We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa(Hanoi)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,630)
Filter reviews
1,630 results
Traveller rating
871
567
138
39
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
871
567
138
39
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopera housem gallerycafe lautreccentral atriumgrand suitefrench quarterold quarterpillow menuhoan kiem lakebeautiful hotelcomfortable bedhalong baysofitel metropolebreakfast buffetstreet noiseboutique hotelwould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,064 - 1,069 of 1,630 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Certainly a lovely hotel inside and out. This is very different from the usual international luxury brand names like Sheraton or
Hilton etc, definitely more cosy with a very distinct design and decor edge. It's well situated in a rather fancy district surrounded by brand name boutiques and shopping, away from the more crowded hustle and bustle of the old Quarter but still within walking distance. Rooms are spacious and bed is comfortable (a little soft for my liking) but bathroom is lovely. My room was the grand deluxe but still it had no bathtub, a shame as it would have made it perfect. Breakfast is nice, not an extensive menu but they make excellent eggs and have a good selection of fruit. All in its a good choice to stay for a couple of days and a good location if you want some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Wennie W,

Thank you for taking time to write about us on the site after your recent stay with us.

It would be more than a pleasure to receive just a gracious comment to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. And I am happy to know that you found our hotel as a 'cosy with a very distinct design and decor'; and that you like the spacious room, comfortable bed and the extensive menu at the restaurant.

This is for kind information that we have bath tub in L'Opera Suite and L'Opera Grand Suite and we look forward to having you stay with us at the either of the two room catergories upon your next visit to Hanoi.

Thank you very much and you are always welcome at the hotel.

With kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The hotel has a beautiful, ostentatious design style, making it stand out from other 5 star hotels. We were given welcome drinks, on check in, and this should be practised at all other 5 star hotels. The room was of a good size and had separate dressing room and bathroom. Furnishings were of high quality. The free in-room wifi was very helpful too. We had dinner in one of the hotel's restaurants, Satine. The Vietnamese food was mostly good, but it was very pricey.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear anizen,

Thank you for your review on Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi on the site.

I am delightful to hear that you had an enjoyable memorable while staying with us, and especially when you mention the hotel with beautiful design, the room with free in-room wifi and the food at Satine restaurant.

Anizen, thanks again for your kind note and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Hanoi.

With kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This is really a luxurious boutique hotel in the true sense -- medium sized, uniquely and beautifully designed, service-oriented, relaxing lobby & courtyard, and located not too far from the old quarter of Hanoi (which is OK to visit but not to stay because of noise and you have to battle with cars, bikes & pedestrians there). The area around L'Opera Hotel has a wide pavement, so it is easier to walk. In many contexts, too many hotels call themselves "boutique hotels" when in fact they are (a) tiny, (b) offer no baggage service, (c) often have no restaurant/room service, (d) are made of cheap materials with poor furnishings. However, L'Opera MGallery Hotel is genuinely boutique; there is real character in the designs from the lobby to the room. The room is big, with a separation of bath/toilet, which is further separated from the bedroom. I love the high bed (good for people with bad backs), and the pillows are the most comfortable I had slept on. Toiletries are classic Roger et Gallet brand. There is prompt service of checking in & porterage. The courtyard is visually stunning, and relaxing -- April is not the high season, so it is ideal to be there with few people. Once it is crowded in high season, the charm of the design may be lost by noisy, chatty guests. I love medium-sized hotels like this, and I would not choose 5-stars brand name hotels with mass hordes of guests. I have not eaten at the hotel's restaurant, but that is not an issue because there are so many good Vietnamese restaurants all over Hanoi city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear Hilltriber,

Thank you for your gracious comment toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi subsequent to your recent visit.

I am so happy to hear that you found the hotel 'visual feast near the Opera House' with uniquely and beautifully designed boutique elements, comfortable bedroom, stunning and relaxing courtyard and prompt check-in service.

At MGallery, we strive hard to exceed guests' expectation then your comment gives us big encouragement.

Thank you again for posting the review and allow us to having another chance to welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in the city center, just a step away from the Opera House, the Old Quarter and Hoan Kiem Lake. Stayed in this hotel five nights while in the Hanoi area. The staff was very helpful. There was a medical problem and the hotel found an international clinic in town, arranged an appointment with an English speaking doctor, called a cab and within the hour, the medical issue had been taken care of. The breakfast buffet was among the best.
Loved, loved the bed!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxine579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear maxine579,

Thank you for taking time to write a tripadvisor response after your recent visit.

I am delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us, especially when you found we have a great location, helpful staff and great breakfast buffet.

I do hope that we will have another opprtunity to welcome you back in not a far distant future

Thank you and with kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The hotel rooms are great with nice design touches and great comfort as is expected from a 4 star hotel. Breakfast although overpriced and Options poorly explained is very very luxurious and offers both Asian and western cuisines. The only problem with this hotel is that you just want to sleep there and nothing else as the ambience is completely lacking. The courtyard is always empty as well as the bar and restaurant. The swimming pool area is not glamorous whatsoever and feels like a service room, such a shame really. in the end we realised we had to go to the very close by Legend Metropole Sofitel for laid back poolside drinks and dinner and experience that " colonial nostalgy" feel.
Also the French name of the hotel ( Accor beings French hotel chain and Hanoi a former colonial city, fair enough) does not help with taxis finding it... Finally we were extremely disappointed by the service provided by the Inhouse travel agent. The tour to Halong Bay we chose was poorly described to us after we declined the luxury 170 USD/ person one and what we got was a very uncomfortable 4h ride out, 4 h ride back in a van, with no ventilation, straight back seats (not a coach although we were told so) on vietnam's very bumpy and unpredictable roads. Not an enjoyable experience by far. We couldn't even complain as I was so sick the entire day after probably due to food poisoning from the boat lunch to Halong Bay...

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lauradezil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear lauradezil,

Thank you for taking time to write about us on tripadvisor.com subsequent to your recent stay with us.

I am glad to know that you found our rooms comfortable and great with 'nice design boutique touch' and our breakfast is 'very luxurious'.

However I am sorry to learn that other services mentioned did not meet your expectation. My sincere apologies for these.

On a separate note, for your kind information that the tour desk is run by a 3rd party travel agent, but we take your comments and will send your message to the travel desk so that they can improve the quality of service.

Lauradezil, thank you again for sharing your experience on the site. And please allow us to have another opportunity to welcome you back when the occasion permits.

With kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews