We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
Ranked #78 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Wendover, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fab hotel in great location”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Great hotel located close to the Opera House and Old Quarter and only a very short walk to the Turtle lake. The hotel does have a boutique feel with a central covered atrium, nice restaurant and great bar offering cocktails and DJ on some nights, although it was quite quiet when we were there and choose to walk to the Sofitel Metropole around the corner as their Bamboo bar had more atmosphere. Staff are very friendly and helpful with pretty goood English. When we arrived, the check in was seamless and we were upgraded to a suite (though I think this is because I have a platinum A Club loyalty card). The porters had our bags to our room within minutes. The room was fantastic, massive bed and I mean high! Amazing bathroom with roll top bath and lovely amenities. Also had a massive TV at the end of the bed, which was fine except you had to be on or in bed to watch it, the only downside of the room really. The room had the usual mini bar but also an expresso coffee machine! There is a fair amount of traffic noise, which can't be helped and I know they have some rooms facing into the atrium which no doubt will be quieter. The pool still wasn't finished when we were there and don't count on it being done soon. Absolutely fab hotel and very good value. Would stay here again without doubt if I was in Hanoi again....

Room Tip: Rooms facing the atrium will be quieter - or ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    472
    121
    34
    13
See reviews for
209
640
80
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

A lovely new hotel, well situated in central Hanoi, we stayed here for 3 separate nights over a week, managing 3 different rooms, which made for interesting comparisons. Firstly the good bits: I think these may have been the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Enormously high, they require a bit of a leap in (and I'm 5'8"!), but well worth it. Super set of toiletries and other essentials, including loofahs, with L'Occitane shower gels etc. Plenty of hanging space, bathrobes, and other useful bits and bobs. Public rooms are lovely, with a heavy scent of orange and cinnamon. Breakfast was good, with a range of offerings (including a range of slightly odd cakes, but hey ho!). Now the less good bits: it's not possible to have a bath if you have a twin room - you only get showers, which is a pain; the showers themselves are lovely and large, with a rain shower in the roof, and a smaller wall mounted shower if you don't want to get your hair wet... - as long as you stand at the far end of the shower room, because it's not possible to angle it downwards to stop your hair getting wet! The first room we stayed in was on the top floor, and had a really low ceiling, which was rather oppressive with the brown ceiling, although the other two rooms were much better in this respect. A flat screen TV is set into a picture frame, which is an excellent idea, sadly marred by the fact that the frame was about 3" too big all the way round. China in the restaurant looks lovely, but has some deeply irritating features - the side plates are oval, and not big enough to butter a slice of toast on, the cups have to be carefully placed back on the saucers in order to slot the handle into the hole for it, and why do they have to lay all the flatware at a peculiar angle at each setting? All fairly minor points, but irritating, in what could be a really lovely hotel.
By the way, if you stay on either a Saturday or Sunday, prepare yourself for the "improving" messages and music over the loudspeakers in the nearby Opera square!

Room Tip: Room on the top floor had a low ceiling
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaH27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear FionaH27,
Thank you for your review toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi on tripadvisor.com.
It's my pleasure to hear that you like our hotel in terms of location, the mattress quality, room's amenities, breakfast, china in the restaurant…
We highly noted your comments toward the hotel because we think that they are really important for us to continuously upgrade our service quality.
Thank you again and I look forward to seeing you soon for your next stay at our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Olivier Delangre
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- a member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 December 2011

After a long trip from Europe arriving for the first time in Vietnam this brandnew hotel gives you a warm welcom with small but luxirious rooms with fantastic bed where you can rest after the long journey. The bed in de delux room takes almost the hole space but you have enough storage for your luggage. Bathroom also small but luxirious with all you need.
All in all is de splendid decoration dramatic as you would expect from a opera scenery.
Rooms faces the court with calmin waterfall. Reception is professional en most of them speek fluently english. The oposite with de restaurant staff. They need to improve there servicelevel. Breakfast very french en fantastic choises. To point out the superb bread en pastry choice. Good juices en wel presented.One of the best breakfast we had in Vietnam.

Biggest minor: We where promised in advance that pool en spa would be open.
When we arrived is was not finished en there was not even a expected openigsdate. very disapointing , especially when weather is rainy en little bit cold.

Another item: If the have receptions or presentations in the court. You might get woken up when you have your lunch nap.

All in all you get a five star feeling with five star pricing in a perfect position in center with brandnew luxurious but smaller rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear tripadvisor member,
Thank you for taking times to write a review toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi.
It's great to hear that you like our hotel with regards to the room, the bed, bathroom, decoration, breakfast and the professtional service delivered by our Front Office team.
I am sorry for the pool and spa problem. For your kind information that now our pool is already operation and the spa is expected to be on within this quarter.
We highly appreciate your comments and we are on the way of upgrading our restaurant service quality.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Olivier Delangre
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- a member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The triple F hotel in Hanoi! Aside its perfect location, the Hotel de l'Opera is just an amazing and truly unique hotel. Traveling a lot for work in Asia, I can say without any doubt that this hotel is the best I have never been. You will find yourself in the old Hanoi but with a modern touch as soon as you will get in your room. Interior design is astonishing and the surelevated king size bed is a must! When it comes to the bathroom, again, no hotel can beat theirs! Hotel de l'Opera has become my new standard and make me feel miserable in every other hotels I am staying at. I can't wait my next trip to Hanoi.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but I will definitely recommend you the ones with the view on the Opera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deForge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Enveloped in our sumptuous bed we could recharge our batteries after a hard days walking the jangling streets . Our deluxe room was eccentrically decorated with eclectic lighting. The power shower encased in coral like glittering tiles was deliciously refreshing with my favourite shower gels and shampoos from l occitane a great touch. The breakfast the best I have had in Asia beats all . From authentic French baguette with passion fruit jam and Vietnamese congee and pho and the old favourites . Delicate French pastries obviously baked by French chefs and even patisserie . Also exquisite vanilla tea. We saw other rooms like the suites and they were amazing , we paid less than 100 pounds per night extraordinary value for five star luxury . A definite addition to Vietnams tourism . However we did think it odd that they took 400 dollars from our credit card and then said they would refund it if we didn't spend it in our time there ! Very odd !!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear misstree,
Thank you for your review toward Hotel de l’Opera Hanoi on tripadvisor.com.
It’s my pleasure to know that you are keen on our hotel regarding the location, the décor of the room, room amenities, the breakfast and tea. I am also glad to hear that our hotel is that of extraordinary value for five star luxury as per your comment.
Regarding your concern on the USD 400 taken from your credit card, may I explain that this is as per our hotel’s policy and the amount is to be released upon check-out if you do not spend out of that amount during your stay.
Thank you and I look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Olivier Delangre
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- a member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Considering the amount we paid- I thought this was a very good hotel. Liked the decor in the room- a little Miami-cool like. Reasonably friendly service. Rooms are reasonably large- half the rooms look on to the internal courtyard (we had one of those on the top floor)- but actually even those were pretty nice. Decent facilities (decent gym and pool). Liked the location which was reasonably near the old town, but not in the middle of it which would have been a bit too hectic. Breakfast could have been better- the other hotels we stayed in in Vietnam (Pilgrimage village in Hue, Boutique in Hoi An etc) had better ones. Also the sound of construction (bits of the hotel are still being built) woke us up at 0700 one morning- didn't happen the next day after we complained. But all in all- I liked the hotel- good for a City break. Not a huge fan of Hanoi though- but if you do visit- this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scalpel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear scalpel73,
Thank you for taking your time to write your review toward Hotel de l’Opera Hanoi.
It’s great to hear that you like our hotel in terms of décor, friendly service, reasonably large room, decent facilities and the location.
I highly appreciate your comments toward the breakfast and for your kind information that for this January, we start a new concept of buffet with Salad & Dessert bar presented at buffet counter while for the main course, people can select from our innovative a-la-carte menu.
Thank you and I am pleased to welcome you for your next visit to Hanoi.
Yours sincerely,
Olivier Delangre
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- a member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We stayed at the hotel de l'opera a total of three nights (once two nights and once one night) and hot upgraded twice, once to the superior room and the last night to the suite. We found it very nice of staff to be so keen to upgrade us. They were also very accomodating to let us do early check in at 6am as we arrived by night train to Hanoi.

Staff english is simply perfect and the overall service and experience what you would expect from a good 4 star hotel in Europe.

The room, which could look a bit questionable from a style point of biew to some people, are large, the bathroom large and very enjoyable.

The breakfast was very good with a large selection of things. Only disappointment was that, at USD25 per person, we found it a bit pricey for Hanoi, especially compared to the price of rooms which seem very reasonable to us.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuillaumePharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#69 of 586 in Hanoi
715 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#68 of 586 in Hanoi
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#95 of 586 in Hanoi
2,124 reviews
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
2.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#82 of 586 in Hanoi
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
Address: 29 Trang Tien Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operatic Glamour in the Heart of Hanoi: Hotel de l'Opera offers travellers a sophisticated break near the iconic Hanoi Opera House. As soon as you arrive you can't fail to be won over by the magic of the setting and the theatrical interior, filled with rich shades, silk drapes and flamboyantly coloured furniture. The same decadence runs through the 107 rooms and suites that combine 21st Century comfort with French sophistication and grand decor. Just as impressive are La Fee Verte Bar renown for its signature Absinthe, and the hotel's restaurants Cafe Lautrec for Mediterranean inspired cuisine and Satine for Vietnamese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing