We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great venue and hot showers with plenty of water!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Central Backpackers Hostel - Original
Ranked #31 of 405 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed here for about 10 days when originally I'd only planned on 5. This was, in part, due to the awesome, friendly nature of the staff and also their helpfulness. They genuinely act as friends rather than employees and will not only give you advice on where to go and what to do, but also go with you and party the night away! Too many stories built up over my time here and also on the trip to Ninh Binh with the soon to be manager of the new Central Backpackers! Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Central Backpackers Hostel - Original
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed in Central Backpackers when I first arrived in Hanoi and I loved every second of it. One of the best things about Central Backpackers is the people who work there and the owners. They become like your family away from home. I have been living in Hanoi for almost a year now and I still go back to Central Backpackers for a good time and to see my family away from home. The rooms are great, there's good internet and a printer if you need to print out any booking information etc. There is always good music (you can also choose what music you want to play there), cheap booze, and good company...and free beer every night! If you are looking for a good party, you are in luck as Central Backpackers takes you out to all the hot spots in Hanoi. The staff are also just the most wonderful, helpful staff and will do their best to help you with you anything you may need. How can you not love Central Backpackers. I'd highly recommend Central Backpackers to anyone who is looking for a good time, quality people and most of all...free beer :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethLoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

First backpackers we stayed in in Hanoi. Stayed in a 5 bed dorm for $5USD a night. Rooms were clean and tidy. Free beer at happyhour was fun. Close to lots of great tourist attractions. we booked our halong bay trip through the hostel which was great fun! Really friendly staff. We had a medication that needed to be kept refrigerated which they did for us :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatassiaPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

On our 5month trip across, we came along central backpackers hostel hanoi. A good place to crash, fairly cheap. good free beer and good bed.

Sadly they have a really big mess in the reservation, confirmation and booking system. So in the morning u never know wheter ur bed is free for the next night, or if u have to move to another bed, or even to another hostel... that makes it a bit tiring,

anyway,

good party place

happy travelling

Roman

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RomanWeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The staff are helpful and very friendly. The hostel helped organise day trips and forward bus ticktes. The hostels is perfect to meet other travellers and also local people. Everything worked really well, I will defenitely return to this hostel when I am back to Hanoi!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here only for one night after es spring from a horrendous hostel. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm for $5 each. They have happy hour with free beer. Great way to meet people. They also do tours to halong bay, unfortunately we didn't know about this and had already booked up with a different company. But people we spoke to would recommend their tours. Would stay here again if we went back to Hanoi. Dorms also have a balcony

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ameliabeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We absolutely loved staying here. It had everything you could want from free breakfast and free BEER, to decent beds and lockers. The bar was a great place to hang out and we enjoyed reading the graffiti on the walls. The staff were great, provided some good offers on trips and tours and were more than helpful when we requested to stay a few more nights. Only downsides were no lock on our dorm bathroom and our main door was always unlocked due to other guests.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
0.1 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#9 of 405 in Hanoi
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#14 of 405 in Hanoi
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Massive Hostel
Hanoi Massive Hostel
#25 of 405 in Hanoi
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Backpackers Hostel - Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Backpackers Hostel - Original

Address: 16 Ly Quoc Su Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 405 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range: £7 - £10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true backpacker's hostel owned & operated by an awesome Vietnamese guy so I threw on my cape and created a hostel like no other and you know we've got it right! Why only 5 bucks you ask? 'Looks so good, there must a catch. Is there hidden costs?' Nope! ....you're a backpacker right? You're on a budget right? So we cater the price to your needs! Once you are here ... You simply won't want to leave! - The best things about central backpackers are the crazy travellers, super friendly staff, comfy beds, free internet, Breakfast and most of all Free Beer from 7:00pm to 8:00pm every night! Air conditioned, clean rooms, hot showers and did I mention free Beer. - Tour: Do the Halong bay and Sapa trips with us, we guarantee you will get the BEST time and the BEST one with the cheapest price! For Halong Bay tour: we are the 2nd organizer HALONG BAY PARTY trip for guest booking only through the Central Backpackers hostel only. And it is the 2nd tour in Hanoi that stays on a private island in the Cat Ba National Park where is next to the Castaway island and you can join in the crew of young and great fun people and have your own beach with the Bungalows, for Rock climbing, Kayaking and partying. For Sapa trek: We do offer the Sapa trekking tour and going to stay at homestay with the family of tribe hill people and we will show you all of the nicest part of Sapa like the brilliant landscape, the real live, the culture and staying far from the tourist area. We also do some daily tour around of Hanoi as Hanoi city tour, Hoa Lu- Tam Coc, Perfume pagoda, Mai Chau village, Phong Nha cave and open bus, flight or train ticket, visa... Everything you want we can get it. We look forward to meeting you and remember, Happy Hour starts at 7:00PM every night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Central Backpackers Hostel - Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing