We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good service!”
Review of KOTO Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KOTO Hotel
Ranked #356 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The restaurant was light and airy if slightly hotter upstairs where there is no air con. Food is fresh and delicious and service excellent. Great cause too! Go there as a matter of course- if you can find it- sign is small!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TahitianPunch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Spacious and clean facilities. Great location. Very helpful staff. Decent breakfast.

Bathroom could be better - towels old and frayed and cleaning could be better.

Nonetheless, for the price, good value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Are you looking for a good budget accommodation in Hanoi? Don't look any further! After having read about all the hotel scams in Hanoi I was really wary about picking a place. I'm so glad to have chosen this hotel! The staff could not have been any friendlier, they even opened the door for us when we were about to leave the hotel (has that ever happened to you in a budget hotel!?). The first night the bum gun broke where it was attached to the wall so we had to shut off the water to the toilet. The problem was dealt with immediately and within 45min the bum gun was replaced... At 9am in the morning we got a friendly call from the reception, reminding us that breakfast was available until 10am. I didn't know there was even breakfast included (this was not mentioned in the booking)! We stayed two nights but went travelling in between and could store our luggage for free. One of the staff members let us know that we could book a tour through them, but didn't push it on us at all, as is apparently common in Hanoi (we have heard stories of people being kicked out of hotels for not booking a tour with them...).

The first night we had a room with a window, the second night there was no window. The second room was humid and had a bit an unpleasant smell. Unfortunately many hotels across South East Asia battle mold due to the humid climate. The bed was comfortable, the shower hot and the room clean.
What else is there to say? Oh yes, the hotel is conveniently located, about 15min walk from the train station. It is set back from the main street which means you will have a quiet night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saphira83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

the rooms (some of them have no windows) are spacious and clean. towels are provided, there is tv and the people working there are just sooo helpful and super nice! breakfast is quite good, too. just book your tours elsewhere as there are enormous booking charges added!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Markus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at koto hotel for three nights. When we returned the third night we Were in a bigger better room so I would definitely recommend paying for an upgrade. The rooms ate very basic and old but clean and contain a mini bar. The hostel itself is very basic. The location is excellent and the staff are so helpful. They helped us with anything we needed to know and nothing was too much trouble. This hostel is good value for money

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clared23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

After finding out that Bodega Hotel was full across the street, we ended up staying here. The staff at Koto was excellent, and were very accommodating upon our arrival. The prices were also very affordable. The room we stayed in was clean, spacious and had a nice little balcony. The lobby also has some computers that are available to guests. The location is great, right in the middle of the Old Quarter. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChronicMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

If 3.5 stars was existing I would have choose it. I put a 3 stars for the bathroom not cleaned enough and the young lady very pushy for tours. But I could put 4 stars for the very nice young man at reception, (maybe the manager), speaking very good english and always helpful. He really tryed his best for us. With a little bit more renovation completed this hotel will be top. It is well located and rather quiet

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.2 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#96 of 599 in Hanoi
2,341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
0.7 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KOTO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KOTO Hotel

Address: 120 Hang Bong str - Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — KOTO Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Hang Bong Street , the most crowded and oldest business centre in the area of Old Quarter , KoTo Hotel is very convenient and accounts for its tourist-attractiveness and especially KoTo hotel is centrally located in Ha Noi’ Old Quarter with Hoan Kiem Lake, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet Theatre all are just 5 minutes walk away. KoTo Hotel makes it the perfect choice for both business and leisure traveler. Providing the comfort of well-furnished guestrooms that are facilitated with modern conveniences. Specially all of our hotel rooms have windows and balconies. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing