We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 4-star Hanoi hotel in quiet location - warmly recommended”
Review of Prestige Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prestige Hotel
Ranked #305 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 5 March 2011

I've just returned from the second of two quite long stays in this excellent modern hotel and warmly recommend it for both short and longer visits to Hanoi. I should say that I'm a regular traveller to Hanoi and know several of its hotels quite well. This one is actually a most impressive place. It's brand new (opened Sept 2010) and made me feel welcome, valued, safe and cheerful throughout both stays. The location is NOT obscure: it's in a pleasant leafy area of what's sometimes still called the French Quarter, and is 10 minutes walk or 5 minutes by taxi from the city-centre Opera House and Sword Lake: two of the city's major landmarks. There are always taxi drivers in Hanoi who don't know the city well and won't recognise a location by street name only (especially if a foreigner who can't speak Vietnamese is attempting to pronounce a name like Pham Dinh Ho Street) : good hotels like Prestige will happily provide a "pleast take me to" card written in Vietnamese with clear directions for the driver, together with a map with the spot marked so it's easy to work out the appropriate route.
The hotel itself is super-clean, quiet (apart from the city authorities' morning public address broadcasts - not the hotel's fault! - see below) and good value for Hanoi, which is now becoming a fairly expensive Asian city. My room was sleek and well-appointed, and agreeably unclaustrophic - big picture windows with panoramic view of the city. Good room service breakfasts available from very early morning to suit those with a.m. flights etc. My room was in one of the upper-grade categories so there were none of the oddities of construction noted by other reviewers - ie the bathroom was spacious and self-contained, and had nothing like the see-through glass panels that worried other reviewers - no modesty problems at all. Also, the so-called 'radio' complained about in one of the reviews is in fact clearly the ubiquitous public address system to be found in most urban neighbourhoods in Vietnam - it's not the fault of one's hotel that the city authorities broadcast things like traffic information and festive music on these outdoor loudspeakers in the early mornings and afternoons. People who visit Vietnam have to recognise that they may encounter unfamiliar things and experiences and adjust accordingly - the delights of travel to Hanoi far outweigh the occasional hiccup. The Prestige is full of young, keen and eager staff whose English may not be perfect but whose super-civil manners and enthusiasm for their jobs are a credit both to them and the excellent Vietnamese management - I found the hotel far superior in a host of important ways to the foreign-owned chain hotels to be found elsewhere in the city, where the service can be slapdash and staff morale low.
I will be staying in the Prestige again later this year and expect to be happy and comfortable there again - as I say, it's a place I confidently recommend to others. (And if you want to stay in the Old Quarter, go ahead. But you'll find that though delightful for strolling and shopping, it's a locale that's infinitely noisier and more congested than the area around the Prestige, and I'd be very careful indeed about hotels in the Old Quarter -some are said to be ok; others appalling and very over-priced.
One other thought: the Prestige is well situated for ther things that visitors may find desirable: apart from its own restaurant which mostly serves Western food, it's 5 to 10 minutes walk from 3 really excellent Vietnamese-speciality restaurants in handsome well-restored 20th-century French villas - my favourite is Au Lac House at 13 Tran Hung Dao Street, but experienced Hanoi sojourners are also keen on Nha Hang Ngon at 26 Tran Hung Dao, and Nam Phuong in Phan Chu Trinh St. )

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Venicetraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2011

I have to admit that I was generally disappointed with this hotel. We were placed in the hotel by our travel agent who assured that the new property was one of the best in the city besides the usual five star accomodations. This hotel is rated as a four star accomodation, but the service and rooms themselves definitely do not reflect this.
The hotel is first of all located on a small side street that is relatively out of the way. Our taxi coming from the airport, and every other subsequent taxi that we took in the city, could not find the hotel even after asking for directions multiple times. This ultimately turned out to be a major inconvenience. Forget this hotel if you are looking for something within walking distance of the old quarter as well.
Our second disappointment was in the rooms themselves. This hotel definitely seems built for the business traveler and has the smart design to reflect this. However, the rooms are only include bare essentials and are decorated in a rather bland style. Besides this, I have to bring up the same comment that others have before: the bathroom is awkwardly placed in the room, and defined by a glass on two sides – the two sides facing the bed and desk. Although this was not a huge problem (there was a curtain) it does not bring about feeling of comfort and hospitality. There seems to be no reason for this uncommon design other than the fact that glass is thinner than the walls that would be there and the rooms are already a bit cramped to begin with.
The service at the hotel was not bad, but there was a definite lack of training. The staff were very warm and helpful, but they did not have the resources that they needed to work with a foreign clientele. Their English was mediocre at best, and their general service was not very professional. We asked for a taxi at one point and they did not call until five minutes later. When asking to receive a wake up call, one never came. Fortunately the jet lag helped with the wake-up.
I do not recommend this hotel. There are major built-in problems with the hotel itself, but these could be made up for with a proper management company. Unfortunately, I doubt that this will be happening at any point soon.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackpotjerrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We were on a guided tour of Vietnam, and our flight had been cancelled, so we ended up at this hotel on New Year's Eve at around 12.30am, rather tired and somewhat disappointed that Vietnam Airlines had disrupted our plans to party! This hotel wasn't on our itinerary, and as we arrived late at night, and left early in the morning, I don't actually know where it was, so can't comment on its location or value.

The hotel is very new and clean - but for a four star hotel I was surprised that it couldn't offer hypoallergenic pillows, but to their credit, they did stuff some pillowcases with cotton sheets - we were so tired that it was okay.

However, the main reason for putting up this review is that I have no idea what sort of person designed the hotel - it was bad enough waking up to see my partner on the toilet in our room (there was an opaque curtain, but that was it, and the view left nothing to the imagination)... But if you used the public toilet next to the restaurant, you could very easily see the person on the toilet in the gents.

We had to be up by 7am to go to Halong Bay (where we should have been), but even earlier than this, we could hear the radio outside playing music, and giving people "the news" as our guide put it...

Breakfast was very nice, with plenty of choices.

All I can say is that if the hotel painted the glass/opaque walls in the toilets, then I'm sure it would be a very nice hotel.

We left this hotel for Halong Bay, and returned to Hanoi and stayed at the Maison d'Hanoi Hanova - tiny room, no window, but very well appointed and exceedingly well located.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We stayed in de suite. After a cruise on Halong Bay we returned at the hotel and took a luxuryroom. They were spacy , nice, clean, modern rooms. We liked both rooms. (They have two sizes of superiorrooms ). The buffet-breakfast was great, you can choose from many things ( continentaal and Vietnamese). The hotel is in the French Quarter, a lively neighbourhood but not so noisy and touristic as the Old Qaurter, a perfect spot. A little walk to the Kiem Lake. The staff is nice and polite. They are not pushing to sell you an excursion. They can arrange a cheap trip for you to the airport ( reservation the evening before leaving).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoLy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pigiamapecora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Philippe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maluemviagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
#138 of 599 in Hanoi
91 reviews
1.1 mi away
Silk Queen Grand Hotel
Silk Queen Grand Hotel
#156 of 599 in Hanoi
41 reviews
1.4 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#20 of 599 in Hanoi
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
#108 of 599 in Hanoi
758 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#72 of 599 in Hanoi
406 reviews
1.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#93 of 599 in Hanoi
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestige Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestige Hotel

Address: 17 Pham Dinh Ho, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £49 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Prestige Hotel, a new four-star international standard hotel tucked away on a tree-lined street in the heart of Hanoi. Just 15 minutes walk from the buzzing lanes of Hanoi’s Old Quarter and the enchantment of Hoan Kiem Lake, the Prestige Hotel offers the perfect combination of modern luxuries, impeccable service, and excellent value for the business or pleasure traveler. The hotel features 80 guestrooms including elegant suites and an executive apartment, dedicated conference facilities and a business center, a full-service restaurant offering the best in international cuisine, a fitness center and a rooftop swimming pool and cocktail bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prestige Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing