here again - Yes without any problem its a good hotel.

Room Tip: Obviously the higher the room the better the view. Standard Guest rooms range from the 5th to the 28...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Im-away-again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza West Hanoi
Crowne Plaza West Hanoi
#85 of 598 in Hanoi
453 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hanoi Daewoo Hotel
Hanoi Daewoo Hotel
#107 of 598 in Hanoi
391 reviews
3.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#69 of 598 in Hanoi
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pullman Hanoi
Pullman Hanoi
#101 of 598 in Hanoi
645 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel

Address: Tran Duy Hung Street, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £73 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing