We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guide - Hurong Linh”

Hanoi Free Tour Guides - Private Tours
Ranked #5 of 834 Tours in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hanoi Free Tour Guides is a social non-profit organization founded and run by a group of students and ex-students.Hanoi Free Tour Guides is aimed at propagandizing and publicly introducing the images of Vietnam, its country and people to foreigners, promoting cross-cultural communication and building up a bridge for the enhancement of international relations for the betterment of the society.HFTGs' service now is available in English, Chinese, French, Russian, Korean and Japanese. Thanks to its great contributions to the pulbic, HFTGs is now well-known as Hanoi Little Ambassadors.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Guide - Hurong Linh”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We were from Singapore and visited Hanoi this month. My colleague Wong engages the service from this group of Free Tour Guides through Trip Advisor. On that day, this young lady called Linh came to our hotel at 9am punctually. She listed down places of attraction in Hanoi and asked for our preferences to visit. After which, we started our journey for the day. She is very well equipped with knowledge of our places of visit and explained to us patiently. For lunch, she brought us to a local restaurant and recommended us some of the local food and we really enjoy it. We were definitely not be able to try them without her guidance and recommendations. She is such a cheerful and wonderful lady that actually make us feel that we are traveling in one family.

Well done Linh! Keep it up!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Freddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    47
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great way to see Hanoi!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Our tour guide Yen was absolutely wonderful. She was knowledgeable and accommodating, thoughtful and so interesting to talk to about all things Hanoi, politics and life in general.

We decided on option 3 (full day) tour which included Temple of literature, Museum of Ethnology, Sword Lake and French and old quarter . Learned so much more having Yen there as she was able to give so many really interesting historical and political facts.

A wonderful day spent and definitely recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank LotteLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A cracking way to experience the city”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have just got back from an afternoon with my excellent guide, Gemmy. I felt a bit worse for wear when she arrived but she was very understanding when I just wanted to do for a coffee before anything else. After that, and I was starting to feel more or less normal again, we headed of to explore different parts of the city. You can pretty much go wherever you want, but the guide will give offer suggestions if you don't have particular places in mind. All in all great fun, a lovely guide, and an experience I would definitely recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Funontoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A highlight of Hanoi”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This remarkable organization not only provides a free service, but they are professional and prompt in their communications. I sent an email query four days before we arrived in Hanoi and got a response the same day. Spending six hours with Cham, a sweet 19-year-old university student who spoke excellent English, was the best part of our time in Hanoi and one of the most memorable. She met us at the hotel promptly at 9am and we walked around together, peppering her with questions along the way, through the Old Quarter, along Hoan Kiem Lake and through the French Quarter. Then we told her we'd like to see the area around the train station, which we'd heard was interesting. This was definitely off the beaten track and in a location Cham herself had never been, but we jumped in a taxi and went there together. Then we took a taxi back to the Old Quarter near our hotel and had lunch together.

Cham did her best to answer all of our questions about the country, the politics, the culture and family life, and helped us to feel much more informed. We parted around 3pm. I wish we could have tipped her, but it is not allowed. She seemed genuinely happy to be with us and sent us a nice email afterward apologizing (!) for all of the walking and telling us how she enjoyed hearing about America. We highly recommend this company and the experience!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank fingers&toes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Truly Memorable and Excellent start to our holiday”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have recently returned from a wonderful holiday in Vietnam where we spent 3 days in Hanoi. During that time it was our pleasure to have the company and guidance of 3 students, Quang, Van and Quynh from HFTGs. We were contacted by our guides and met at our hotel, as arranged, for a half day tour of the Old Quarter and French Quarter. We were very pleased to stop for refreshments on the tour and they took us to a tiny cafe (which we would never have found by ourselves) overlooking Lake Hoan Kiem where we sampled the famous egg coffee and later we had a delicious lunch of Vietnamese specialities. We were more than happy at their suggestion to continue our tour into the afternoon and had such a wonderful time that we met up again the next day to explore more of Hanoi. Our guides were very helpful and friendly, giving us an amazing insight into life in this remarkable city and making our visit an interesting and memorable experience. We would definitely recommend HFTGs to any new visitors to Hanoi. Dena & David, Ipswich UK

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Deenz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hanoi Free Tour Guides - Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hanoi Free Tour Guides - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing