We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Hanoi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanoi Finnegans Hotel
Ranked #39 of 601 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Hanoi”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a room at the front - plenty of room, flat screen TV with HBO etc, fridge, desktop computer, very efficient air conditioning, balcony, comfy beds with cotton sheets, well thought out lighting and thick curtains. There is a marble tiled bathroom with large shower room and double headed power shower (fantastic). Wonderful service from Viet and family recommending restaurants and arranging your day with what to see. They know all the best tours so dont book anything until you get here! This is 5 star service and the best value hotel ever. I have stayed in 5 star hotels that were not as comfortable or as good.

Room Tip: Front rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chefwandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    50
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
48
202
45
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Owner / staff at Finnigans are fantastic. They treat you like family and help you with every aspect of your trip (Itinerary, restaurants, local customs and organize trips). Even when I was sick they helped us change flights, book a room so we didn't have to move and even made Vietnamese tea to help!!!

Room Tip: If you like the hustle of the Old Town with lots of restaurants and shops near by this is the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zonhoven, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We visited Hanoi for 7 days, booked Sapa, Halong Bay and Ninh Binh by Finnegans touroperating service (thank you soo mutch Viet & Hanh) and had the best family vacation ever! The only thing we had to do was breathing, eating and enjoying, all the rest was arranged by Finnegans! We sure are looking out to discover the rest of North-Vietnam, but most of all we are looking out to revisit Finnegans! Without any doubt: recommended!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motmans F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent 5 days recently in Hanoi and stayed in Finnegans. The hotel is located in the old quarter and is near restaurants, stores and tourist spots. The staff and owner is very friendly, warm and helpful. Although the rooms and common areas are basic, it still offers value for money given the price. Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: Choose rooms 3F and above to avoid noise from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pao_ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were only booked for our last night in Hanoi, but we stopped by four days before to see if we could get info about Halong Bay. Viet (operator) was the best person we could have talked to. We arrived in his lobby at 8am, and were on a shuttle to Halong by 8:55am. He was very honest and fair with pricing. Viet even called the tour guide we were with on the boat to see if everything was okay. When we got back we stayed an extra night in Hanoi. Viet's hotel was full that night, but he got us a very nice room one block away for half the listed price. Every time we had a question, Viet had a great answer or recommendation. Could not have been a better way to end our trip in Vietnam.

Thank you so much!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

This family owned hotel is true gem in Hanoi! Viet, Hanh and Huy made my stay unforgettable with top recommendations for food as well as day-tours as well as places to visit in Hanoi.
Instead of 2 I stayed 4 nights here and I would even stay longer if I did not have to catch up with a friend in Bangkok.

My visit in Vietnam will always be strongly connected with the time I spend here in this warm-hearted environment.

Thank you very much!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Fabi1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I chose this hotel from many on a major on-line booking site and almost immediately received a personal email from Hahn. This was the beginning of a long and useful correspondence which resulted in me booking both a Halong Bay cruise and onward train tickets to Sapa through the hotel. A few days before arrival I was contacted again and asked for the details of the train I was arriving on in Hanoi and was subsequently met on the platform as I stepped down from the train.

Finnegans Hotel is very conveniently situated in the Old Quarter of Hanoi and rates were unbelievably reasonable for a very pleasant room and inclusive breakfast. Being situated slightly off the main streets meant that it suffered far less traffic and street noise than many similar establishments - a definite bonus. The excellent welcome and friendly reception was continued throughout my visit with guidance on best restaurants and where to go in Hanoi by day and night.

On departure day I was once again accompanied to the station and put onto the correct train for my onward journey. All part of the extraordinary level of customer care by Hanh and Viet and the other family members.

It is the people, not the facilities, that make Finnegans Hotel a stand-out destination in Hanoi and I shall enjoy returning there on future visits. I recommend others to do likewise.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lightweight_brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#26 of 586 in Hanoi
426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
#75 of 586 in Hanoi
465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
#57 of 586 in Hanoi
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.6 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hanoi 3B Hotel
Hanoi 3B Hotel
#8 of 601 in Hanoi
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Finnegans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Finnegans Hotel

Property: Hanoi Finnegans Hotel
Address: No. 7 Dong Thai street, Hang Buom Ward, Hoan Kiem Lake, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Finnegans Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 601 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Finnegans Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever imagined that you can still stay at your lovely home even in your journey to the strange land? Now let Hanoi Finnegans hotel becomes that wonderful home.Lying in the nice little lane of charming Hanoi Old Quarter, our Finnegans Hotel is a peacefully nestling house –like seeking for a tranquil moment in crowded Hanoi streets. Even more, you will fall in love with our Hanoi’s charming, which is full of color and characteristics in every nook and crannies. It also satisfies your curiosity by just few minute walking to discover famed tourist attractions, such as Hoan Kiem Lake (Lake of Sword Restored), Water Puppet Theatre, Night Market, Opera House, History Museum, One Pillar Pagoda, Temple Of Literature, Art Museum, etc.With the greatest love of ancient Hanoi and passion about hospitability field, I started to open the family hotel in an effort to pursuit my dream. Coming to my hotel, you will be pleased with the cozy and friendly atmosphere created through “like-brother-and-sister” staff; however, professional serving style is definitely maintained. It is proved through ten-year experience in hotel service. Despite lacking of five-star facilities, I always remind myself of putting my heart, soul and great effort to give the most memorable experience for you, even more than five- star service. Being one of my friends, you will be warmly welcomed through my hospitability, trustworthy and caring with all my heart.If Hanoi is your most preferable choice for your trip, Finnegans hotel is your perfect and unforgettable destination for relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Finnegans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing