We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hanoi Alibaba Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa(Hanoi)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
27
14
11
17
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
14
11
17
31
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The price is good. Wifi is available. Private room. Shared bathroom. The hosts and stuff are nice. One disadvantage is that the ladder is too narrow.

If you are looking for a small and simple room with a good price to stay, I recommend this one. If you want to enjoy a luxury hotel, this is not a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChaoyangLuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomeyHotelManager, Manager at Hanoi Alibaba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for your staying with us and your nice review about us,
We hope to have chance to welcome you again to Our Homey House ,
Best wishes and happy to you and your Family,
Best regards,
Le Loi - Homey Hotel and Travel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

The good reviews must be written by the staff there this hotel is disgusting! As two 21 year old girls travelling yes it was cheap but we did not feel safe at all!! We arrived at the shabby hotel after a long bus ride from Laos the location is very good however upon arrival we were given our key and left to find the room on our own our room was on the 3rd floor... No lift and stairs were steep and could only just about fit one perfect on them at a time! We arrived in our room it was vile! No windows just stained cream walls with a dated poster about football on the wall... The aircon was shared via hole in the wall to next door but it didn't work! Neither did the unclean grotty fan that again didn't work!! So we had to plug a fan in. The bathroom was shared on the floor with others it was disgusting and didn't lock properly as girls not feeling safe we went to the bathroom always together and showered in our flip flops! The bed sheets were stained and the bed was horrible you could feel every spring in the mattress along with the bad service, dirty room we felt extremely unsafe as when we arrived we were watched by a man through his frosted glass window on his door it was scary!! The wifi is awful and u can only get it in the shabby reception! DO NOT STAY HERE!!! See my pics to see what I mean!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charxcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomeyHotelManager, Manager at Hanoi Alibaba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your staying and I would like to explain to your bad review about us.
Firstly, You booked our Standard room, costs only USD 10 per night per 2 person and you can see on Internet that we showed clearly " Small room, ; Share Bathroom with Fan ".
We are an old building in the centre of the Old Quarter , we don't have elevator and some our rooms is narrow that why you can get very cheap price for staying here.
Secondly, You booked the Standard room with 1 double bed but you are 2 girls so I've asked if you want to change to the superior twin room without any extra payment but you said that your are ok to stay in your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

After reading the reviews on trip advisor, I was suprised by the poor standard of accommodation at the Homey hotel. Although cheap, the rooms were far from clean and the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The room was large with two double beds but there was no natural light and the air con did not work. The stairs were very steep and the staff we met spoke very little English (although they were friendly). If you can afford a little more, there are other hotels in the old quarter that provide a better standard of accommodation and value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilly_a_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomeyHotelManager, Manager at Hanoi Alibaba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your staying at Homey Hotel.
I would like to explain some thing on your review about us:
- You booked our Standard room that is a Small room with Fan and share bathroom that why you get very cheap price, the bathroom is used for 3 rooms and our staff can clean some time every day, not all day.
- We are a mini Hotel in the centre of Old Quarter, our building is Old and narrow as many other house around here, the stairs is hight as a standard of French style.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Friendly, good price, great location, very helpful staff :) It's located inside the old town of Ha Noi and we can easy walk to Ho Guom Lake just for 5 min.

I and 5 of my friends stayed here for few days in June, we took a family room and one standard room and we were very happy to stay here :). The rooms were nice, ancient style, the bathrooms were not so new but always be cleaned. This hotel was running by a family so the staff was very friendly and helpful, the price was valuable too. They were very honest and never try to charge us more, I can tell that. I booked a small standard room but when it was not available yet, they took me to a deluxe room with a nice balcony and 2 double beds for 2 night with the same price. When We had to stay at the hotel to wait for the train to Sa Pa (8:30pm) and it was over the check out time (12pm), we decided to check out at 12pm for priceless but the manager told us that we should stay more to take a shower or take a nap before getting to the train cuz we may get tired for spending all night long on it and so surprised that they let us stayed without charge us more, like all the other hotels always do when we had to stay over the check out time. :)

We also took a trip to Ha long Bay and the staff was very helpful and honest to show us the best price for it. I booked the train ticket to Sa Pa at this Hotel too.I had messed up a little with the depart time to Sa Pa (my fault) and the staff showed that they were really worry and care about us if we missed the train, they called us and even prepared a taxi for us to come to the station as fast as we can, they were so kind and helpful to us. After we arrived Sa Pa, when we trekked on the mountain and unlucky we had lost our tickets to go back to Ha Noi there and we just knew about it before the depart time 2 hours (my fault again :P). I had called the manager of the hotel and he had showed me what to do and everything was be very ok. (phew) So thankful for him because this was the first time we took a train to travel and we didn't have any experience about it.

All I want to say is Thank for the manager and his family for all the good time we had in Ha Noi. If I or some of my friends have another change to come back to Ha Noi, sure we will choice to stay at this hotel again. Thank so much :).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuyTrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Friend and I stayed here for a few days in August. Best rate for a private room we could find - room was massive, with aircon, tv and small fridge for $14 a night. Room had a big double and a single bed. The bathroom wasn't great, and can be a bit noisey, but expected in the old quater.

Aside from the accommodation, we booked Halong Bay (1 night on boat, 1 night on catba island) and our travel arrangements to Sapa. We paid around US$55 each for Halong Bay, and out of everyone on the trip we were the only ones that didn't get ripped off. Other people were told that a storm was coming or a boat had sunk (both lies) and so were not allowed a night on the boat, which was the best bit about the trip. The tour guide uncandedly told us that because Homey Hotel paid more money to them for our trip than other travel agencies/hotels, we were allowed a night on the boat. Other people paid more than US$80 for the same trip and got completely shafted.

Similarly, with Sapa, we booked our sleeper coach with these guys. Found out when we got to Sapa that it was only $3 more than if we bought the ticket from the ticket office instead, so these guys aren't out there to make a killing from dumb tourests.

They're really helpful too - will give honest advice about trips in Vietnam, even if they don't offer a service.

Great guys, great place, would def come back here again and reccommend to friends passing by Hanoi!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews