We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice affordable place that's clean and quiet in a good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #248 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice affordable place that's clean and quiet in a good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

3 of us (late 20's/early 30's slightly above average weight males) stayed here when we were visiting Hanoi. The location was nice - right beside the St. Joseph Cathedral (hence the name of hotel). The area is fairly quiet but easily within walking distance to eateries, shops, and travel agencies.

What I liked about the location is that we're in the "old Hanoi" part of town and easily walking distance to markets, restaurants, shops, attractions and even the nice lake where the Ngoc Son temple is (lots happening around the lake). At night after our sightseeing we walked around and found some coffee shops/bars and relaxed until late.

The hotel is clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. They spoke decent English and were very helpful in giving us maps and directions and made suggestions as to where to eat when we asked where to go for specific types of food (e.g. we asked about beer gardens, where to go for more traditional Vietnamese foods, street food etc).

We got (I think) the Family Room - it is quite roomy and clean: 3 doubles, with a huge closet. Bathroom is roomy and plenty of clean towels. Most importantly, A/C works and even when we needed time to just sit and relax in the evenings we even had the luxury of a balcony overlooking the street below and a partial view of the cathedral. It actually felt a little bit like living locally vs staying in a hotel when I was out in the balcony early in the morning soaking in the morning sun with the street vendors below busy setting up shops and all the associated sounds/sights of that too.

Speaking of mornings, we chose to venture out for street food for breakfast but the built-in restaurant serves decent food if you don't feel like going out. Like most hotels, they also offer laundry service so you can rid of some of your smelly clothes.

In closing, definitely bookmarked and would return next time I'm in Hanoi.

Room Tip: Out taxi driver had a little trouble with the location. If you're taking the taxi, perhaps tell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsgiguere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    27
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
71
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We looked through some reviews for this hotel and thought it appeared ok. There was no hot water for the length of our stay and we were told that if we booked more nights with them then only then would they look into the hot water issue.
The shower was dirty and there was alot of bugs in the bathroom- i would reccomend wearing thongs in the shower.
There was only 2 channels available to watch on the tv as the rest were out of signal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTPB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed here for a study abroad trip for a week at a time for a month. The staff are extremely welcoming and friendly, and more than willing to help with anything. I felt completely safe, and the staff truly become our family. The rooms were great, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Hanoi!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahommad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MongMong Guam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was a pretty good place to stay. It was certainly affordable and the staff was quite helpful. They printed out train ticket receipts for us, made us a little cake for our anniversary, and let us use a room for about an hour (before we could check in) one morning when we came back to Hanoi from Sa Pa. The only drawback was that the breakfast cook was not on time one morning (at 7 A.M.) and we had to leave by 7:45 so we missed breakfast. Otherwise, great location, great staff, and decent rooms.

Room Tip: Get a Cathedral view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erikdainmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

One of the best hotels ever! They even have laptops in each room for customers to use. The rooms were super clean, tidy and modern. The balcony view was to the cathedral in front of the hotel. There were many restaurants, shops and sights walking distance. The staff were super helpful. I had many things I was posting and one of the staff members, Yenari, helped me send these. She also organized a tour for us to Sapa which was incredible! I had a lovely time which I will never forget in Hanoi thanks to her help and assistance. All other members of staff were very friendly too. The breakfast was very yummy. There is even a coffee shop with wonderful coffee just beside the hotel. Its a great location, great rooms and wonderful staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rouen, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel is one of the best of Hanoï, price quality ratio. We stayed a month and we really spent good time.
- Staff people are very friendly, welcoming and helping
- Good english
- Very good breakfast
- located in a quiet area and very nice quarter
- clean rooms and confortable beds, bathroom...
- good wifi...
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie-76_89-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

booked this hotel as a package with a halong bay 2d1n cruise. cost usd 250 including hotel transfer. was well planned and arranged by ms.sinh at the reception. had booked on santa maria cruise but was changed later to glory cruise due to some issues with the santa maria that affected some of the hotel guests who had taken the cruise earlier. got a superior room (301) facing the cathedral. huge room with 2 double beds and 2 single beds. climb up the stairs may not be suitable for all. left luggage at hotel and went on cruise, returned back and got a room on the lower floor (201) but with similar comfort. they even have a laptop in your room and wifi connection was excellent. breakfast basically had toast with egg/bacon and coffee/tea/juice and some slices of water melon. arrived by 9am on the 1st day and was even provided a free breakfast. located in a small alley next to the cathedral, so may be difficult to locate if you travel on your own from the airport though i wouldnt recommend it. overall an excellent and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ulagamsutruvom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Cathedral Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#42 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.0 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cinnamon Hotel
Cinnamon Hotel
#97 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Joseph's Hotel
Joseph's Hotel
#42 of 571 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel

Property: Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel
Address: 38 Au Trieu Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2010, The Hanoi Spring Hotel is conveniently located in the very heart of the charming historic Hanoi Old Quarter. Our hotel is situated in a quiet peaceful street which offers you a perfect retreat from the vibrant and buzzing Old Quarter. All shopping and banking facilities, as well as eating and entertainment options are located conveniently on our doorstep or just a few minutes walk away. The Rising Dragon Hotel provides you with a comfortable and relaxing stay in well appointed rooms furnished with the latest facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing