We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 4 star hotel with helpful staff. Breakfast pricey.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
Ranked #77 of 585 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good 4 star hotel with helpful staff. Breakfast pricey.”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We stayed at the hotel de l'opera a total of three nights (once two nights and once one night) and hot upgraded twice, once to the superior room and the last night to the suite. We found it very nice of staff to be so keen to upgrade us. They were also very accomodating to let us do early check in at 6am as we arrived by night train to Hanoi.

Staff english is simply perfect and the overall service and experience what you would expect from a good 4 star hotel in Europe.

The room, which could look a bit questionable from a style point of biew to some people, are large, the bathroom large and very enjoyable.

The breakfast was very good with a large selection of things. Only disappointment was that, at USD25 per person, we found it a bit pricey for Hanoi, especially compared to the price of rooms which seem very reasonable to us.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuillaumePharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    472
    121
    34
    13
See reviews for
209
639
80
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Hotel staffs are very helpful and friendly, restaurant is nice, location is great, very near to the lake and shopping area. Room is new and clean as the hotel is new. One minor problem is that it may not be so suitable for business stay, as the room and bathroom are a little too funky, colourful and shiny! Hardly get a peaceful mind at night after a long work day.

Overall I still like this hotel very much, the mattress + bed is a little bit too high, but was extremely comfortable.

Not a bad choice if the price is not too high.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryTheWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear JerryTheWalker,
Thank you for your comments on Hotel de l’Opera Hanoi on tripadvisor.com
I am please to know that you like our hotel with helpful and friendly staff, nice restaurant, great location and comfortable mattress.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you in a not far distant future.
Yours sincerely,
Olivier Delangre
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- MGallery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed for 4 nights and with 2 children. This is a 6 months old hotel and everything looks new to us. The hotel Lobby is well decorated,nice lounge and is a good place for drinking and relaxing. The hotel room's condition is great, it special extra-ordinary "high bed" and great toiletries provided to guests. I must say this hotel is quite generous, it comes with (L'Occitane Brand) shower gel and shampoo. During Day 2, we had our lunch in the restaurant and the Restaurant Manager/waiters are friendly and helpful. The only drawback is buffer dishes is not that good and not very value for money(Limited choices of food). There are a lot of good restaurant near by hotel, especially the Italian Restaurant next to the hotel. We ended up having most of our dinner at Italian Restaurant.

Location of this hotel is at the City Centre, very strategic location to visit around the city. Next to the hotel is Metropolitan Sofitel Hotel and 100m to Hilton Opera hotel(Near by French Quarter. We also walk to old quarter(0.5km).

The Wifi quality so good. On and off get cut off when browsing. Nonetheless, it is a free service provided to guest. Can't complaint more as some hotel charge very expensive hourly rate for Wifi service.

The staffs and receptions generally are friendly and they always give their best service to hotel guest.

Would want to stay in this hotel again if back to Hanoi.

Room Tip: Choose room facing indoor to avoid noise(motorbikes horn)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentTravel089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear FrequentTravel089 ,

Thank you for your comments toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi on tripadvisor.com.
I am pleased to know that you like our hotel's location, decoration, the high-bed and the amenities…, especially your compliments to my colleagues in the restaurant and reception. I will pass your comments to them, which is really valuable encouragement.
With regards to the wifi signal and the buffet, we are aware of those issues and are currently working on an upgrade of both our internet signal and our buffet dishes selection.

Thank you and I would welcome you for your next stay at our hotel in the not far distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Olivier Delangre
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- a member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed six nights at this hotel. The service was excellent. We had booked a basic room (the Deluxe) but wanted a bigger room. The receptionist showed us all three different types of room before we decided on a suite on the top floor facing the Opera House. There was still some noise from the constant honking from cars and motorbikes outside, but it was bearable as our room was not facing the main street. The second thing we liked about this hotel was its location. It is near the Hoam Kiem Lake (a five minute walk), the water puppet theatre (about 15 minute on foot at a lesiurely pace), the French Quarter, the Old Quarter, and the Metropole Sofitel Hanoi Hotel (around the corner).

The food is OK but there are so many good restaurants nearby, it was not a problem. The restaurantes that we went included the Exchange Cafe, the Press Club, the Ly Club, and the two bars inside the Metropole Sofitel Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street could be noisy due to constant honking of cars and motorbikes, and those fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hongkongtraveller852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
Dear Hongkongtraveller852 ,
Thank you for taking times to write your review toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi on tripadvisor.com.
I am delighted to know that you like our hotel both in terms of Location and Services. I would believe that you have enjoyed your choice of staying at L'Opera Suite on the top floor with breathtaking view over the Opera House. I will also pass your kind comments to my colleague(s) in Reception for their great service delivered to you.
Regarding the noise, for your kind information that our sound insulation is being improved and I look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the near future.
Thank you,
Yours sincerely,
Olivier Delangre
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- a member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This is a newer hotel in the French Quarter and its really nice and quiet. The staff were really helpful too.

Room Tip: Get those nearer to the lift for better Wi-fi connectivity
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wesley95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Dear wesley95,
Thank you for your compliment toward our location and my helpful colleagues. I will immediately pass your comments to them. This is really important for us especially when we are newly open.
Thank you again and I would welcome you in the near future.
Olivier Delangre
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- a member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Location is great, walking distance to old quarters and grand opera house and shopping malls.
Maybe because it's new so many teething problems : credit card machine did not work one morning, no staff in the restaurant on Sat evening, locked business centre.....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeoU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Dear MeoU,
Thank you for your review toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi on tripadvisor.com.
I am glad to know that you like our hotel in term of location which is in walking distance to the Opera House, Old Quarter and many shopping malls...
Regarding your comments on the credit card machine and no staff in the restaurant, I will have a seperate discussion with my colleagues and believe that those issues will not happen in the future.
For the locked business centre, may I explain that the Business Centre is open from 8am until 8pm. Out of that time, our Front Office colleagues are more than happy to support our guests should they have any queries.
Thank you and I look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in not a far distant future.
Olivier Delangre
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- a member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This is a newer hotel in Hanoi, and they are still working on the gym/spa area. However, the rest of the hotel is beautiful, and it's a great addition to larger, more luxury hotels in Hanoi. The ambient is akin to a W hotel, with modern and trendy furniture. The lobby bar area could be an excellent place for drinks, but right now it is mostly empty. The rate will probably go up once they are more establish, so it is a great value right now.

Location: If you do not need to be in the Old Quarter, the location is very nice. It's right next to the older sister Sofitel Metropole, and across from the Opera House. Also, many of the rooms face into the hotel's courtyard, so you do not hear the Hanoi traffic and the ubiquitous government loud speakers in the morning. It is also walking distance to Nha Hang Ngon (street food without the street), and the Hoa Kiem Lake is just a short walk away (less than 5 minutes). It is also just a 10 minute walk up to the Old Quarter area, so you can get away from the chaos of the Old Quarter without being too far away.

Service: The services were professional and you will not have a problem with communicating in English. It would be more or less what you expect from an international hotel.

Food: The breakfast buffet is excellent, very high quality. There was a small selection of Vietnamese food, including pho, and they were good. But the eggs made to order and the baguettes were very memorable. It also has a nice selection of French pastries as well as standard Western breakfast items.

Gym/Pool: The current gym is a 1 equipment deal, and the small pool was closed. but I think they are working on building the gym/pool/spa area. If the rest of the hotel is any indication, it should be very nice once it's completed.

Room: The room was was excellent, and it is quiet! The space is nice and well designed. It was a courtyard facing room, so it the lighting could be brighter to not feel so enclosed. But all the furnishings were modern and upscale.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank so_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Dear so_traveller,
Thank you for taking time to write your comments toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi.
It's my pleasure to hear that you are veru keen on our Location, Service, Food and Room. I am delighted to pass your compliment to my colleagues.
I am sorry that our Gym and Swimming pool were not ready yet by the time you were staying. However, I am now glad to let you know that they are in operation now. Regarding the spa, we are looking forward to have it ready by beginning of next year.
Thank you and I look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.
Olivier Delangre
General Manager
Hotel de l’Opera Hanoi- a member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#70 of 585 in Hanoi
712 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#68 of 585 in Hanoi
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#95 of 585 in Hanoi
2,122 reviews
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
2.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#83 of 585 in Hanoi
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
Address: 29 Trang Tien Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 585 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operatic Glamour in the Heart of Hanoi: Hotel de l'Opera offers travellers a sophisticated break near the iconic Hanoi Opera House. As soon as you arrive you can't fail to be won over by the magic of the setting and the theatrical interior, filled with rich shades, silk drapes and flamboyantly coloured furniture. The same decadence runs through the 107 rooms and suites that combine 21st Century comfort with French sophistication and grand decor. Just as impressive are La Fee Verte Bar renown for its signature Absinthe, and the hotel's restaurants Cafe Lautrec for Mediterranean inspired cuisine and Satine for Vietnamese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing