We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moon Garden Homestay
Ranked #49 of 671 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My wife and I had a great 2 day stay here. The staff are lovely. Homestay is a bit of a misnomer as you are not living in someones home. Really peaceful and relaxing. Lovely to walk through the village and fields. The stilt house is a large barn type room with mattresses on the floor and curtains separating you from others staying there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

A great 'retreat' experience at this collection of about 8/10 cottages set in a very rural location about an hours drive north east of Hanoi. Ran by Mr Toan, a most charming host always on hand with his team trying to make everyone's stay as enjoyable and restful as possible. He succeeded with us.

We enjoyed:

- learning more about rural ways of life
- walking around the village with Mr Toan to see rural life up close and personal
- meeting the village's eldest couple in their home, an 84 year old lady who is absolutely wonderful with her equally charismatic husband
- the relaxed atmosphere of Moon Garden
- lunch and dinner (fresh local food of course)
- a prayer ceremony which we were kindly invited to attend
- the Vietnamese cooking class

We did find that our room was a little damp and by the time we came to leave the dampness had penetrated our clothes, even those in our cases, and we would like to have had a better selection of food for breakfast but these are small concerns in relation to the overall experience.

Definitely worth a visit if you wish to have a good quality home stay around Hanoi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KGHLLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

nice area, really in the nature, surrounded by riz field, many nice experiences over there, pray time, foot massage, cooking lesson, bicycle promenade, if you are not too heavy for their very old bikes...nice food, but nothing amazing, the only problem was the bed was in wood, so we could not sleep at all, plus the curtains were so thin that outside lights came in, to avoid if you are old like us... PS never use EASIA Travel for private tour as they are very bad.

Room Tip: if you are two couples take one of their nice villas, the view and the style is very nice. PS:never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was a wonderful introduction to Vietnam as others have said and we would endorse their comments The staff seemed happy to share the homestead with us .As well as walking, being taught to cook and make flowers it was my birthday. We had a lovely bonfire party with a huge cake for us all, rice wine and a karaoke. A couple of our fellow guests did a dance and another sang but the staff also thoroughly enjoyed it- what a night to remember

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank amy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights/3 days here with our two children aged 4 & 5. Great place and very relaxing and the staff is so nice and helpfull. Went on a great bike ride to the ancient village. They have good bikes and also helmets and bikes for kids. Next day we did a two hour, but short walk to the nearby village and ricefields. We also visited a lokal old and very positive and gratefull lady aged 84. Go to Moon Garden if you want silence and a safe place where your kids can play.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Nordictravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We spent two days here on our arrival in Vietnam - so glad we did before moving on to the crazy world of Hanoi!
We spent time learning to cook (& then eating) some Vietnamese dishes, and walking/cycling through local villages - plus Tai Chi before breakfast & karaoke after dinner!
We could not have asked for a better preparation for what has followed ......

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

I've stayed with my wife and 3 children. We've got the whole unit to ourselves - two sides rooms and one central unit. The rooms are amazing, very authentic and specious. They are equipped with TV and cable, mini bar and air con. The activities included cooking classes, bike your I. The village and visiting families in the village. Dinner and lunch includes a surprise - foot massage right at the dinner table. The staff are very kind and the place offers peace a land a great deal on intimacy. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Ohad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanoi
22.8 mi away
Flamingo Dai Lai Resort
Flamingo Dai Lai Resort
#1 of 1 in Phuc Yen
135 reviews
28.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
28.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.8 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#102 of 607 in Hanoi
2,428 reviews
26.5 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
28.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Garden Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Garden Homestay

Address: Ky Son village | Xuan Son Commune, Son Tay District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 671 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: £76 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moon Garden Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you really care about Vietnamese culture and want to experience yourself the life of a traditional Hanoian, this is really the tour you can not afford to miss. Here comes a uniquely exciting tour for you to explore the true beauty of ancient Hanoi.A perfect place for family stay, weekend holidays and anyone who is in a big love with countryside and wants to get a real taste of Vietnam rural daily life and culture.Moon Garden HomeStay is located in Ky Son Village, Xuan Son Commune, Son Tay District, Hanoi, Vietnam. It is 55 km far from Hanoi Center and 4 km from Duong Lam Ancient Village and Mia Pagoda. There are two types of wooden houses in which:- 4 Ancients Wooden houses which are elegantly and comfortably restored with 8 rooms privately. - 1 Wooden House on Stilt - a Pile dwelling, typical house restored elegantly and comfortably which is a shared big house of 9 shared rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Moon Garden Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing