We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but needs work on service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
Ranked #206 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Clean but needs work on service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

A big, roomy, clean, business hotel, in the Korean part of Hanoi, with luxury aspirations attracting a lot of Korean business types who probably don't care about any additional upgrades. Seems understaffed and service slightly above average but needing more training to make the next level. Buffets are tasty and plentiful. Location in the newer part of Hanoi makes for a long ride at rush hour. Shopping center next door was incomplete.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4masei5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    45
    22
    3
    8
See reviews for
6
4
9
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is new hotel that belong to Korean Owner. The reception and operator is so nice and friendly. Especially, the operator name Hung is super helpful and friend with his hospitality. The equipment is not deluxe as I respected. The amenity is at the under average. The location is not near by the center. It take around 30 to get to Old Quarter.

Room Tip: If you are backpacker, it is better to get a dorm at the downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Halbert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is above-average good in terms of room, the food and facilities are very very good indeed, but the location very remote from town. So it was quite hard to come up with a composite rank ... average seemed a bit mean, but very good might be a bit too generous.

Check-in experience, staff etc. - I would say average for a good hotel. Perfectly pleasant and efficient, but nothing out of the ordinary.

Rooms (including conference rooms) - quite bizarre, but well-equipped. The hotel is decorated in a "courtesan's boudoir" style - i.e. lots of gold paint, silky fabric, furniture with clawed feet, and totally over-the-top glitz. My (large double) bed was on a pedestal. The conference room had a baroque mural painted on the ceiling with clouds, cupids and flying swans. But everything comfortable and more than adequate, even if a bit oddly-styled. The bedroom was very spacious, the bathroom also, with both bath and (rain) shower. Good desk / working area, fast and free wifi, and the usual in-room bar and flat-screen TV.

The food - fantastic. I only ate the buffet lunch and breakfast (I was there at a conference, and travelled into town for dinners). But this was some of the best hotel buffet food I have had in a long time. A massive selection of very good European and Asian (Japanese, Indian, Thai, Chinese, Vietnamese, etc, ...) fare, lots of healthy options and salads, and overseen by a cheerful and friendly Swiss chef who greeted everyone as they passed by. I was really impressed.

The facilities - pretty amazing. A proper lap pool (two actually): indoor and about 20-25 metres long. A massive and well-equipped gym with (believe it or not) - a running track. And various spa-type facilities (hot tub, sauna, Jacuzzi, etc.), as well as (again, somewhat bizarrely) an indoor putting green, .

Location - the hotel really is very remote and far from most places that you would want to visit in Hanoi. I was there because I was attending a conference (held at the Grand Plaza Hotel itself). But to be honest I would not otherwise have chosen to stay there. It is way out of town (about 7 km, around 20-30 minutes taxi ride in good traffic), beyond even the diplomatic quarter. I can't imagine why a tourist, or someone with business in town, would want to locate themselves so far from the city centre - however many lap pools and running tracks there are, however good the food is, and however smiley the Swiss chef is.

In summary - weird over the top décor (but perfectly OK - not unpleasant, just rather weird). Excellent food and sports facilities. But too far outside town to be attractive unless attending a conference in the hotel itself, or having business in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This Hotel in Hanoi Vietnam, was our first to be in Vietnam. The hotel is not new but very very good maintened. The room was just great and very clean. The bad room was exelent. The breakfast was more then good. The spa was a great surprise, with a large pool of 35 c" warm water and great showers and privet lokers. The lobby is very large and elegant and the staff was very helpfull and polite. THe hotel is not in the main old city center, but as he was very good - how care?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaariran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I am very glad that once again i stayed on this hotel for my business trip. Room is very spacious with grand chair, sofa, ample study table, soft bed with complimentary tea, coffee and water. Amenities such toothbrush, razor, etc. are arranged or presented grandly. Buffet breakfast is splendid, a lot of choices, try their pho bo taste great! Staff are very courteous, helpful and with ready smile on their faces. Once again,i can truly say this is a grand(plaza) hanoi hotel. Hope i can come back. Nice restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: This is my third or fourth time? I think all the rooms i have stayed so far are all grand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resty2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel claims to be the worlds first 7 star hotel. Really. I will stay elsewhere next time for sure.

Checking in they could not give me the rooms we had booked, despite the confirmation I had already received and showed them. The aircon in my room did not work, well not at anything less than about 28'c anyway. After a few calls to the operator the "mechanic" arrived and turned the fan up. Which of course just made the hot air circulate faster. After an hour of complaining, which was after 12 hours of traveling, I was told there was only one room in the whole hotel that I could move to, and it was conveniently right next door. So move we did, however the aircon was no better. And yes, not much sleep that night, wrung out like a wet rag the next morning. After a long complain I was told the hotel was still full but they wuold find me another room that night, which they did, and at least the aircon worked.

The bedrooms are opulent looking, but the beds themselves are dangerous. They are solid wooded frames with sharp corners, three weeks later my shins have almost recovered from the pounding they got as I tried to walk around them,

The food in the hotel was quite average. Due to heavy work commitments we had room service each night. Consensus is that the Steak Sandwich and the Beef burger were the only two things on the menu worth eating. Breakfast was ok if you were vietnamese or chinese, but a bit of a challenge for anyone else. By the end of the week we gave up on breakfast and ate a street side cafe near the office.

The staff were friendly enough and the hotel was reasonable value for the price paid, but I think I will definitely stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Make sure the aircon works before you accept the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aegisint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a great hotel, it has a huge amount of architecture and character. I was upgraded to a suite and was not disappointed, the room was spacious with all amenities including a well stocked mini bar. I dined at La Jardin and found the food amazing, the room service dinner was quite poor in comparison to the rest of the hotel. This hotel is well presented, clean and the staff were excellent. I would certainly stay at the grand plaza again and just eat from the restaurants. The surroundings are nice and more peaceful than the "hustle and bustle".

Room Tip: I would not eat room service, the quality was not that good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza West Hanoi
Crowne Plaza West Hanoi
#80 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
3.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#65 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#79 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#50 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel

Property: Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
Address: Tran Duy Hung Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing