We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location but quite noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Holiday Silver Hotel
Ranked #311 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is very centrally located near the Cathedral in Hanoi.The room was large and clean. However there was quite a lot of street noise (particularly motorbikes) outside throughout the night. The hotel staff were a little bit pushy when selling Ha Long bay tours but otherwise helpful and friendly. The price was reasonable and breakfast was included.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BristolDave001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

I only stayed here for one night. But it was worth it. When we walked in we asked them if there was a room available. They had 3 different rooms with different rates for us. We wanted US $ 17,- room, but instead they brought us to the US $ 20,- room. The room was nice, clean, had a decent bathroom and A/C. Only we were not happy with the fact that they did not brought us to the US $ 17,- like we asked them. The manager did not make a fuss about it and lowered the price to US $ 18,-. We agreed. The price was including breakfast and the bathroom had a little window with a nice view on the Sint Joseph Cathedral. Admitted. Our room was on the 4th floor.

The location is great. The hotel lies in a side road of a busy (touristic) street. Which means it's more quiet. It's is in the old district, close to lake. Within 10 min walking (not 20!) your are at the lake. The mattresses are good, a little bit to hard at the edges. Breakfast is great.

The only disadvantage is that the only sunlight that reaches the hotel room comes from the small window in the bathroom. So you have to open the door of the bathroom. The rooms has windows and curtains, but you will only see the walls of the other building. This is actually quite common in Vietnam. Especially the old districts. When there is space between 2 buildings, they will build something in between. Anyway I'm saying this, because when you're waking without sunlight you want to have a feeling of some time or that there is a new day. At this moment I'm at a hostel where there's no sunlight at all. And when I'm waking up I don't have a feeling of time and that there is a new day ahead of me.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amigoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

good location: close to the big church and commercial streets, 20min walk from the lake.
the service was ok. it seems they are always very very busy, many times they directly answered you to wait, as they already in the middle of something. the owner can speak english well, but other people cannot. so i had have to call the owner for help.
the breakfast was in samll portion. I would recommend you not having breakfast here and have a discount on the room rate. some times WIFI was not working, tell the staff they can make it up. hot water is limited. talk to the staff seriously, they open their water machine for you. otherwise, you have to wait. the sheets and towels were not clean. if you want to sleep with them, do not look at them carefully.
we asked help to buy coach tickets from the reception in advance. they answered there were only 3 bus seats available for that day and required us to pay them ASAP. but the truth was on the leaving day they took a taxi and sent us to the coach station, and had their staff bought us the tickets there. because we arrived their 1.5 hour before the departure time, there were plenty of tickets available!! It is ok that the hostel charge us for the help (the taxi fee, and one staff come with us to the coach station), but we still think: first of all, the charge is kind of expensive than their real cost; 2nd they kind of cheated us.

Room Tip: there is no elevator. go upstairs on your own feet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saccharins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

the room is brand new and so comfortable. I especially loved the clean bathrub. the breakfast is also incredible unlike some hotel "breakfastses". location is great, especially if you want to walk around the main city. the owner is so incredible, I got my debit card number stolen and she hwelped me for aqn hour trying to call my bank. always offering you great coffee and tea! stay here if you can.

Room Tip: the front rooms are more sunny but every room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The owner and staff were amazing! Very helpfulfromthemoment we arrived. The breakfast is delicicous too with a choice of pho, bun rieu (seafood dish), and american style. The location is perfect right along the backpackers street in the old quarter. The hotel is a great deal for the price, I would deffinately stay here again.

Room Tip: 202 Front rooms are larger, lower rooms means less walking up the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jham293924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The staff here is realy friendly and helpfull..The receptionist even searched up flights for us without asking anything in return..She was realy honest the whole time and give us a lot of information..The room was clean and the breakfast was lovely and included in the price..tea, fresh fruitjuice, eggs, bread, toast, fruits,...just lovely..an excellent stay..and it's located in a good neigbourhood close to the hoan kiem lake..

Room Tip: 401 was a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lcvnlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Good stay in Hanoi, Very helpful staff, they have very good email communication we could have them organise to pick us up from the airport at very reasonable rates.
Very helpful to orgainise short tours to Halong Bay and Tam Coc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to ground floor to avoid long stair climbs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
0.7 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#101 of 600 in Hanoi
2,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Holiday Silver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Holiday Silver Hotel

Address: 9A /10 Ngo Huyen str.., | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £17 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Holiday Silver Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Silver Hotel, 9A/10 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, is located near Hoan Kiem Lake, the heart of Hanoi, one street from St. Joseph’s Cathedral in an area offering a wide choice of excellent Western style and Vietnamese restaurants. On the edge of Hanoi’s Old Town of Thirty-Six Streets, the hotel is surrounded by colourful shops selling silk, lacquer, wood and stone sculpture, one block from Hanoi’s Silk Street.Centrally located in the heart of downtown, the Holiday Silver boutique hotel is a short walk from the famous Old Quarter and the city's bustling business district. Just a few steps out of the hotel you can explore the best of Hanoi's architectural gems and walk along to experience the wonderful flavour local food, night market, shopping. Holiday Silver hotel has 32 beautiful and spacious rooms with nice view of Hoan Kiem lake.. In Holiday Silver Hotel, it is equipped with all amenities that you expect: air - conditioning, international standard elevator, internet ADSL, cable T.V, minibar and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanoi Holiday Silver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing