We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room but second level quite noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
Ranked #85 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Check-in fast but counter staff not as friendly as I have hoped. Maybe just not her day. Concierge and bell boy were very friendly which helps improved the overall check-in experience.

Was given room at level 2 which was quite noisy. Hotel did provide ear plugs which helps with the overall sleep experience.

Bed was fantastic! Had a relatively good sleep and did not notice too much noise after putting ear plugs.

Breakfast spread was quite limited but hotel did offer ala carte menu which compensate the lack of selection. Breakfast experience was enhanced by the friendly service by the staff.

Overall, a decent experience but impressed by some of the most friendly services i have had.

Room Tip: Not sure but definitely try to avoid level two street facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avengers121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear Avengers121,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about the recent stay at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. It was our pleasure to learn that you loved our comfy bed and had a good sleep as well.

Great to hear that your engagement with our staff was positive and it helped to enhance your overall experience. However, it seems that there are still some minor points in the check-in process and breakfast experience that we have failed to satisfy you. I will take your comments seriously to ensure that whenever you come back, your stay will be more enjoyable.

Again, thank you for your kind feedback. Have a nice day.

Regards,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The first time we stayed at the Opera, the service was great, the room was perfect, and we ordered room service and had the most amazing burger EVER! That was the main reason we came back the 2nd time after our cruise to halong bay. However the 2nd time was more expensive, the room had many problems, and the food was nowhere near the same quality! The burger patty didn't even fit half of the bun, and my boyfriend even threw up afterwards. The shower didn't work, and the people working we're not as friendly or helpful.
So it was great one night, and not worth the money the other. I would rate quality with consistency, and this had neither. Hotel was beautiful though! That must count for something.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank miki1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear miki1029,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. We are so delighted to hear that you much enjoyed your first stay with us. But I am so sorry about all the experience you had for the second stay. I would like to sincere apologize for several minor incidences by our staff's carelessness during your stay with us, such as the room condition or food quality and the staff friendliness.
I will pass your comment to our service team, please kindly rest assured that we will have appropriate measure to fix the problem. I hope the negative points will not deter you from staying with us again.
Thank you again for sharing your experience on the site. And please allow us to have another opportunity to welcome you back when the occasion permits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel has been fitted out so well, love the furniture and styling. Our room was huge and had the biggest, comfiest bed I've ever slept in. Our room overlooked the hotels inner courtyard.
The daily breakfast was delicious, with many different menu options as well as the buffet included. The location was perfect for exploring on foot.

The only thing I would caution you about is the tour bookings in the lobby. My husband booked a private Halong Bay tour for us, as it was our honeymoon and we thought it would be a better option that buying anywhere else. However the tour was disappointing. When we got there,the boat we were shown was nothing compared to the one we would be traveling on. We specified that we did not eat seafood to the tour guide and he assured us that we would have a different lunch served to us. When we sat down we were presented with a big plate of unshelled prawns, we were given one warm can of drink and told anything extra we had to pay for. I think we paid around $200usd each, and I can guarantee you could pay for the same experience for around $30. Book your tours somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wooly1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Wooly1981,

Thank you very much for sharing your stay experience at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. We are delighted to learn that you loved the hotel style and its comforts, especially the bed. However, I am very sorry about your trip to Halong Bay. As you may know, the tour desk is operated by a third party but I will talk to the manager about your case and I believe they will take proper measures for their service improvement.
Thanks a lot for your very kind words to us and we hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank sally_519
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I recently stayed at Hotel de l'Opera in Hanoi for 4 nights. Despite some negative reviews from other users, there was nothing I could fault the hotel or staff for.

All the staff from reception, restaurant to house-keeping were friendly and helpful. The room was quiet with black out curtains - I had no disturbing noise from the inner courtyard, and the bed, typical of this hotel group, was like sleeping on a cloud.

The hotel is located on a busy street location, so I would recommend having a courtyard room rather than one facing the street. As in any main city, there may be traffic noise although I didn't have any problems.

The food was amazing - a wide choice of western and Vietnamese dishes for both breakfast and dinner.

I definitely recommend this hotel when staying in Hanoi. Loved the decor - very theatrical and dramatic and an interesting change from the usual bland hotel design. Generously sized toiletries are provided in the bathroom.

Room Tip: I had a courtyard room which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mikeyytokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear mikeyytokyo,

Thank you for sparing your time writing these kind words for Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. It has been a great pleasure reading your reviews and learning that you are satisfied with every aspect of our hotel: the friendliness of our staff from all departments, as well as our food, hotel and room's signature theatrical ambience, We are delighted to see that you've had a fantastic and memorable experience at our hotel, just as we always strive to deliver for every of our guests.

We would like to offer our great gratitude for having chosen Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi and for your encouraging and motivating compliment. We do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel we thought- wow. The staff were very friendly, our deluxe sweet was a slice of luxury, and the location (you can see the opera house from the terrace by the pool) was excellent. The bed was the comfiest I've ever slept in. We were impressed by the cocktails and the breakfast. You can order from the a la carte menu and go to the buffet (where the honey runs out from a huge piece of honeycomb!). Everything was delicious.
However, one thing really let it down for me. I was so excited to do a proper workout at the gym after not going for weeks due to travelling. However, the air con was at a constant 24 degrees!!! I asked them to make it colder, and they turned it down but didn't actually make it colder at all (we found the same in our room). This basically meant I couldn't really work out properly, was pouring with sweat and felt physically sick. A gym should be 18 degrees max, and the fact that I asked them to make it colder and they didn't succeed is just not good enough for a hotel of this calibre.
Nevertheless, I would still recommend it (just stay out of the gym).

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Amy B,

Thank you very much for sparing your time sharing your experience at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. First, let us express our sincerest apologies for the inconvinience caused to you by our air-con system at the gym and also in your room. We had informed the engineering team and had them look into the the issue. We are really sorry that the problem were not thoroughly solved right at the time you were staying with us.
On the other hand, we are glad to learn that you've greatly enjoyed other hotel amenities and services, namely our breakfast, our beds and our staff, which are also recognized by many other guests as sought-after features of the hotel. We would like to thank you for these kind words. We do hope to welcome you again in the future and offer you a truly excellent experience next time.

Kind Regards,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a wonderful hotel.
staff is very serviceminded and helpful

rooms are nice.

good location in city of hanoi, close to the french area. Walking distance to the lake.

breakfast super super good.
the restaurant is also good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamillaBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear CamillaBK,
.
Thank you very much for your kind compliments. It is a great pleasure for us to learn that you have experienced a wonderful stay at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi and that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel, especially our staff and our food service . As you may already realize during stay,all departments in the hotel always work our best to strive for perfection in service. We would certainly forward your words to the hotel management teams, as customer satisfaction is always one of the most valuable recognitions for our effort.

We would like to offer you our great gratitude for having chosen and also for sharing these kind words. We do look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi.

Kind Regards,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.8 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#40 of 607 in Hanoi
862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#102 of 607 in Hanoi
2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#76 of 607 in Hanoi
2,051 reviews
2 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#82 of 607 in Hanoi
1,927 reviews
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi

Address: 29 Trang Tien Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £75 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operatic Glamour in the Heart of Hanoi: Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel offers travellers a sophisticated break near the iconic Hanoi Opera House. As soon as you arrive, you can't fail to be won over by the magic of the setting and the theatrical interior, filled with rich shades, silk drapes and flamboyantly coloured furniture. The same decadence runs through the 107 rooms and suites that combine 21st Century comfort with French sophistication and grand decor. Just as impressive are La Fee Verte Bar renown for its signature Absinthe, and the hotel's restaurants Cafe Lautrec for Mediterranean inspired cuisine and Satine for Vietnamese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing