We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repairs needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanoi Alibaba Hotel
Ranked #487 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Repairs needed”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night at Alibaba Hotel in Hanoi and got the private double fan room. The toilet is shared and needs a lot of fixing. The sink leaks and also the shower. The tiles are dirty and old. The door doesnt have a knob so you have to close it using the hook lock. The room was just ok. However the pillow smells and the door doesnt knob does not lock properly. Tracy, the owner is very helpful and kind

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JamWorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    14
    11
    17
    31
See reviews for
5
39
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had such a great time in Alibaba hotel. The hotel owner (ms. Tracy) and her husband are so kind and always willing to help you. We booked a bus ticket to Sapa and a tour to Halong Bay with Ms. Tracy, which were both very well organised.
The room was clean and comfortable. Lunch was included.

The hotel is in the old quarter so restaurants and eat stalls are at 2 min walking distance.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with airconditioning, because it is pretty hot in Hanoi during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joost_Carola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

First night me & my mom were crammed into a small hot room with a fan.
We had to use a shared bathroom outside of the room.
The next day we switched into a spacious two bedroom with nice view out to the street.

Pros:
Friendly staff(Husband & wife) helping with getting around town & getting cheap ride to the airport 90,000 vs 400,000 taxi fare.
Clean room & bed.

Cons:
Old bathroom and rooms. (Tiles, walls)
Narrow staircase less than 1 meter wide. Very dangerous while carrying heavy luggage.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Drewzy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Having arrived in Hanoi at 01.00am after a 30hour bus journey from Luang Prabang we were shattered and needed food and sleep. We were taken up to our rooms, carrying backpacks up 3 extremely narrow set of stairs is not easy. The pictures did not represent the room and were definitely taken when firstly decorated. Our standard double was a box room, dark, dingy and mouldy. The bathroom was very old (but didn't expect much being $10). However I wouldn't put my dog in that room, so the guy showed us superior, $15pn. The manager arranged for a hotel opposite to cook us a pizza (expensive) but really generous of her, we couldn't thank her enough. We then discussed price... A guy felt generous and said I'll give you a dollar off, yet we checked online and we could book the room for $13.20. The conversation went on for at least half hour and eventually agreed the price online.
Up to the superior room, it was still in need of a make over, it was grubby and mouldy, the balcony door didn't even shut so we had to push a chair against it and the bed was by far the worst I've ever slept on. It had springs popping out all over, so we moved to the single bed and squeezed on, making it a very uncomfortable night. The bathroom was half the size of the standard room, door was hanging off and shower was fitted with a hose to the sink tap which leaked both ends.
Breakfast was included in the price, yet we weren't told what time it was, so we popped up at 10am seeing as we had a restless night. The guy was sleeping and seemed pretty annoyed at us so called he manager and she told him to serve us. Choice of eggs and toast, omelette and toast or jam and toast. We chose eggs and one jam and toast. He comes back 10secs later, no eggs but you can have omelettes and no toast you can have bread. The whole sentence didn't make sense ... eggs make omelette and bread makes toast. He got angry phoned boss downstairs and started arguing. We left at this point, packed our bags and checked out.
Point blank we were not paying $13 dollars. Having been travelling for the past 11months this was by far the worse hotel I've stayed in. The manager was very argumentative with us when we told her how disappointed we were and kept saying how nice she was about the pizza. She also called us a liar and said he didn't tell us there was no eggs and bread. What turned out to be good service ended up awful, and made us very uncomfortable when the manager and guy argued very loudly in front of us. Really didn't experience the same treatment that gained its great reviews.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikkiC1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThanhChu, Manager at Hanoi Alibaba Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Ms/Mr.
Thanks for your spending value time to let us know about your experience and comment about our hotel.I am really sorry for all of problem.
But i want to let you know.Your room you book is standard one.so i took you to standard room as you book but you don't want to take that and you said many problem in fact you just want to discount with us about the price.you are our customer so we try to servce you in best .the price is not big problem with us.we can discount for you after many problem you said just want to take some many back.in fact don't have any problem .when you arrive our hotel is really late all of restaurant already close but you said you really hungry after long trip.we try to find for you one restaurant still open at this time although raining alot.you said the price is expensive (not our fault ).We try to server you but everything we do for you it is not have any value as you wrote.we ok for the price you want to take superior room (you already look ).the next day you wake up quite late but we still server breakfast for you.our staff give you the menu but you want to take different in our menu. How can we do? you go down and complain about that our manager said ok if you want we will still serve you.Our staff didn't said no eegs or no bread as you wrote.
you check out and don't want to stay one night here.we said ok .you can check out if you are not comfortable when you stay here.one more time you try to discount about price for the room .you don't want to pay for the price we already discount.our manager said it is ok this is not so big problem for us.if you just don't want to pay.Your wrote us you don't want to take the dog to stay in our room.I meet o lot of traveller but never hear that.
Sorry but you should think again we get what we pay for.we are have cheap price for room but not cheap service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I booked 2 night in Hanoi Alibaba Hotel with superior room.I was amazing about staff here.really friendly.They try to help you for everything.
The building Little bit old but everything really good i see.Ms.Tracy really awesome .She booked for me Halong Bay trip and sapa trip with really good price,Best service .She can give you many option for your depend.and recommend you better trip you can with really good price.

I would like to recommend this hotel to everybody.I will be back for sure Tracy.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe or superior room with better balcony city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The staff are friendly, the price is cheap, breakfast was included, and the location is in the middle of everything. But we did not find the room or the shared bathroom clean.

We payed $11 a night and got about that value. If you want a cleaner place you can pay more and find it pretty easily.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Ms Tracey was extremely welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. Our room was very spacious and had everything we needed. We also arranged our trip to Halong bay through the travel desk here and it was brilliant. We paid 18 dollars for a triple room and it was right in the centre of the oldquarter. Highly reccommend this hotel to anyone. They also held our room and bags for us while we went to halong bay for 2 days for no extra cost! Ms Tracey also helped us book a hotel In hue and bagged us a free pick up from the bus station. We also booked our open bus tour tickets for the whole of our month travel in vietnam for only 45 dollars each. Bargain!

Will stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Gecko Hotel
Gecko Hotel
#470 of 586 in Hanoi
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#136 of 586 in Hanoi
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
An Nam Legend Hotel
An Nam Legend Hotel
#331 of 586 in Hanoi
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Classic Street Hotel
Classic Street Hotel
#133 of 586 in Hanoi
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#194 of 586 in Hanoi
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#43 of 586 in Hanoi
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Alibaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Alibaba Hotel

Property: Hanoi Alibaba Hotel
Address: 39 Hang Be Street - Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Homey Hotel Hanoi)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #487 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Alibaba Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HA NOI ALIBABA HOTEL is located right in the center of Old Quarter in Hang Be Street. It takes only 2 minutes by step from hotel to Hoan Kiem Lake and the Thang Long Water Puppet Theatre Show. HA NOI ALIBABA HOTEL are within 5 minutes by walk to discover Hanoi Old Quarter and visit the Night markets in Hang Ngang, Hang Dao Street. Surrounded by many hotels, local restaurants, tour agent, banks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Alibaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing