We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of those hostels that you find hard to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Backpackers Hostel - Original
Ranked #30 of 341 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of those hostels that you find hard to leave”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Each time I visit Hanoi I stay here, Its layout and bar are perfect for meeting other travellers and it has a great atmosphere every day, the free beer helps too! I've made so many friends in this hostel and all my Hanoi memories stem from this place. The staff are amazing, the rooms are clean, the wifi is fast and there's always hot water. One day i'll be back again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fchris17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    67
    29
    3
    9
See reviews for
1
38
99
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The place is very central and minutes walk from the city centre. The staff are friendly and very helpful. They organise trips to Halong Bay, book flight etc. The drinking games during the free happy hour were great and the staff bring all the guest on pub crawls. I never got to write my name on the wall but when I come back again I will.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeamusIreland123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The highlight of my entire 5 week Vietnam trip was staying at this Hostel.
The place was friendly, clean and really good for how little it costs.
The staff are amazing, and we're really helpful with any troubles we had, and for general advice.
The bar at night is a great place to meet people, with everyone being unbelievably friendly!
If you go to Hanoi this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. the building is really high, but there is a handy lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotteswead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed here for about 10 days when originally I'd only planned on 5. This was, in part, due to the awesome, friendly nature of the staff and also their helpfulness. They genuinely act as friends rather than employees and will not only give you advice on where to go and what to do, but also go with you and party the night away! Too many stories built up over my time here and also on the trip to Ninh Binh with the soon to be manager of the new Central Backpackers! Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed in Central Backpackers when I first arrived in Hanoi and I loved every second of it. One of the best things about Central Backpackers is the people who work there and the owners. They become like your family away from home. I have been living in Hanoi for almost a year now and I still go back to Central Backpackers for a good time and to see my family away from home. The rooms are great, there's good internet and a printer if you need to print out any booking information etc. There is always good music (you can also choose what music you want to play there), cheap booze, and good company...and free beer every night! If you are looking for a good party, you are in luck as Central Backpackers takes you out to all the hot spots in Hanoi. The staff are also just the most wonderful, helpful staff and will do their best to help you with you anything you may need. How can you not love Central Backpackers. I'd highly recommend Central Backpackers to anyone who is looking for a good time, quality people and most of all...free beer :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethLoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

First backpackers we stayed in in Hanoi. Stayed in a 5 bed dorm for $5USD a night. Rooms were clean and tidy. Free beer at happyhour was fun. Close to lots of great tourist attractions. we booked our halong bay trip through the hostel which was great fun! Really friendly staff. We had a medication that needed to be kept refrigerated which they did for us :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatassiaPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

On our 5month trip across, we came along central backpackers hostel hanoi. A good place to crash, fairly cheap. good free beer and good bed.

Sadly they have a really big mess in the reservation, confirmation and booking system. So in the morning u never know wheter ur bed is free for the next night, or if u have to move to another bed, or even to another hostel... that makes it a bit tiring,

anyway,

good party place

happy travelling

Roman

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanWeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
0.5 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#10 of 341 in Hanoi
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
0.1 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#9 of 341 in Hanoi
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#1 of 341 in Hanoi
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Backpackers Hostel - Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Backpackers Hostel - Original

Property: Central Backpackers Hostel - Original
Address: 16 Ly Quoc Su Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 341 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true backpacker's hostel owned & operated by an awesome Vietnamese guy so I threw on my cape and created a hostel like no other and you know we've got it right! Why only 5 bucks you ask? 'Looks so good, there must a catch. Is there hidden costs?' Nope! ....you're a backpacker right? You're on a budget right? So we cater the price to your needs! Once you are here ... You simply won't want to leave! - The best things about central backpackers are the crazy travellers, super friendly staff, comfy beds, free internet, Breakfast and most of all Free Beer from 7:00pm to 8:00pm every night! Air conditioned, clean rooms, hot showers and did I mention free Beer. - Tour: Do the Halong bay and Sapa trips with us, we guarantee you will get the BEST time and the BEST one with the cheapest price! For Halong Bay tour: we are the 2nd organizer HALONG BAY PARTY trip for guest booking only through the Central Backpackers hostel only. And it is the 2nd tour in Hanoi that stays on a private island in the Cat Ba National Park where is next to the Castaway island and you can join in the crew of young and great fun people and have your own beach with the Bungalows, for Rock climbing, Kayaking and partying. For Sapa trek: We do offer the Sapa trekking tour and going to stay at homestay with the family of tribe hill people and we will show you all of the nicest part of Sapa like the brilliant landscape, the real live, the culture and staying far from the tourist area. We also do some daily tour around of Hanoi as Hanoi city tour, Hoa Lu- Tam Coc, Perfume pagoda, Mai Chau village, Phong Nha cave and open bus, flight or train ticket, visa... Everything you want we can get it. We look forward to meeting you and remember, Happy Hour starts at 7:00PM every night! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing