We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flawless”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #256 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Flawless”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Right from the moment I entered this hotel I was greeted and given lots of advice by staff. I booked a trip to halong bay through the hotel and it was perfect in everyway. The staff were perfect. in particular joy, huong and huyen were always friendly and I enjoyed spending time listening and learning about them and the way of life in hanoi.
The hotel is very well located and is within 5-10 minutes walking distance to the night market. There is a beautiful church right nearby and there are lots of things to see around the area. I spent a day walking around hanoi visiting all the sights and to have the hotel located where it is made my life easier.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Great location but more importantly, excellent staff that are always there to help you out. These people have made me fall in love with hanoi. Thank you rising dragon cathedral, I will be back very soon!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nimasoufiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    27
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
71
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Had 4D3N stay at this lovely hotel. It is a charming hotel, friendly staffs, but as a typical Hanoi hotel, there is no elevator. We happened to be given the honeymoon suite, which was at the 5th floor. It was hell of a climb everyday.

If you are staying, pls ask the staffs for the airport pickup, which they will gladly provide.
Breakfast was another pleasure. Do give it a go.
Meanwhile, as a regular tourist, pls also give the streetside food a go.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

very close to everywhere in the old quater or other places. wonderful , comfortable with large spacious rooms, helpful service. They can arrange a good tour for us as well. They give us a reasonable price and very good service for Ha Long Bay and Sapa Tour...We will be stay here again.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room w bancony, A/C, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

A good location on a relatively quiet street and right next to St Joseph's cathedral. The staff are very friendly; the hotel is clean the breakfast is tasty; and the price is very reasonable. It is a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem lake or to the Old Quarter. The cathedral area is nice to have dinner at one of the decent quality restaurants overlooking the cathedral square.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAV1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Da Lat
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The location is perfect, it is right next to the cathedral in the old town and walking distance to many of Hanoi's attractions. Really helpful staff and the breakfast was great. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed for a week at the Rising Dragon in a family suite. We had booked a deluxe double but they upgraded us because they did not have a double available. For the price this is good value. It is situated in a small side street next to the cathedral. Plenty of restaurants and shops close by and within walking distance to lake and the old quarter shopping area. Backpackers lanes behind with cheap eating and drinking spots. Rooms clean , each has a balcony however rooms at back only have very small balcony overlooking back lane. Rooms at front have larger balconies overlooking cathedral. Staff friendly and have good English, especially Joy and Hanna on the front desk. Thuan and The in the restaurant were quick and efficient with breakfast. Menu limited but sufficient. No elevator so anything above the 2nd floor is quite a climb each time you go out. The cathedral is noisy on the weekends when the bells chime loudly and early!

Room Tip: Lower level floors as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

3 of us (late 20's/early 30's slightly above average weight males) stayed here when we were visiting Hanoi. The location was nice - right beside the St. Joseph Cathedral (hence the name of hotel). The area is fairly quiet but easily within walking distance to eateries, shops, and travel agencies.

What I liked about the location is that we're in the "old Hanoi" part of town and easily walking distance to markets, restaurants, shops, attractions and even the nice lake where the Ngoc Son temple is (lots happening around the lake). At night after our sightseeing we walked around and found some coffee shops/bars and relaxed until late.

The hotel is clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. They spoke decent English and were very helpful in giving us maps and directions and made suggestions as to where to eat when we asked where to go for specific types of food (e.g. we asked about beer gardens, where to go for more traditional Vietnamese foods, street food etc).

We got (I think) the Family Room - it is quite roomy and clean: 3 doubles, with a huge closet. Bathroom is roomy and plenty of clean towels. Most importantly, A/C works and even when we needed time to just sit and relax in the evenings we even had the luxury of a balcony overlooking the street below and a partial view of the cathedral. It actually felt a little bit like living locally vs staying in a hotel when I was out in the balcony early in the morning soaking in the morning sun with the street vendors below busy setting up shops and all the associated sounds/sights of that too.

Speaking of mornings, we chose to venture out for street food for breakfast but the built-in restaurant serves decent food if you don't feel like going out. Like most hotels, they also offer laundry service so you can rid of some of your smelly clothes.

In closing, definitely bookmarked and would return next time I'm in Hanoi.

Room Tip: Out taxi driver had a little trouble with the location. If you're taking the taxi, perhaps tell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsgiguere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Cathedral Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Hotel
Cinnamon Hotel
#103 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#42 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho
0.0 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.0 mi away
Joseph's Hotel
Joseph's Hotel
#37 of 592 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel

Property: Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel
Address: 38 Au Trieu Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2010, The Hanoi Spring Hotel is conveniently located in the very heart of the charming historic Hanoi Old Quarter. Our hotel is situated in a quiet peaceful street which offers you a perfect retreat from the vibrant and buzzing Old Quarter. All shopping and banking facilities, as well as eating and entertainment options are located conveniently on our doorstep or just a few minutes walk away. The Rising Dragon Hotel provides you with a comfortable and relaxing stay in well appointed rooms furnished with the latest facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing