We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in the middle of the mix”
Review of Hanoi Tirant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Ranked #77 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Nice place to stay. Handy to the action. Staff attentive to detail and happy to arrange things like the puppet show and Hanoi tours. Had 4 nights there. The first three were in a not overly big room. Adequate but not big. The Tirant took care of our main luggage when went to Halong Bay. On return we had a room that was much bigger. Good free internet. Breakfast is a rather nice complimentary buffet one. The only complaint would be the air conditioning is evidently the same for all rooms. Much better to have individual control.

Room Tip: The one up on the 8th floor is a beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank riachella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

980 - 986 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

The hotel is situated right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the Old Quarter which was pretty exciting. On the top of the hotel is a great bar/restaurant to escape the going on's of the streets below. We really enjoyed the location. Many of the tourist attractions and great places to eat are within walking distance. It's not a massive hotel, but yet has everything you would want - including a swimming pool on the roof. The service was great too. Us Aussies could learn a trick or two from the Vietnamese.

Room Tip: As the hotel is in a busy section of the city, I imagine for quieter rooms would be nearer the top t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bee_and_Kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Staff were helpful and friendly from the second we arrived until we left. The breakfast had plenty of choice, Asian and European. The location was a 2 minute walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and right in the heart of the old quarter. We paid for the basic room but were upgraded to a room with a window which overlooked the street. We did not experience any noise, and enjoyed watching the goings on. The room, bed and bathroom were large, and the free computer in the room was a bonus.
The hotel was clean and well maintained, and the roof top bar had great views over the old town, with nice food and cocktails.
Would stay again and recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the centre of Hanoi, near to everything.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jones686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Tirant hotel is located in the heart of the hustle and bustle of the old quarter. The staff are friendly, accommodative and nothing is a hassle. We made the mistake of not taking their offer of airport pickup, which is a lot cheaper and quicker than any taxi. The staff also helped with organising tours and any price queries we had.

The free breakfast was also a bonus and the views from the room are some of the best.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank lalatheadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Tirant Hotel in Hanoi is a nice hotel, but I do have some warnings. The staff is very professional and courteous. They were willing to meet every need. The complimentary breakfast was excellent with plenty of options. We didn't dine at the rooftop restaurant, but we did enjoy the nice view of Old Market from up there. The room was neat, but I don't see any need to have a window room (you can choose). Either you'll be facing the extremely busy and noisy Old Market, or you'll have a quiet room with a view of a wall or someone's laundry. The rooms are simple and bathrooms nice. Overall nice hotel, but I would choose the quieter and less hectic area south of the lake if I had to choose a hotel over again. In addition, they charge an extra 3% for using a credit card. I'm not sure if that is standard in Vietnam but something to be aware of.

Room Tip: Choose a room with no windows and away from the street if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Qosmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hanoi Tirant back in mid 2013 and we couldn't have been happier with our experience. Vivian Nguyen was amazingly helpful in organising further accommodation in Vietnam and was extremely kind, had brilliant English and gave us many great tips and ideas. the hotel itself was lovely very clean tidy and cool and staff were impeccable, we would stay again for sure and have already been passing on there details to other friends. We loved our welcome drink! thanks so much again
Adele Australia

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Adele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at the Trant twice in December -- from Dec 20-24 and then again on Christmas night. The Tirant is one of many small hotels in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, but we'd recommend this one because of the service, location and the view. At 8 stories, it's the tallest hotel in the Old Quarter and has 3 of the highest levels (restaurant & two terraces, one including an outdoor pool) available to all guests. The buffet breakfast was generous and delicious, staff were exceedingly helpful, and the rooms were quiet and clean. Location is ideal to visit many of the major sites and you really feel like you're in the heart of things because of all the bustle and activity.

Because we took one overnight trip, we asked the Tirant to keep our main luggage until we returned. They were generous enough to do this for free.

We only ate one night at the Tirant, and the food was quite good. The only reason we didn't eat there more often is because we wanted to experience the myriad of food experiences in the Old Quarter.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#100 of 599 in Hanoi
554 reviews
0.0 mi away
May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Silk Queen Grand Hotel
Silk Queen Grand Hotel
#158 of 599 in Hanoi
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#70 of 599 in Hanoi
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Tirant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Tirant Hotel

Address: 38 36, Gia Ngu Str | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £49 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Tirant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tirant Hotel is brand new boutique hotel with ideal location on 36-38 Gia Ngu Street - the heart of Hanoi, is a short walk to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake (just 2 minutes), beautiful architecture of the Grand Cathedral, Opera House and a fascinating slice of centuries old life in Hanoi, the old Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hanoi Tirant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing