We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
Ranked #83 of 606 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Wow this Hotel is amazing. Best service, the highest & most comfortable beds and a Hotel that has may themed areas for relaxing and having that well earned drink. From casual settings to formal dining it was an amazing experience. It is located near the Paris end of Hanoi and within walking distance to the old and new areas. The room were most comfortable, housekeeping was excellent and very prompt when called. There was no traffic noise so you are guanteed a quiet night sleep.The gym lacked equipment, there was no sauna as yet and the pool was to cold to swim in. Overall a most impressive Hotel in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golflink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Dear Golflink,
Thank you for your review toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi on tripadvisor.com.
It is my pleasure to know that our hotel has amazed you. We highly noted your comments as referred as best service, comfortable beds, nice drink, good location, quite place and excellent housekeeping team.
I am sorry for the gym and sauna issues. For your kind information that more high-end equipments for gym are being installed in our gym and the sauna is expected to be on operation in the near future. We highly noted your comments toward the cold swimming pool and the heating system is being upgraded by our Engineering team.
Thank you and I hope to welcome you soon for your next visit to Hanoi.
Yours sincerely,
Olivier Delangre
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- a member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 1,550 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Singapore, Singapore
1
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Very Good Class Hotel but reservation has to be done early especially prior to the festive period.
The mattresses although a bit higher for us Asians but they were very comfortable so much so that our friends did not want to have any breakfast so that they can continue to sleep in longer!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Hi, we stayed at these hotel in december, we were there for our honeymoon. This place is really nice, for what we saw it is one of the best hotels in Hanoi. Great location, service, staff, rooms are big enough and clean, we did not have any complaints. Although the city is not quite what we expected, so be ready to be surprised, and beware, it is a dirty city. But a beautiful one.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Dear Mmichan,
Thank you for writing a review on Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi on tripadvisor.com.
I am pleased to hear that our hotel was selected by you for your honeymoon and you quite like our hotel's location, service, staff and room. I will personally pass your compliments to my colleagues as I think it's really encouraging for us to continously upgrade our service quality.
Thank you again and I look forward to seeing you soon in Hanoi for your next stay.
Yours sincerely,
Olivier Delangre
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- a member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

de l'Opera offers great value for money. It is located at the higher end area of Hanoi (one street away from the chaos) near the Opera House, Hilton, branded shops like Gucci, Longchamp, LV, Cartier etc. Service from the bellboy, front office to the housekeeping is fantastic. Room is great but the only shortcoming is the shower mixer of which the volume of water is difficult to control & the shower head holder has a limited angle to it (hope the management know what i mean & look into it). Overall we enjoyed the stay in de l'Opera.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beckie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Dear beckie c,
Thank you for spending times to write a review on Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi on tripadvisor.com.
I am glad to hear that you like our hotel in terms of location, room, service quality of Bell team, Front Office and Housekeeping.
We highly noted your comments on the shower mixer and our Engineering team will take care of fixing it.
Thank you again and I hope to welcome your next stay in not a far distant future.
Yours sincerely,
Olivier Delangre
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- a member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed here at the end of our trip. Difficult to see in the room it was dark and needed more light. At checkout we were billed for someone else's dinner and they were quite fixated on our minibar consumption eventhough we repeatedly told them we had not had anything from it

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsianTravellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Dear AsianTravellina,
Thank you for your review on Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi.
I am sorry for the billing issue you have encountered during your stay here. Such issue has been rectified immediately.
Thank you and I would welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit to Hanoi.
Yours sincerely,
Olivier Delangre
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- a member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Great hotel located close to the Opera House and Old Quarter and only a very short walk to the Turtle lake. The hotel does have a boutique feel with a central covered atrium, nice restaurant and great bar offering cocktails and DJ on some nights, although it was quite quiet when we were there and choose to walk to the Sofitel Metropole around the corner as their Bamboo bar had more atmosphere. Staff are very friendly and helpful with pretty goood English. When we arrived, the check in was seamless and we were upgraded to a suite (though I think this is because I have a platinum A Club loyalty card). The porters had our bags to our room within minutes. The room was fantastic, massive bed and I mean high! Amazing bathroom with roll top bath and lovely amenities. Also had a massive TV at the end of the bed, which was fine except you had to be on or in bed to watch it, the only downside of the room really. The room had the usual mini bar but also an expresso coffee machine! There is a fair amount of traffic noise, which can't be helped and I know they have some rooms facing into the atrium which no doubt will be quieter. The pool still wasn't finished when we were there and don't count on it being done soon. Absolutely fab hotel and very good value. Would stay here again without doubt if I was in Hanoi again....

Room Tip: Rooms facing the atrium will be quieter - or ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

A lovely new hotel, well situated in central Hanoi, we stayed here for 3 separate nights over a week, managing 3 different rooms, which made for interesting comparisons. Firstly the good bits: I think these may have been the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Enormously high, they require a bit of a leap in (and I'm 5'8"!), but well worth it. Super set of toiletries and other essentials, including loofahs, with L'Occitane shower gels etc. Plenty of hanging space, bathrobes, and other useful bits and bobs. Public rooms are lovely, with a heavy scent of orange and cinnamon. Breakfast was good, with a range of offerings (including a range of slightly odd cakes, but hey ho!). Now the less good bits: it's not possible to have a bath if you have a twin room - you only get showers, which is a pain; the showers themselves are lovely and large, with a rain shower in the roof, and a smaller wall mounted shower if you don't want to get your hair wet... - as long as you stand at the far end of the shower room, because it's not possible to angle it downwards to stop your hair getting wet! The first room we stayed in was on the top floor, and had a really low ceiling, which was rather oppressive with the brown ceiling, although the other two rooms were much better in this respect. A flat screen TV is set into a picture frame, which is an excellent idea, sadly marred by the fact that the frame was about 3" too big all the way round. China in the restaurant looks lovely, but has some deeply irritating features - the side plates are oval, and not big enough to butter a slice of toast on, the cups have to be carefully placed back on the saucers in order to slot the handle into the hole for it, and why do they have to lay all the flatware at a peculiar angle at each setting? All fairly minor points, but irritating, in what could be a really lovely hotel.
By the way, if you stay on either a Saturday or Sunday, prepare yourself for the "improving" messages and music over the loudspeakers in the nearby Opera square!

Room Tip: Room on the top floor had a low ceiling
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaH27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Dear FionaH27,
Thank you for your review toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi on tripadvisor.com.
It's my pleasure to hear that you like our hotel in terms of location, the mattress quality, room's amenities, breakfast, china in the restaurant…
We highly noted your comments toward the hotel because we think that they are really important for us to continuously upgrade our service quality.
Thank you again and I look forward to seeing you soon for your next stay at our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Olivier Delangre
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- a member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#99 of 606 in Hanoi
2,402 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#43 of 606 in Hanoi
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#77 of 606 in Hanoi
2,021 reviews
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
2 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#80 of 606 in Hanoi
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi

Address: 29 Trang Tien Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 606 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £82 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operatic Glamour in the Heart of Hanoi: Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel offers travellers a sophisticated break near the iconic Hanoi Opera House. As soon as you arrive, you can't fail to be won over by the magic of the setting and the theatrical interior, filled with rich shades, silk drapes and flamboyantly coloured furniture. The same decadence runs through the 107 rooms and suites that combine 21st Century comfort with French sophistication and grand decor. Just as impressive are La Fee Verte Bar renown for its signature Absinthe, and the hotel's restaurants Cafe Lautrec for Mediterranean inspired cuisine and Satine for Vietnamese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing