We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & nice backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Backpackers Hostel - Original
Ranked #29 of 371 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good & nice backpackers”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

First backpackers we stayed in in Hanoi. Stayed in a 5 bed dorm for $5USD a night. Rooms were clean and tidy. Free beer at happyhour was fun. Close to lots of great tourist attractions. we booked our halong bay trip through the hostel which was great fun! Really friendly staff. We had a medication that needed to be kept refrigerated which they did for us :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatassiaPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    72
    31
    3
    9
See reviews for
1
41
100
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

On our 5month trip across, we came along central backpackers hostel hanoi. A good place to crash, fairly cheap. good free beer and good bed.

Sadly they have a really big mess in the reservation, confirmation and booking system. So in the morning u never know wheter ur bed is free for the next night, or if u have to move to another bed, or even to another hostel... that makes it a bit tiring,

anyway,

good party place

happy travelling

Roman

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanWeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The staff are helpful and very friendly. The hostel helped organise day trips and forward bus ticktes. The hostels is perfect to meet other travellers and also local people. Everything worked really well, I will defenitely return to this hostel when I am back to Hanoi!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here only for one night after es spring from a horrendous hostel. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm for $5 each. They have happy hour with free beer. Great way to meet people. They also do tours to halong bay, unfortunately we didn't know about this and had already booked up with a different company. But people we spoke to would recommend their tours. Would stay here again if we went back to Hanoi. Dorms also have a balcony

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ameliabeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We absolutely loved staying here. It had everything you could want from free breakfast and free BEER, to decent beds and lockers. The bar was a great place to hang out and we enjoyed reading the graffiti on the walls. The staff were great, provided some good offers on trips and tours and were more than helpful when we requested to stay a few more nights. Only downsides were no lock on our dorm bathroom and our main door was always unlocked due to other guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Nice welcome, friendly staff, the place IS a bit decrepid but the rooms and dorms are fine, great place to meet people, free wifi, very happy hour, free bia hoi (draught beer) from 7.30 TO 8.30, it's not bery drinkable but it's free, it's only 5$ a night with a free breakfast, okay it's not the best brekkie ever but at this price who's complaining,
I would heartily recommend, such a pity I didn't book my onward trip to Laos with them and ended up in the rip off capital of the world the [--] known as Dien Bien Phu

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pauldkelly2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Arrived here after a nightmare bus ride from Hue, the staff were friendly and we were able to check in straight away. The shower seemed to have a limited amount of hot water (i got in after a few others so only had part hot water) but it was clean and modern. The beds have quilts which made the beds super comfy. Within a few hours of being there we had met some people in our dorm and arranged to Catba. We didn't go with the hostel tour but by ourselves. The free beer is available for 1hr and creates a great atmosphere. I would have given more stars but felt the tour could be a little cheaper and also the rooms at $22 a night seem a bit steep. If you looking for somewhere to party and meet people this place is great. Some people we met had been there for 2+ weeks. Just room wise you can get more for your money. Dorm wise this is great!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozg_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
0.1 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
0.5 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#10 of 371 in Hanoi
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chien Hostel
Chien Hostel
#71 of 371 in Hanoi
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#13 of 371 in Hanoi
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Backpackers Hostel - Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Backpackers Hostel - Original

Property: Central Backpackers Hostel - Original
Address: 16 Ly Quoc Su Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 371 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true backpacker's hostel owned & operated by an awesome Vietnamese guy so I threw on my cape and created a hostel like no other and you know we've got it right! Why only 5 bucks you ask? 'Looks so good, there must a catch. Is there hidden costs?' Nope! ....you're a backpacker right? You're on a budget right? So we cater the price to your needs! Once you are here ... You simply won't want to leave! - The best things about central backpackers are the crazy travellers, super friendly staff, comfy beds, free internet, Breakfast and most of all Free Beer from 7:00pm to 8:00pm every night! Air conditioned, clean rooms, hot showers and did I mention free Beer. - Tour: Do the Halong bay and Sapa trips with us, we guarantee you will get the BEST time and the BEST one with the cheapest price! For Halong Bay tour: we are the 2nd organizer HALONG BAY PARTY trip for guest booking only through the Central Backpackers hostel only. And it is the 2nd tour in Hanoi that stays on a private island in the Cat Ba National Park where is next to the Castaway island and you can join in the crew of young and great fun people and have your own beach with the Bungalows, for Rock climbing, Kayaking and partying. For Sapa trek: We do offer the Sapa trekking tour and going to stay at homestay with the family of tribe hill people and we will show you all of the nicest part of Sapa like the brilliant landscape, the real live, the culture and staying far from the tourist area. We also do some daily tour around of Hanoi as Hanoi city tour, Hoa Lu- Tam Coc, Perfume pagoda, Mai Chau village, Phong Nha cave and open bus, flight or train ticket, visa... Everything you want we can get it. We look forward to meeting you and remember, Happy Hour starts at 7:00PM every night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Central Backpackers Hostel - Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing