We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful island in Hanoi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indochina Legend Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Indochina Legend Hotel
Ranked #454 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Peaceful island in Hanoi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

I spent only one night there with a very early leave so I had only a few impressions about the hotel. This was however really excellent. The staff was extremely friendly, even when I woke them up at 03:30 when I left to the airport.
The location is excellent, near to practically everything in the city, and very close to the water puppet theater. The rooms were spotlessly clean and new, and I loved the super fast internet in the rooms. I could not enjoy the breakfast though because of the early leave.
Booked from the internet it had an excellent price-value ratio, so look for good deals on major booking stes.
Overall I recommend to everyoe!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomTraveller975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
21
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
233 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

I stayed one night on a business trip here. Upon check in I was greeted very politely by the manager. The room was decent but the bathroom seemed a little shabby given the price range of this hotel, e.g., the windows, shower curtains, etc. There was also inexplicable space between the double windows which I presume was there for the street noise. The breakfast was at the top floor which gave excellent views all around. The selections were fine. The location is very central and convenient, within very close walking distance to both the old town and the area around Hoan Kiem Lake.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We flew into Hanoi for 1 night before leaving the next morning to Halong Bay Cruise. THe rooms (we had 2 rooms) were very clean, with fruits and tea making facility. They were also interesting being situated in an old traditional building. THe breakfast was fabulous - pho was much better than another hotel we stayed. Even better, the manager was kind to learn of our trip after Halong Bay and offered us to stop over at their hotel before heading out for the train station. Without this kind offer, we would not had a nice dinner before taking a long, bumpy train ride to Hue. We highly recommend this hotel. Ruby, the manager made our stay very special. we wish we stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

This hotel was our second one in Hanoi,the first hotel is another story!We were warmly greeted right away,Tom the manager took us around to find the room of our liking.We also decided to book our Halong Bay cruise (3 days and 2 nights) with Tom and had a great cruise.Can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff,it makes your stay very pleasant.When we arrived back from our cruise to stay another night,there were no rooms available.Tom took us over to another one of their hotels and we were upgraded to a large luxurious room as supposed to the small one we had paid for.We also decided to by our airline tickets to Laos from Tom (same price as from the internet).Tom arranged a car to take us to the airport and it worked out beautifully.We had a negative taxi experience on our initial arrival in Hanoi,therefore relieved that our car trip this time was no scam attempt!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent one night in Hanoi on our way to HaLong Bay and Hoi An, and picked IndoChina because of its central location. It exceeded our expectations in almost every aspect.

the location turned out as advertised. a very short walk from the lake and all sorts of activities and attractions. The water puppet show is two blocks away. another half a block there was a Thai Express Restaurant, it is apparently popular with young people, and we also really enjoyed the nearby Avalon cafe lounge, the food was excellent.

What impressed us even more was the service we received, from the moment our car parked to when we had to check out, the friendly staff anticipated and attended to all our needs and offered a lot more. Even after our overnight Halong trip we went back to pick up our luggage, the staff treated us like long-lost friends, they prepared cold towels, tea, and offered a room to us for showers - we opted for a nearby spa instead, another advantage of staying in the centre of everything:)

The suite room we booked was huge! they somehow fit two queen beds PLUS a king bed in there for the family, and kids had a great time:)

For reality check, the rooms and facilities are clean and charming, but are decidedly 3-star so please don't expect Ritz Carlton and be disappointed. To us, the friendly staff made our stay every bit as memorable, we couldn't imagine a better start for our 10-day trip in Vietnam.

Room Tip: Try the suite rooms, they are very big and can easily accommodate 5 if you want that:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

This hotel was the best out of all that we stayed in on our trip around Vietnam Hanoi this moment,the service we received was fantastic. and the staff gave excellent advice on the area, providing us with a really useful map and walking tour of the area Hanoi.Especially staff the name Ruby i very thanks to her for 7 day trips at Hanoi,i feel very fantastic& great service for this trips..i will came back again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We found The Indochina Legend more by luck than judgment, having spent half a day wandering around Hanoi looking for a hotel to replace the one we had already booked (Rising Dragon III did not live up to its reviews - we had a musty smelling room to which the immediate access was up marble steps made very slippery from water leaking from the roof).

By way of contrast, everything at the Indochina Legend was well-appointed, and the staff all bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable. We were treated like kings and especial thanks must go to customer relations staff member, the delightful Thu Huyen (also known as "Ruby"), who arranged our trips, made sure we had the best rooms, and was ever so attentive to our needs. Thanks also to "Quickly", who served us breakfast. She was both charming and also very motivated to develop her linguistic and service skills.

The hotel was a restful haven from the chaos of Hanoi Old Town, in which it is situated, and a welcome place to rest the limbs between frantic hours trying to stay alive on the streets where 4 million motorcyclists compete for every inch of space both on the roads and on the pavements !

Overall, the hotel easily lived up to its 3-star rating. Service, however, was 5-star.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 Seventh Floor rooms, 702 and 706. They were both spacious, well appointed, and with g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tombailey888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
#59 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indochina Legend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indochina Legend Hotel

Property: Indochina Legend Hotel
Address: 42//0 Old Quarter, Hang Khay, Hanoi 84, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #454 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legend Hotel – 52 rooms with elevator features, among many other first-class facilities, double-glazed windows, luxuriously fitted bathrooms with separate shower units, international channels television, mini-bar, high-speed internet access everywhere and direct-dial phones in rooms. All the rooms with great view of the city, free WIFI Internet and public internet accessible computers for free usage in the lobby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing