We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #259 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

- fabulous location next to the Cathedral
- close to shopping and restaurants walking distance to markets and Lake etc
- beautiful clean room with best bathroom we have had in Vietnam
- good price
- balcony overlooking the busy streets and Cathedral.
- friendly reception staff
- Air con
- free wifi

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rakbids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    27
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
71
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Good food, free breakfast and wifi as promised. Rooms were clean and nice. The rooms in the 4th floor were a bit of a hassle as there are no elevators. However, for the money they charge I think it's totally worth it.

The location is very good if you don't mind the ringing bells of the cathedral. Hanoi is just so energetic and lively that I found the bells soothing. However some people might not like the ringing every half hour.

P.S. - The corner opposite the cathedral, there is a very happening sidewalk where the coffee is amazing!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank anandalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Located on quiet street next to cathedral. Stayed here my last night in Hanoi, wish I had discovered it sooner. Staff very friendly and helpful. Had room on top floor with view of cathedral. Amazing to have such a peaceful street amid the chaos.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We got to this place after leaving another hostel in Hanoi, and were very pleased with it.
The hotel is very well located, near the St Joseph Cathedral, and the small backpacker's alley (Ngo huyen), many travel agencies around and hostels like the "Hanoi Backpacker's Hostel". I liked sitting in the places with the small stools serving lemon tea in front of the church.
The staff at the hotel are very nice, speaking good English, and very helpful... especially Huong (Helen), that arranged some tours for us.
The room was very clean, spacious, with a balcony, good and comfortable beds, new furniture, free wifi, and good bathroom with a good shower pressure. We didn't take breakfast as we wanted to experience the food outside.
Bottom line, we really liked staying there and I will definitely come back there next time in Hanoi.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Our experience started months before with research on TA,then a direct email booking with room requests through the efficient "Ms Joy".Originaly we were booked for three nights,but we arrived 2 days early due to the typhoon affecting our coastal stay.No problems as Joy put us up in double old quarter view room on the first floor till our book in date,& to be honest this room would have sufficed for the entire duration,with a balcony above a small lane way where I would sit & drink coffee watching the busy life of ladies trading vegies,meat,flowers etc.The the third day we moved into our booked room # 101,a family cathedral view room with 2 x double beds & a wrap around corner balcony!Room amenities were excellent-free wi fi,bottled water,a cheap mini bar,flat screen tv etc. Again the view of the street life below left me amazed & entertained.
I did read of negative comments regards the bells ringing across the road at St Josephs Cathedral,i think they need to toughen up as this ticked all the boxes for this hotel having all the "bells & whistles!"Breakfasts were very good,& coffee excellent.We also booked a day tour to Trang Anh Grotto through Joy,& this was good value,just added to our room bill which I found convenient.Further more I found the hotel location extremely convenient,right up close walking distance to the lake,most attractions,the best eateries & the wonderful Hanoi life.Highly recommend this hotel,as we will not be looking for anywhere else to stay when we return.

Room Tip: book a family cathedral view room,any of the numbers ending in 01,but beware there is no lifts at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exmouthviet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Fantastic location in the old quarter, right next to prominent Hanoi landmark, St Joseph Cathedral.
Good large clean rooms with all amneties, including free wifi. Low room rates come with free breakfast. Enjoy Vietnam famous noodle favorites just next door. Friendly staff, specially the beautiful receptionist, Michelle, who can also be your tour guide.
Value for money.

Dr Lee
Singapore

Room Tip: If u hate climbing stairs, request for rooms on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Right from the moment I entered this hotel I was greeted and given lots of advice by staff. I booked a trip to halong bay through the hotel and it was perfect in everyway. The staff were perfect. in particular joy, huong and huyen were always friendly and I enjoyed spending time listening and learning about them and the way of life in hanoi.
The hotel is very well located and is within 5-10 minutes walking distance to the night market. There is a beautiful church right nearby and there are lots of things to see around the area. I spent a day walking around hanoi visiting all the sights and to have the hotel located where it is made my life easier.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Great location but more importantly, excellent staff that are always there to help you out. These people have made me fall in love with hanoi. Thank you rising dragon cathedral, I will be back very soon!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nimasoufiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Cathedral Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Hotel
Cinnamon Hotel
#108 of 586 in Hanoi
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#44 of 586 in Hanoi
760 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel

Property: Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel
Address: 38 Au Trieu Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2010, The Hanoi Spring Hotel is conveniently located in the very heart of the charming historic Hanoi Old Quarter. Our hotel is situated in a quiet peaceful street which offers you a perfect retreat from the vibrant and buzzing Old Quarter. All shopping and banking facilities, as well as eating and entertainment options are located conveniently on our doorstep or just a few minutes walk away. The Rising Dragon Hotel provides you with a comfortable and relaxing stay in well appointed rooms furnished with the latest facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing